We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some very good aspects but, for the price you pay, no, not a great hotel.”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some very good aspects but, for the price you pay, no, not a great hotel.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We came to the One and Only (an Island room) at the end of our holiday, after a week in an hotel in the Cape Winelands (in Franschhoek) that was as close to perfection as anyone might reasonably expect. We paid much more per night in the O&O, but the quality of service and attention to detail did not come close to our Franschhoek experience. So, is the O&O a bad hotel? No, very good in many respects, including quality and cleanliness of rooms, reputable food venues, and high standards of maintenance of a very well located and designed hotel. But is it a great hotel? Also no. The attention to detail is simply not there (by way of example, like having to call housekeeping to get some basic items replaced which had been overlooked when the room was serviced). This was our second stay at the O&O, but will be our last. We have experienced several other top hotels in Cape Town on both work and leisure visits, and our conclusion is that O&O does not represent the best value available for the prices they charge. Cape Town has many other attractive options, and a little research is worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for the constructive feedback on your One&Only experience. We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact us to provide more insight into the details that were overlooked during your stay. This will allow us to further build on the quality experience we set out to achieve for each of our valued guests. We sincerely apologize for the lack of detail in the service of your room by our Housekeeping department and the matter has been addressed with the relevant management and staff. I am looking forward to hearing from you to further afford us the opportunity to address more of your concerns.

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    199
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
395
738
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

it was a terrible experience from the day we arrive to the day we left...

first the hotel is a large building and look like any city/airport hotel that you will be able to find anywhere in the world...no outside space...no terrace the pool is again surrounded by building...if you plan to go for business that probably a good option, but when you are in cape town for vacation it is the wrong place.

the view from the hotel is mainly on buildings, you really need to be above the 5th floor to start enjoying table mountains view.
the service, is terrible from the reception to the restaurent, except 1 concierge mr M...no one is really train or providing the service expected when you go to a One and Only.

having stayed in several One and Only in the Past...i can insure you this is NOT a One and Only...I think the Group should review is strategy and at least change the POOR management of that hotel, should rethink is outside space by starting to spend few dollar on setting up a deck with a nice bar and terrace....I am sure it won t affect their profitability...at 3200 usd a night for a suite and a deluxe room....they have plenty of money to spend to justify such a price....
last but not least every single hotel we went during our trip in SA was top notch from premises to service...except the One and Only....meaning that finding the right people to redesign the place to the service shouldn't be an issue...

Mica H.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments received and we appreciate the time you have taken to make us aware of the issues during your stay. It is through such feedback, that we are able to rectify, improve and maintain the standards we have set. We apologise that your experience did not meet the expectations you had of a property of this caliber.

Regarding your comments about service related issues you experienced, I assure you that these have been considered in a most serious light and have been passed on to the relevant heads of department for action. We strive to blow away each customer that visits our resort and to let them leave with everlasting memories of genuine hospitality.

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy the design and layout of the resort and value your suggestions. Once again, thank you for your feedback

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The One and Only is widely regarded as the best hotel in South Africa, and certainly lived up to expectations. All aspects of the stay was superb and reflected 6 stars. Many celebrities frequent this hotel and it is obvious why. Facilities are excellent, service is excellent and luxury is unmatched. Only complaint was specific romantic turndown arrangements for our island superior room were not communicated to housekeeping staff and resulted in a but of an anti-climax. The hotel also boasts 2 of the best restaurants in South Africa. As can be expected with a resort of this calibre, make sure your credit card has large reserves!

Room Tip: Island Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed our world-class facilities during your recent visit where we pride ourselves on spoiling each of our guests as a VIP. May I sincerely apologize that the execution of the plans for your special moment did not take place as discussed. I understand that you have been in communication with our Resort Manager and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I really did not like this hotel at first but it quickly won me over. I had a room in the island which was beautiful, quiet and spacious. The service was excellent throughout my stay and food delicious. The best pool food I've had and the traditional pancakes for breakfast were highly addictive.
My main disappointment was the pool area. 98% of people in the water were kids. And they made a lot of noise and screaming. It was impossible to relax. This is not the hotel' s fault but they could have built an adults only area. The setting of the pool is disappointing though as it overlooks various residential complexes. On a more positive note, service was really 5 stars.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We are thrilled that the genuine hospitality of our team and quality of food and beverage provided by our world class facilities won you over! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and 3 other couples stayed 5 nights at this fabulous hotel. Upon our arrival at check-in, we were immediately offered cool drinks and warm towels to freshen ourselves. And what a surprise to learn that we had been upgraded from a standard room to a suite! The suite was enormous, almost 1700 sf or 160 sq m, with dining and lounge area, guest bathroom, king-sized bedroom, separate his and hers bathrooms and spacious balcony with patio tables and chairs. Also each couple received a bottle of complimentary bottle of South African wine, which was excellent. I only wish I could remember the name.
The service was impeccable. Dianne and Terri arranged our days perfectly with suggestions of restaurants, reservations, activities, and transportation. Every night the turn down service left Lindt chocolates, extra bottled water, and closed the drapes. One evening I accidentally knocked over the glass soap dish off the tub, and called housekeeping to send someone to clean up the broken shards of glass. Someone came in less than 5 minutes and promptly swept and vacuumed the bathroom floor.
The spa was stunning, from the relaxation lounges to the warm water pool and large showers, the facilities exuded luxury and comfort. I also received a fantastic massage from Beth.
Breakfasts included in our stay were spectacular. The assortment of pastries, charcuterie, cheeses, fruit, cereals, bacon, and eggs cooked to order would satisfy the most discerning guest. They even offered oysters and champagne as everyday fare.
My only complaint would be that afternoon tea was a bit disappointing. While the pastries and sandwiches were beautifully presented, unfortunately the taste did not quite measure up to the expectations drawn from the display. But it was such a minor flaw to our entire experience at One and Only. This truly is the one and only hotel where we enjoyed such incomparable amenities and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The one bedroom Marina Grand Suite was heavenly. We did not want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your One&Only experience in such detail. We are so proud of the individuals that you highlighted and they are very pleased that their dedication to service excellence has impacted your stay so positively. We appreciate your feedback regarding your afternoon tea experience and rest assured that this has been forwarded to the relevant management for action. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I, together with our 2 children (aged 4 and 9) recently had the absolute pleasure of staying at the One&Only in Cape Town. What a fantastic experience it was! It exceeded our expectations on all levels. The setting is not only breathtaking with views of Table Mountain and the City scape at night, but the pool area on the 'island' is a world way from the hustle and energy of the spectacular shopping development of the Waterfront just outside the entrance. The staff is not only attentive and super friendly, they somehow seem to anticipate one's needs. Everybody seems relaxed while being super efficient. No stressed out staff anywhere! The Kids Club is safe, interesting, exciting with incredibly caring and well trained staff. This gave me the opportunity go visit the Spa! Aha! The best facial I ever had at very competitive prices! And with the kids happily entertained, my husband deeply relaxing at the pool, I could not have wanted for more. A great holiday for families with young children, and exhausted parents!! Enjoy.

Room Tip: We previously stayed in a room on the Island which was very special, feeling like a luxury bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Our team is thrilled to read about all your One&Only moments and we cannot wait to blow you away again and again. Your One&Only family in Cape Town awaits you!

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This review is a year overdue as I've just signed up to TripAdvisor.

What an excellent hotel this was - beautiful rooms with amazing views of Table Mountain, very friendly staff and the best Kids Club ever.

We can't wait to return and to try out all the other One & Only hotels around the world.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FMGCFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
And we are delighted that you reviewed us regardless! We are adding three more exciting and luxurious properties to our extraordinary One&Only collection during 2014/2015. They will be based in China, Europe and Australia thus you will soon have 10 superb destinations to explore. We cannot wait for your next visit to Cape Town!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing