We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 and Only”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I were here during the world cup and we enjoyed (Gordon Ramsey's) restaurant in which the meal was prepared with intricate detail. Overall we had a wonderful meal after watching the black stars suffer a huge defeat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review! We hope that we will see you return to enjoy the rich, South African bistro flavors of Reuben’s at One&Only Cape Town in the same venue where you enjoyed your meal.

Kind regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Another year on and another great stay at this hotel. Last year we had a room on the island and did not know what to expect having a room this year in the main hotel overlooking Table Mountain, but we were not disappointed - the standard was just as good with a brilliant view. Breakfast in Reubens each morning proved difficult as there was so much choice and the food was of such good quality. Nobu is also a must for dinner whilst visiting Capetown. The outdoor pool is very refreshing at the end of a busy day and it was good to see Chris, the Concierge, and to have his many helpful tips on sightseeing. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a base when visiting Capetown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

We are delighted that One&Only Cape Town has become your destination of choice in the Mother City! Our Reuben’s team loved hearing that they were the highlight of your day and our variety of scrumptious offerings during breakfast is certainly worth writing about! We cannot wait for your next visit!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lovely hotel. We arrived tired after a long journey, check in was very quick. Taken to our room which was lovely overlooking Table Mountain.All the staff are very helpful. Breakfast what can I say, lots of lovely things to eat, plus Champagne and Oysters!
When we returned to our room last night there was a bottle of Champagne and chocolates awaiting us. The room was also decorated with rose petals. Nice touch.
The hotel is well situated for the V and A harbour area. Here there are lots of restaurants and bars, with reasonable prices.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Our team is delighted that they could blow you away in every respect during your stay! We hope that you will afford us many more opportunities to do so again.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I think if you spend one night here you're ok - we spent ten nights in the hotel and then all the operational shortcomings emerge. Saturdays and Sundays there's a tea time which attrracts masses of people and makes the place feel like a shopping mall. In fact, where are you supposed to put your guests? There don't seem to be special areas for hotel guests and their guests on these days.
When you're living in a place you need the room cleaned up early. The room cleaners take a long time to get around to every room and are not impressed by requests to prioritize your room. This at 1300!
The restraurants are ok, the staff friendly especially once they know you, but the spaces lack atmoshpere. There are plenty of good restraurants in Cape Town and just over the road is the Cape Grace which has a fabulous restraurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We appreciate your constructive feedback. It is vital to the development of the customer experience we create daily and we appreciate that you took time out to write about yours. With respect to designated areas for hotel guests, we absolutely agree that our hotel guests deserve exclusivity. Thus the Isola Restaurant and pool, business center, fitness center and use of the KidsOnly club are available for the exclusive use of our resident guests. Our dynamic branded restaurants and bar area is a favorite hot spot for our local clientele and hotel guests alike and we are very excited to have such a loyal following from all our customers. We will of course always ensure that our resident guest’s requests are looked after first and foremost. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can experience the social and relaxing ambience of our beautiful resort again.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Luxury at its best and at a very reasonable price. Staff were delightful, smiley, and could nt do enough to help you. They didn't try to charge you for every little thing which makes a change these days. We had an Island suite which we shared with our 15 yr old son - 2 queen beds and a living area, huge bathroom and magnificent views and next to the swimming pool. Walking distance to Waterfront even in your high heels!!! Very sad to leave. Highly recommended xx

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Our Island rooms and suites are perfectly suited for a tranquil family getaway with all the luxury of the spa, oversized heated infinity pool and the Marina Rise just a stone’s throw away. With various interleading options available on the private island as well as in the Marina Rise we are the perfect destination for any family with young ones of all ages. Thank you for writing about your amazing experience!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a South Africa Tour. This place does not miss a beat. Great service, Great food, and spectacular rooms. We had room service for dinner, and even though we were a decent distance from the kitchen, the food arrived HOT (by golf cart). The spa is really something else! It is ... shall I say ... pricey

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBK33928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

We pride ourselves in complementing our world class facilities with superb service and our Room Service team is thrilled that they contributed so positively to your experience! Our award winning spa has the most extensive facilities and variety of unique products and treatments available in Cape Town and our Espa products and Bastien Gonzalez Mani:Pedi:Cure studio allows our guests to have the benefit of these treatments exclusively at our resort and nowhere else in South Africa. We are thrilled that you were able to experience this wonderful facility during your stay.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent four nights here. We used the outdoor steps to go to dinner. It was very dark and not safe. They later told us they forgot to turn the lights on. The hotel had large groups that were very noisy both in the public areas as well as in the rooms. The kicker was when i went to bed, my wife reminded me I needed to check out as we would be leaving very early. So I got up and got dressed and went down to the desk. He told me I couldn't check out without returning the voltage regulator. So I had to go back to the room, turn on the lights and wake up my wife to find it.
What next return the bathrobe and the towels?
Physically it is a marvelous hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuck_and_trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We appreciate your honest feedback and your comments have been forwarded to the relevant management for investigation and action. We apologize if you experienced inconvenience with the check-out process and assure you that this is not our standard procedure. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,149 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,440 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,862 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,854 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £442 - £948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing