We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and service”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and service”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and 3 other couples stayed 5 nights at this fabulous hotel. Upon our arrival at check-in, we were immediately offered cool drinks and warm towels to freshen ourselves. And what a surprise to learn that we had been upgraded from a standard room to a suite! The suite was enormous, almost 1700 sf or 160 sq m, with dining and lounge area, guest bathroom, king-sized bedroom, separate his and hers bathrooms and spacious balcony with patio tables and chairs. Also each couple received a bottle of complimentary bottle of South African wine, which was excellent. I only wish I could remember the name.
The service was impeccable. Dianne and Terri arranged our days perfectly with suggestions of restaurants, reservations, activities, and transportation. Every night the turn down service left Lindt chocolates, extra bottled water, and closed the drapes. One evening I accidentally knocked over the glass soap dish off the tub, and called housekeeping to send someone to clean up the broken shards of glass. Someone came in less than 5 minutes and promptly swept and vacuumed the bathroom floor.
The spa was stunning, from the relaxation lounges to the warm water pool and large showers, the facilities exuded luxury and comfort. I also received a fantastic massage from Beth.
Breakfasts included in our stay were spectacular. The assortment of pastries, charcuterie, cheeses, fruit, cereals, bacon, and eggs cooked to order would satisfy the most discerning guest. They even offered oysters and champagne as everyday fare.
My only complaint would be that afternoon tea was a bit disappointing. While the pastries and sandwiches were beautifully presented, unfortunately the taste did not quite measure up to the expectations drawn from the display. But it was such a minor flaw to our entire experience at One and Only. This truly is the one and only hotel where we enjoyed such incomparable amenities and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The one bedroom Marina Grand Suite was heavenly. We did not want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your One&Only experience in such detail. We are so proud of the individuals that you highlighted and they are very pleased that their dedication to service excellence has impacted your stay so positively. We appreciate your feedback regarding your afternoon tea experience and rest assured that this has been forwarded to the relevant management for action. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    196
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
383
719
41
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I, together with our 2 children (aged 4 and 9) recently had the absolute pleasure of staying at the One&Only in Cape Town. What a fantastic experience it was! It exceeded our expectations on all levels. The setting is not only breathtaking with views of Table Mountain and the City scape at night, but the pool area on the 'island' is a world way from the hustle and energy of the spectacular shopping development of the Waterfront just outside the entrance. The staff is not only attentive and super friendly, they somehow seem to anticipate one's needs. Everybody seems relaxed while being super efficient. No stressed out staff anywhere! The Kids Club is safe, interesting, exciting with incredibly caring and well trained staff. This gave me the opportunity go visit the Spa! Aha! The best facial I ever had at very competitive prices! And with the kids happily entertained, my husband deeply relaxing at the pool, I could not have wanted for more. A great holiday for families with young children, and exhausted parents!! Enjoy.

Room Tip: We previously stayed in a room on the Island which was very special, feeling like a luxury bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Our team is thrilled to read about all your One&Only moments and we cannot wait to blow you away again and again. Your One&Only family in Cape Town awaits you!

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This review is a year overdue as I've just signed up to TripAdvisor.

What an excellent hotel this was - beautiful rooms with amazing views of Table Mountain, very friendly staff and the best Kids Club ever.

We can't wait to return and to try out all the other One & Only hotels around the world.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FMGCFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
And we are delighted that you reviewed us regardless! We are adding three more exciting and luxurious properties to our extraordinary One&Only collection during 2014/2015. They will be based in China, Europe and Australia thus you will soon have 10 superb destinations to explore. We cannot wait for your next visit to Cape Town!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife, my 5 year old son and I have been 5 days in this hotel and we have been very pleased with the accommodation (the view on the Table Mountain was wonderful), the Kids Club (staff was very kind, warm and professional) the food, especially the Japanes Restaurant in the Hotel and the location of the Hotel directly at the waterfront. We will definetely come again

Room Tip: suite 501 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Having the best possible location in the V&A Waterfront allows our guests to walk safely from the hotel to a hub of shopping and entertainment. Our beautiful resort offers the ideal getaway to families with a complimentary KidsOnly Club, a choice of two award winning restaurants and the largest heated infinity pool in the country. We cannot wait for your next visit!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in One&Only for 4 nights in December '13. The location on the V&A Waterfront is fantastic, especially if you want to hike Table mountain and visit Robben Isl. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with even a fellow Irishman as head of the doorstaff. The pool area is it's biggest selling point imho, with a very spacious, well designed area, and the aforementioned Table Mountain looming in the Background. Our room was very spacious (>30m2 with a large terrace), but I think this is because we choose one of the more expensive suites, unsure what the regular rooms are like. Why not a 5 star rating? Unfortunately One&Only can come across a little sterile as it is used regularly for Corporate events (Agrekko were having their board meeting there whilt we stayed). Also, the V&A waterfront is nice, but a little artificial. If you are staying spend time in Camps bay or Clifton to see some nicer scenery

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your One&Only experience. We appreciate your constructive feedback as this allows us to keep on striving for perfection in creating the ultimate luxury experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We just returned from a 5-night stay here as part of our honeymoon. One&Only CT was our base to explore Kruger National Park and Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. Hands down, they are currently No. 1 on our list - we travel a LOT and we have never come across another hotel with staff more hospitable than the team at One&Only CT.

What we loved:-
(1) Service, service, service - We go away for 5 days, and upon our return, the concierge who opens the car door for us greets us by name welcoming us back! When we walked in, the receptionist, and other staff inside also greeted us by name! It felt like we had just come home. Diane, the GM (I think) greeted us almost every morning at breakfast asking how our stay has been so far and even arranged for a little sweets platter with 'Happy Honeymoon' written on it. We also had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room upon check-in. My my, we were very spoilt. Waiters and waitresses were very sweet, polite and extremely hospitable. Hands down, we have never received better service. Guest Relations (Terri) came to know of a mess-up during our stay in Victoria Falls and assisted to arrange for a complimentary car and driver service for us to take us around Cape Town... just to make-up for the mess-up at Victoria Falls and ensure our entire holiday trip was still as pleasant. Wonderful.

(2) Concierge - The team arranged for our luggage to be kept at the hotel each time we checked out to head to Kruger, Victoria Falls, Franschhoek.... the process was seamless. We didn't have to do anything at all from the moment they picked up our bags from the room. We came downstairs to a waiting car to take us with our duffel overnight bags in the trunk and our huge luggage bags in storage. Excellent. Nigel, who liaised with us back home before we made our journey to Cape Town arranged our itinerary weeks in advance and made very good suggestions of what we can do there, where to eat, where to go, etc. Just perfect.

(3) Rooms - We were upgraded to the Junior Suite which was a wonderful surprise! The room is very large, with a living room area, walk-in wardrobe and a terrace which overlooked the One&Only island and had a beautiful view of Table Mountain. One morning, we had breakfast on the terrace and it was just amazing. It's a must-do - enjoying breakfast on the terrace and watching the clouds unveil Table Mountain in the mornings. Just breathtaking.

(4) Breakfast - Good quality breakfast with all the necessary breakfast yummies. Doesn't have as wide a spread as some of the hotels we have been to, but the quality is excellent. No complaints there!

All in all, we loved our stay at the One&Only Cape Town and it was made all the more special with the team of wonderful staff. We highly recommend this hotel. We will not think of staying anywhere else for our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We are thrilled that the genuine hospitality provided by our dedicated team of professionals contributed to your amazing experience with us. We appreciate that you have mentioned the individuals who had a positive impact on your stay and they are thrilled that they were able to assist in creating everlasting memories with you.

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent 4 nights here early December and enjoyed every minute. My room was on the 4th floor and was spacious, clean, modern and very comfortable with amazing views of Table Mountain. We ate in Ruebens restaurant with no complaints at all, the selction of food and wine was excellent. I found all the staff helpfull and courteous. I loved the extras which included free clothes press for 3 items per day, free internet etc.The hotel is a very short walk from the V & A area which is full of excellent shopping eateries and bars. I am already trying to secure a room for another return trip in April next year. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through Cape Town looking for luxury and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back in April! Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments and let us know if there are any arrangements we can take care of prior to your arrival.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing