We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Thank you One & Only for a wonderful stay. My husband and I treated ourselves to five nights away on our own without the children - it was everything that we needed or wanted. The hotel is of course fabulous and in a perfect location for those who want to explore or get out and about easily. From popping out for a run to shopping or wanting drinks or a meal everything is within easy reach.

We stayed in a Marina Grant suite, quite frankly it was enormous with the luxury of his and hers bathrooms - always helpful! I also noticed that there was a connecting door so if you were staying with children that would make a fabulous arrangement. Service and curtesy of staff was of the highest order in the main. The rooms were immaculate and well serviced twice a day. The gym was fabulously equipped but suffered from the inconsistent level of service from the Personal Trainers. There are no classes and several times that I went into the gym it was unattended. One PT, Ruldoph could not have been more helpful and encouraging but on the other hand the lady in there ignored me on every single occasion that I went in there - we gave off a 'can't be bothered' aura. The spa is calm and treatments good. The big downside with the hotel is that it is probably a pool short. We arrived on a Sunday and it was absolutely packed and difficult to get sunbeds. During the week it was much quieter there was no race to get a sun bed. It would seem, however, that the hotel have an unofficial policy of allowing non guests in to use the facilities if they are quiet which would account for the packed pool over the weekend. When we stayed the hotel was not at full capacity but I heard nightmares about people queuing for beds over Christmas. I am not sure what the full capacity of the hotel is but there is only provision for around say 50 sun beds.

I have only pointed out the downsides though in order to prepare you. I loved my stay and we will be sure to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holssunski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your positive and insightful review on your stay with us. We are delighted that we could meet all of your needs as a couple and that our spacious suites with interconnecting rooms have encouraged you to bring your family the next time that you visit. The inconsistency in service that you have experienced from our team in the gym has been taken up and addressed by management to ensure that all our guests receive the same attention that they deserve and that you experienced throughout our resort. With respect to the swimming pool, as it was busy when you were there we apologize that it took time to get the sun beds you needed. We do have 110 loungers available as our standard for this time of year to ensure that we can accommodate the needs of every guest in-house.
Your valuable input will assist us to serve you even better on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back with you family in the near future.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    198
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
384
729
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the One & Only. The rooms are very spacious and the views are lovely. I found the food to be slightly expensive and there was not a huge selection. Not a very innovative hotel but real quality and old school luxury hotel. Not sure if I would stay at the hotel for pleasure though. i also had a spa treatment, the spa is very relaxing and the therapists are very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playgirlbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience at our resort! With two world class restaurants in-house and our poolside dining area, we pride ourselves in offering and array of cuisine and we hope you will afford us the opportunity to introduce you to them when you return. What a pleasure to know that our spa therapists could create true One&Only moments for you.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa and so having stayed in a One and Only in Dubai decided to chose the Cape Town O&O and we are pleased that we did.
The service, rooms,food and facilities are all that you expect from a O&O. Great views of Table mountain and the harbour. The food at the pool and Ruebens restaurant was excellent. We agree with the earlier comment about sun bed comfort but got around the problem by having 2 cushions
no problem for the staff.
The closeness of the V&A waterfront is a bonus. A five minute walk and you are among all of the bars restaurant and shopping. In the evening there is always live outdoor entertainment and wherever we went we felt quite safe.
We will definitely be returning to South Africa and certainly stay ant the one and Only. Whenever we think of the holiday we remember the smiles and friendliness of the staff

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 15 are on the corner and you then get a view of the harbour and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
We are thrilled with your positive review and thank you for choosing the One&Only Cape Town as your destination of choice. Our facilities and our location is unparalleled to anything you will find in Cape Town and our smiling team members look forward to see you soon.

Warm and friendly regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived last Wednesday after a fabulous 2 week Garden Route Experience where we stayed in some supposedly 5 star hotels (they were far from it) Our expectations were slightly tainted by our previous encounters....we needn't have had any such concerns....... This hotel is a proper 5/6 star establishment.....staff who bent over backwards to make our CT experience that bit better ( Chris the concierge to name but one was so good) The main difference between this hotel and the others was MANGEMENT !!!! It was clear who was in charge of every department and it showed. All in all if you're in Cape Town stay here, it's worth it!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank challenger317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for acknowledging the effort of our dedicated team of managers and colleagues who are absolutely thrilled that they could blow you away and exceed your expectations. We pride ourselves in touching every guest at every level of our organization and we would love to have the opportunity to spoil you again!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at The One&Only, staff are great, very friendly, helpful but professional at the same time. Great accommodation and the pool area with pool side restaurant is relaxing with plenty of sun loungers and excellent service. Rubens restaurant is outstanding super food reasonably priced. Only negative is the cushions on the sun loungers, they could be more comfortable and tend to sink south gradually so you end up moving down the lounger. Small issue but needs sorting. This must be the best hotel in Cape Town,,second time we have stayed and we will be back !

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Our team is thrilled that you returned to One&Only Cape Town as your destination of choice! Our culinary team sets out to treat and delight our guests from the pool side through to our two dynamic restaurants in the resort. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences and suggestions. We will make work of them to ensure your utmost comfort at the pool side on your next visit.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchess County, NY
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We checked in to One & Only Cape Town after two weeks of awesome safari. Since we were already on the continent we didn't want to leave without checking out Cape Town.

When we checked into the hotel we weren't really certain about what our accommodations would be like (our travel agent had booked it for us) and we asked for an upgrade. As the hotel was completely sold out we had to take what was booked. Little did we know how fabulous it would be! We had a lower level room on "the island" - that is by the pool not in the main building. It was awesome! Very spacious with a large dressing area and an amazing bathroom. After two weeks on safari (although we had very nice accommodations on safari) we really appreciated the wonderful shower!

The daily buffet breakfast is sumptuous (and delicious). We ate twice at Reubens enjoying the special seafood platter for 2 which was outstanding. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and aimed to please. The staff at the concierge desk were all so helpful. We were there just after a major mining convention had ended and just before Valentine's Day so the hotel and city were jamming. Despite this they helped us score some really nice restaurant reservations.

The location right by the V & A Waterfroont made the location excellent - you could walk around even at night with no problems and we are runners so it was an ideal spot for getting in a wonderful run over to the Promenade, along the ocean and by the soccer stadium!

Our stay at the Cape Town property has definitely "sold us" on trying other One & Only properties for certain!

Room Tip: We loved the room on "the island"; however, if the weather is inclement a room in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atraveljunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations in every way! Our delightful staff, sumptuous cuisine and luxurious facilities all combine in a truly unique One&Only experience with the added advantage of being in the best location on the Waterfront. Our six sister resorts are as spectacular and you can find more information on our website pertaining to their facilities.

We await your return with eager anticipation!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Fabulous hotel in a superb location, just a 5 minute walk from V&A Waterfront. The Table Mountain facing room was amazing with breathtaking views. Room had all possible amenities you could ask for and the bathroom was extremely luxurious. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel in a perfect location in Cape Town, this is it!

Room Tip: Table Mountain facing rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We are absolutely delighted that our location and facilities blew you away and that our service added to your One&Only experience! We do have the best location in the V&A Waterfront and we hope that you will be back soon to capitalize on it again.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,996 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,489 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing