We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have this great hospitality experience at One&only Cape Town.
I spent few night there with my girlfriend and we had this amazing room face front of the table mountain.
The rooms are wonderful and the lobby is just breathtaking.
Plus you are few minutes walking from the Acquarium and from the waterfront.
I have to come back there soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davide n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are certainly the ideal venue for a romantic getaway and we are so pleased that you found our location, facilities and the amazing panoramic view of Table Mountain to your preference. We cannot wait for your next visit and look forward to creating many more everlasting memories with you.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    194
    55
    27
    28
See reviews for
371
704
41
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Well located close to the waterfront, this hotel is one of the best we have stayed in around the world. The rooms are spacious and luxurious, the service is excellent, the staff on the front desks are warm and friendly. I cannot fault this hotel. The two restaurants in the hotel are also worth a visit.

Room Tip: A room with views of Table Mountain is to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review. At One&Only Cape Town we are known for emulating the feeling of ‘barefoot luxury’ and our team is delighted that this has become your home away from home. We trust that we will see you again in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We happened on the One and Only as part of a tour in Africa, so our details are limited. But the location could not be better and the view of Table Mountain is just incredible and inspiring. A fun neighborhood for shopping and eating and great access for public transportation (on and off bus), quick cabs. We did find that our room was lovely, but everyone in our group had difficulty figuring out the lighting system in the rooms! (and honest, this is a pretty smart bunch!) Service from the hotel was top notch and friendly all the way. Breakfast was included for us, and who could ever complain about fresh oysters and champaign available? A huge bathroom, but interestingly, the wonderful tub with its push/push plug in the middle of the tub floor resulted in partial emptying if you aren't careful where you sit! This was the perfect end to a trip that was mostly safari - allowing a gradual and gracious adjustment back to the real world (and better wifi). We will remember it with great pleasure.

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are delighted that we could be your oasis of luxury and tranquility after your exciting safari! We appreciate your suggestions regarding the lighting system and the bath plug; without our guest’s feedback we cannot learn how to create a better experience for you. Your One&Only Cape Town family eagerly awaits your next visit.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is placed in the heart of the action and is top shelf all the way. Our room faced Table Mountain and was spacious, well appointed and trendy. We walked all around the area which is the shopping and eating hub of Cape Town. We had a special wine dinner prepared by Ruebens and it was very tasty indeed. The breakfast was great as well. We both had massages and my wife thought it was the best massage of her life. We didn't have time to use all the spa facilities but it is quite a complex. Go and indulge if you can.

Room Tip: Table mt view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick63119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for highlighting the favorite parts of your visit to our property. Our spa team is thrilled that they blew you away and we look forward to pamper you again on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The location is great,the views of Table Mountain and the sea are awesome.At a walking distance is the waterfront area with all the restaurants which is perfect . The large rooms with king size bed and mine even had a terrace overlooking the sea.The bathroom was huge with a free standing tub and dressing room.The pool and the lobby with high windows allowed to have a glimpse,as you entered, of the aforementioned mountain( which is accessed by a funicular)and the pool and cabanas.Cape Town and South Africa is a great destination and the climate perfect year round.One & Only takes indeed care of you and service and staff in general are tops.

Room Tip: Try one overlooking the waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFNordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your amazing experience. Having the best possible location in the Waterfront allows our guests to experience all the beautiful excursions, shopping galore and historical sites within a short walk or drive. Our dedicated Concierge team is always ready to give the best recommendations based on your preferences. Looking forward to seeing you soon again!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

After spending 4 days at this wonderful hotel I left South Africa with only terrific memories. Choosing the scent in your room, type of pillows and Nespresso coffee were the icing on the cake. The location near the river made it safe and convenient to walk to restaurants and craft "barns". The buffet breakfast was as nice as any I have been to anywhere and the shop was fairly priced with some great jewelry and artifacts that weren't available anywhere I had been.

Room Tip: I think they were all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repeatvisitor_BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Part of what sets us apart are the little extra creature comforts and luxury items you will find at our One&Only resorts which is one of a kind, such as our pillow and scent menus, the bespoke products in our Neo boutique and the fact that you have two branded restaurants under one roof which provides you with the best local and international cuisine. We cannot wait to create more unique experiences for you!

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a beautiful property located in Cape Town SA. The location is convenient to the waterfront. Everything's is within walking distance. The property is beautiful with a beautiful pool and a lobby that is breathtaking with the views of Tabletop mountain. The lobby has a wall of windows so the mountain is always present. The lobby bar is very inviting and the staff is always waiting to take care of you. Nobu is located in the hotel and the food was fantastic. Our room was the two bedroom suite and it was over the top! In each bedroom as a fireplace and a very comfortable sitting area. The bathroom was extremely large and the ammonites were great.

When you stay at the One and Only.....they make you feel like you are the One and Only one they are taking care of during your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Every guest is our VIP and we are thrilled that you left us with many everlasting memories of service excellence and unique experiences. Table Mountain, the Mother City and One&Only eagerly awaits your next visit!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing