We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“superb hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Best hotel we have been to in Africa.The service ,the food,the best trained staff in any hotel we have visited..The hotel is a haven of peace and luxury and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town as the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the Waterfront as the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    197
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
383
721
42
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A great location and everything in place to make this a great hotel. The service, however, is inconsistent for its five star rating. There seems to be a disconnect between the service level and the guests.
An example...I declined the turndown service shortly after I arrived in order to take a bath...as soon as I got in the water the phone rang, it was the housekeeping department checking to see if I had really declined the turndown (why do this when the guest has declined it in order not to be disturbed?) It happened twice.
At checkout I was charged for a spa service I did not have, the receptionist did not have a docket signed by me but still the spa were still trying to insist the treatment was mine!
Positives - the pool area is lovely and the pool staff were excellent. The mountain view premier room was very good.
If the hotel recognised that the guests are more important than the system it would be truly five star.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We appreciate your honest review and you can rest assured that your comments have been reviewed in the most serious light. The relevant management has addressed the issues regarding communication that you have raised and we thank you for this very relevant feedback. Our team of servers at Isola are delighted that they played a part in creating a memorable experience for you and we are delighted that you were comforatble and pleased with your room. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in order to provide you with the ultimate One&Only experience.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Enjoyed an afternoon tea here it was a wonderful buffet with a wide selection of rolls savouries and pastries. We sat on the terrace outside overlooking the canal such a quiet peaceful spot away from the frenetic bustle of the waterfront. Do try it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alf653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Our team is very pleased that you had an amazing experience! Offering bite sized savory and sweet delights and 36 different flavors of loose leaf tea, our afternoon tea is definitely not something to miss whilst staying of visiting our world-class resort. Thank you for writing about your experience.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice for a total of 8 nights. Rooms are extremely spacious. Huge bathrooms, with stand alone.soaker tubs.
Rooms are nicely appointed. Amenities are from a local South African.
Rooms on the island are gorgeous and secluded.
On clear days you can see.Table Top mountain. Hotel staff are flawless, except for a service issue or two at breakfast.Diana is the most amazing hotel staff I have ever come across, she runs the place, and it's not even her job.
Laundry service is great and very affordable.
Location is fantastic, walk to all sorts of amazing shops and restauratants. Pier is close to walk if you're going to go to Robben island.
Must stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CAevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor and for your loyalty to our brand!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a fantastic time at this hotel. The service and restaurants are impeccable, food is great and the kids enjoyed the Kids Camp. This is definitely luxury at its best, with easy access to the Marina area. Unfortunately we had relatively bad weather so we never got to see the top of Table Top mountain, but on a clear day you can for sure see that from your room. From the reception to the Concierge, this hotel has extremely friendly and helpful staff and there are enough of them to take care of your every need. The Spa is beautiful; I did not book a treatment but simply went to take a sauna and relax in the steam bath.

Room Tip: Try one of the rooms out by the pool on the island for amazing views and secluded luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leilani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Slightly far from the city and key attractions of Capetown (like the table top mountains) but a property worth visiting for its magnificent view. Its not really a hotel and is run by the owner and his team. Perfect if you want a homely experience.

Room Tip: the sea facing rooms are as good as it gets !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrateekBhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Luxury at its best is synonym to One & Only in Cape Town, South Africa. Rooms facing Table Mountain are really awesome. Break fast / lunch/ diner was very continental but the chefs very exceptional. When they got to know about Indians, what they cooked is far better than a lot of Indian restaurants that you get

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak_Mendiratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We strive to please our valued guests in any way we can and we are delighted that our culinary team blew you away! No request is too large and no detail too small and we look forward to spoiling you again.
Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing