We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Everything about the One&Only is excellent - the service, the rooms, the view of Table Mountain, the location near the V&A Waterfront. The room (209) was very spacious, with a kingsized bed, a lounge and a chair and an enormous bathroom/dressing room. All the usual frills of a top-class hotel can be found in the room, but the Nespresso machine made my day!

The breakfast buffet was superb, with every taste catered for. We were a little disappointed with the standard of the room service food, but otherwise this hotel was everything one could wish for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Our team is thrilled that you had an amazing stay and that their warm service and the luxurious features and amenities of our unique resort exceeded your expectations. Thank you for informing us of your in room dining experience; we apologize that this experience was not executed in true One&Only fashion and your comment has been forwarded to the relevant management for action.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    201
    61
    27
    29
See reviews for
404
745
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The One&Only is the last word in luxury, from the moment you check in when the doorman organizes for your car to be parked, to the check in staff who treat you like old friends returning to paradise. The view of the mountain through the beautiful glass windows, over the bar /lounge area in the entrance is breathtaking on a clear day - it could have a cloud table cloth on it on a bad day. The rooms are seriously well appointed with anything you could wish to need - tea, coffeemachine, full bar and fridge. Depending on your package, there are complimentary chocolates, fruit and a bottle of wine on ice. The hotel rooms are great and beautifully decorated, but the Island suites are breathtaking, close to the hotel spa (really well equipped spa) and the swimming pool. There is an abundance of cupboard and drawer space, usually sparse in hotels, but one could easily just move in and stay for a month with all that space. I admit that the rates would possibly prohibit that! ALL the staff are attentive and helpful and one only needs to ask for anything at all to be provided. Breakfasts are a culinary treat! The buffet caters for every taste the world over, no matter where you come from or what your preference is, there is food for you. Ordering hot breakfast from the menu is all provided promptly and always with a happy smile. It is a short walk to the Waterfront centre where there is an abundance of restaurants and shops so the hotel positioning is perfect. This hotel is sooooo worthy of all its star ratings.

Room Tip: I would always go for an Island suite or room if given the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
We are delighted by your review and thank you for highlighting all the special features and service experiences that you enjoy the most. We appreciate your loyal patronage and we are excited to build many more amazing experiences and everlasting memories with you.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd year we have stayed at this family friendly hotel. They really make you feel welcome and individuals such as Diana who heads Guest relations and Enoch the head doorman really do seem to remember us year after year . They are lovely and helpful people as well.
There is a very flexible kids club which our boys visit for the odd half hour but where interesting activities are available all day. The mountain view rooms are superb and inter connecting rooms are readily available which works brilliantly for our family of 4.
The location means all the facilities of the Waterfront are a short walk away and the hotel is an ideal base to explore all of the attractions in the City and its hinterland.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EnglandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for highlighting those members of the team who particularly impacted your visit. With our selection of interleading options, specialized KidsOnly Club, oversized pool and popular dining options we are 100% geared to fun and comfort for the entire family. One&Only resorts are synonymous with genuine hospitality and your One&Only Cape Town family is eagerly awaiting your return!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our 4 night stay at the One & Only, the view of Table Mountain from our room was spectacular, the staff were wonderful (especially Charles, aka George), the location was perfect allowing us to walk around the V&A waterfront to all the fantastic restaurants, bars and shops, dinner at Nobu was awesome, quite simply the One & Only place for us....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are thrilled that you experienced our warm hospitality in true One&Only fashion through the personal attention of our dedicated team members. Our culinary offerings is known as two of the most unique venues in Cape Town and the Nobu team is so pleased that they further enhanced your amazing experience.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Gold
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

this is THE best hotel in cape town in my view. Family get awayand the attention to detail, safety and service is by far the best. I cannot stay anywhere else besides here, value for money and the kids loved it too. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your family favorite! We appreciate your excellent feedback and we are awaiting your next visit with anticipation.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Everything in this hotel is total perfection. From the moment you arrive at the Hotel everything flows smoothly. Magnificent views, perfect location and rooms are amazing, staff are extremely helpful and the food at Reuben's is delish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience. We look forward to creating more One&Only moments with you!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasolburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for a spoiling weekend. It was amazing! The view of the mountain while having cocktails in the bar. Our room was facing the waterfront which was a beautiful site at sunset with all the colorful fishing boats in the harbor. The V&A waterfront is 5 minutes walk away where we shopped and visited the two oceans aquarium. The service in the hotel is 5 star and the staff make you feel like a celebrity. I would recommend this as an ideal honeymoon venue!

Room Tip: If you like a mountain view, ask for a room facing the mountain, otherwise you can ask for a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
With the hotel built to face one of the seven natural wonders of the world, Table Mountain gives us the sense of place that all seven our One&Only properties are renowned for. We are delighted that we have lived up to our promise of genuine hospitality to create everlasting memories with you and we look forward to welcome you back to the warm service and pure luxury of our resort.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,208 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing