We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, luxurious & exquisite dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient, luxurious & exquisite dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very handily located in the popular and secure V & A Waterfront district, this oasis of an hotel has been home to presidents and rock stars alike. Discreet and very comfortable, the staff understand the value of client service.
A highlight of the hotel is the quality of food which emerges from their kitchens - a creamed mushroom starter served with shallots, dressed in a wild garlic cream reduction was merely the entrance to culinary heaven! A polite-sized portion of Chalmar beef fillet, char-grilled to perfection, served with grilled vegetables & Cape Country Mustard sauce drew gasps of satisfaction from diners. Not to be outdone, the pastry chef presented a masterpiece of exquisite Tiramisu which taste easily matched it's presentation.
Not be missed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    193
    55
    27
    28
See reviews for
371
704
41
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a true testament to an absolutely wonderful Hotel. Having spent the last five years at this hotel during the Festive Holidays. I can honestly say that December 2013 was the best year ever. All the staff were so attentive, the bedroom we usually occupy was again available to us and exceeded our expectations. The Housekeeping department helped us with extra hangers, an Iron and Ironing board as and when we requested it.... nothing was too much trouble.

We spent most of our time by the pool (well it was a holiday!). The pool staff were friendly and the little touches like cold towels,fruit skewers and Ice cold soft drinks were most welcome as it was hot,hot,hot.

The food in Nobu was the best I have eaten there, along with the fabulous selection of various breads and pastries served at Breakfast.

Rosy and her Team in the Spa are superb. All treatments are executed with care and precision and a smile.

The hotel shop Neo is expensive but has unusual Jewellery and lovely designer clothes

The only negative point I have to make is that 14 days went far too quickly. Will I return for another Christmas and New Year...... you bet!

Room Tip: The Corner rooms are very bright and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 833SueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for writing about your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor! Our team is thrilled that they were able to blow you away again and it is such a great reward to our team reading your comments. Your valued business is very much appreciated and we are looking forward to celebrate many more Festive Seasons with you!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

What an exceptional experience! The One&Only Cape Town is in a great, central location for explorations to all of the major sights. The food was terrific - especially their made-to-order breakfasts - and our room was excellent, but what really made the stay was the staff. Everyone we encountered was wonderful - friendly, gracious, knowledgeable and helpful - just exceptional in every way. The concierge was especially terrific Be sure to find Diane as soon as you arrive - she has wonderful tips and recommendations. She was even able to help us move our table as Test Kitchen to one of the tables right up at the bar! Everyone on their guest services staff is exceptional, though, and I would highly recommend a city tour with their guides. Satish is the best - ask for him!

This hotel understands the difference between providing great hospitality or just providing great service. We can't wait to return to Cape Town and would never think of staying anywhere but the One&Only.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

the best child/baby friendly hotel I have ever stayed it. The staff were amazing, and even the receptionist grabbed my baby's food to run to the kitchen and heat it up. A nappy changing station is provided in the rooms (complete with baby products) and there is even a special nappy dustbin provided. Loved every minute of it. Attended a wedding while we were there and even the wedding planner/function co-ordinator approached us and asked if there was anything we needed for our baby. The baby sitters are amazing-all trained students. The rooms and bathrooms were just perfect-loved the pillow and fragrance menu and loved the evening turn downs with homemade toffee and nougat. My daughter was pampered at the Spa for the wedding and the cost was reasonable. On the second evening we were rushed for the wedding and left the room in chaos only to come back and find everything picked up and packed away. We did not stop tipping...The food was FABULOUS.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davis-hannibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a fabulous venue for the Christmas vacation. The room was more like a suite and very comfortable with views of the Marina and Table Mountain. The food was superb. We dined in the restaurant on Christmas Eve where they served a 5 star buffet. We dined again on Christmas day and enjoyed a superb dinner. The pool side restaurant served an excellent lunch and the breakfasts were excellent. We relaxed by the pool in the afternoons and over all had a superb stay. Cant wait to return!!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and everlasting memories. Thank you for writing about your Festive Season experience and we are so pleased that we could assist to celebrate a Christmas that you will never forget!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely big rooms, interconnecting possible, with most in the main building having excellent views of table mountain. The area around the pool feels cramped and hemmed in by the island suites, but I guess the docks are limited in space. The staff are all very friendly and efficient but Diana from guest relations is amazing. Kids club is good but probably best for 5-8 year olds,as again space is limited. I had a Bastien Gonzalez pedicure which was brilliant and the rest of the spa looks lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and everlasting memories. Thank you for highlighting the members of our team whom have made a genuine impact on your experience!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Best hotel we have been to in Africa.The service ,the food,the best trained staff in any hotel we have visited..The hotel is a haven of peace and luxury and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town as the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the Waterfront as the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing