We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Cape Town”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I came for a Business School program, a great location. It is right at the center of the Water Front in Cape Town. Excellent bedrooms good size with a good bathroom a terrace over the garden and canal, a good SPA and also a Nobu restauranta plus incredible breakfast included. The service is outstanding. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the garden and canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We are so pleased with your review and thank you for recommending us so highly. Our fantastic location in the V&A Waterfront, world class facilities and dining options seems to have been the perfect choice for your visit. Hopefully you will visit us for a well-deserved break the next time, no work allowed!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently spent a week at the One&Only in Capetown. Overall, the property is spectacular, especially compared to other hotels in the area. What really stood out was the extremely friendly and professional staff. The bar makes amazing cocktails and both restaurants are very good. The room service menu needs expanded, but the food was good. The spa was also lovely and the treatment top-notch. We stayed in an Island room which is very private and gives you a view of the lagoon. It was large and well appointed although there was no view of Table Mountain. If a view is what you are looking for I would recommend staying in Marina rise. The only thing negative thing I would mention is that even though the pool is heated it definitely was not when we were there. None of the lounge furniture around the pool was out either, which would have been nice to sit in on a sunny day. Overall though, if I went back to Capetown I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Island Rooms on the lagoon are large and secluded, great for a couple looking for rest and relaxatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrendsettingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for writing about the sincere and warm hospitality that you experienced during your stay. The peaceful surroundings of our rooms on one of our private islands was the perfect setting for your holiday as a couple. It is perfectly located next to the pool and near our award winning spa. We appreciate for your suggestion regarding the pool area; this has been noted and forwarded to the relevant management.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our first trip to a One and Only. The service was outstanding in every respect- from and early check into help with a last minute tour.

Great views form the hotel, great facilities and great staff. Unequivocal recommendation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for recommending us so highly and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great location, great hotel with great staff. We only stayed one night, but the service from when we arrived to when we left was fantastic, the staff went out of their way to be helpful. We stayed in an Island Suite and it was great, probably the best hotel room we've stayed in to date. The food is fantastic, we ate at Nobu and have never been disappointed having eaten at that Nobu before. The breakfast was great as well, really meets all your expectations.

Only downside was the pool was closed, even though it was winter it would be nice if it was open, as coming from the UK the weather was not cold enough to not enjoy sitting outside by the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tschiefner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Even though your visit was short it was full of amazing experiences and we are so pleased to have claimed first place on your preferred list! Thank you for your comment regarding the pool area; this has been taken note of and forwarded to the relevant management.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an island suite for a few nights in late September. I highly advise staying here if you have the opportunity. The service was impeccable and they go out of their way to accommodate most any request. Great location by the waterfront, excellent view of Table Mountain, and the island spa was incredible. There is so much to do around Cape Town, but the concierge made everything so easy. They were able to set up all our activities flawlessly and even made several recommendations that we would not of known otherwise. I would say it's true luxury, which comes with a price, but worth every penny.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Wmaready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Who would have thought that a city hotel would possess its own private islands! We are delighted with your review and that you enjoyed our superb location and all the thrills that Cape Town has to offer. Our Concierge team eagerly awaits your return in order to recommend more spectacular finds to you!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The One&Only is a very beautifully built and sited hotel. We were excited to go there for drinks during our visit to Capetown. While the drinks themselves were nicely made and the hotel lived up to the pictures I'd seen online, the service was incredibly slow. Not only did the drinks themselves take a long time to make/deliver, but paying the bill was also a hassle. Overall, a nice place, but not if you need to stick to a schedule.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LebowskiBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We are grateful for your honest feedback and we apologize that you were kept waiting. This is certainly not the standard of service that we strive to achieve and I assure you that your comments have been raised with the relevant management for immediate action. We are certainly blessed with a fabulous location and views and such feedback allows us to ensure that the service matches the wonderful attributes of the property.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the One&Only on 4 October 2013. We stayed in room 717. The rooms is very beautiful, big with a nice bath and rain shower. Everybody made us feel very special. The breakfeast was very good and the landscaping and views beautiful. Will recommend to everybody.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tertius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Our team is thrilled that you had a fantastic experience and that they played a part in making your stay memorable. We look forward to seeing you and many of your friends and family return to our resort.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £477 - £1,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing