We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with friendly helpful staff.”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with friendly helpful staff.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Loved this hotel. My husband took me for our wedding anniversary, we spent 2 nights. The breakfast, served at Reubens was really impressive. Lovely views from the outside veranda of Table Mountain. Rooms fantastic, everything one could need away from home including a Nespresso machine.
Fantastic pool (on the island with the spa)
We didn't get to the spa as we tried to go onto their website well ahead and wrote an email to ask about the treatments. By the time guest relations contacted us the day before we checked in, we had made other arrangements...but besides this everything was perfect!

Room Tip: View of mountain spectacular but when the south easter blows(as it often does in summer) you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Our team was delighted to hear that you had a fabulous stay here at the One&Only Cape Town.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    201
    61
    27
    29
See reviews for
409
748
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel is wonderful. Very close to V and A waterfront, beautiful views of Table mt. and super friendly/helpful staff. I would definately stay here again. Had a massage that was the best. Rooms have great views of the mt. in the main hotel and the island rooms feel like you are in a resort area. The breakfast is super good, don's miss it. The staff makes this place all the more special, they are super helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Here at the One&Only we strive to create an environment where people can feel at home and can enjoy a welcoming atmosphere.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

A lovely day spent at the Spa.. what a beautiful hotel situated on the marina... with lovely views of table mountain.. The facilities in the spa are great, from the hydro to the sauna... Our Spa day was luxurious experience, my masseuse ( Marlise ) was amazing.. soo helpful, friendly & smiling all the time.. she had made my experience at the One&Only Spa amazing! Lunch at the poolside hotel was divine, food was excellent, service great & ambiance - very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_0683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Our team from the Spa found your review truly wonderful.The One&Only Spa offers guests a perfect escape for a day of pampered rejuvenation. The most expansive and comprehensive spa in all of Cape Town.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We spent a week at this hotel. Our room was a spacious corner room was with a great view.
The sevice was excellent and Front of house manager Madeleen and the concierge team deserve special mention. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay with them memorable. The location of the hotel was also good, with the V & A waterfront being a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Madeleen and her team were delighted to read your post. Our Front Office team will always do their best to ensure that guests are given the best care and attention from the moment of arrival till departure.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

we stayed here at the end of our africa honeymoon for four nights. it was perfect. beautiful hotel, lovely staff, and our room was lovely. the grounds are gorgeous...infinity pool, yoga pavilion and the spa was truly amazing. so conveninet to walk to the waterfront for great restaurants and bars with live music! absolutely loved cape town and the one and only hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycekanaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Our team was delighted to hear that you had an amazing honeymoon and we are proud to have been apart of it.

Thank you for the review , we look forward to seeing you agin in the near future.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed on the island which is much nicer than the main hotel although further to walk.
The service, rooms, is world class and to be expected from a hotel of this nature

Breakfast is not to be missed- world class and the highlight of the day

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Here at the One&Only we always go out of the way to ensure that all guests needs are taken care of .

Thank you for taking the time to post this review

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the one & only Cape Town - a beautiful hotel only a few years old. Staff very amenable . Lovely Irish concierge . I asked maitre d /chef at breakfast whether they had cottage cheese and although they didn't the next day it was brought for me. The pool area is stunning and the vista is incredible - at the foot of table mountain - the views are incredible. The waterfront shops leave much to be desired but the local culture and restaurants are on the whole excellent. Would I come back to Cape Town ?..maybe not - would I return to a one @
Only ?..without a doubt !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review about the One&Only Cape Town.

We hope to see you again in the near future

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing