We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wikus & Volente Wedding 18 Jan 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Wikus & Volente Wedding 18 Jan 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Let me start by saying that my husband and I got married at this glorious hotel. We visited the hotel a year before our wedding to meet with the wedding planner Adele and view the hotel and they exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived until the day of our wedding.
My husband and I chose this location for our wedding because of the service and attention to detail throughout the hotel. My wedding was a fairy tail and people are still raving about it!
The food was phenomenal all around.... Marcus assistance was greatly appreciated and thank you cannot express the gratitude we have for each and everything he has done.

All in all it was a great once in a lifetime experience and I would not have changed a thing.....

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wikus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for writing about your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor! Our team is thrilled that they were able to be part of this very special day and it is such a great reward to our team reading your comments. We are looking forward to celebrate many more wedding anniversaries with you!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    194
    55
    27
    28
See reviews for
371
706
41
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We were in CT from 31 January to 3 Febuary. Stayed at amazing one and only Cape Town. We had family room for 2 of us and 2 kids. It was awesome level of quality and service. It was out the world experience. Hotel is expensive but worth every single dollar you spend there. Rooms, breakfast, pool, kids club all at awesome level.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Best hotel in Cape Town! Service with a smile :-), Breakfast fit for a king. There is absolutely nothing I can complain about, from check in to check out you made our two night stay extra special.

Thank you One & only!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arno_Cecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here just over two years ago. It is just as good. Late January it appeared to be really quite empty. We had an Island room - 707 - an upstairs room. Big room with huge and mega-comfy bed. Excellent storage and marvellous bathroom. What stand out at The One & Only in Cape Town is the quality of service from the staff - they are all clearly brilliantly trained. Each and every one of them deserved praise for making our short 30 hour stay so enjoyable - particularly the pool staff who make such delicious cosmopolitans that we were forced to try a lot of them...The location suits us too with the hotel a short walk to the Waterfront where there are a great range of shops and numerous quality restaurants. The only downside is the cost! About $600 a night, but I'm not complaining - my wife is already arranging a revisit, and for longer this time. Need to ban those cosmopolitans this time......

Room Tip: No mountain view on Island but very convenient for pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and everlasting memories. Thank you for highlighting the team members who have made such a positive impact on your stay and we are very excited to welcome you back again as one of our loyal repeat guests.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very handily located in the popular and secure V & A Waterfront district, this oasis of an hotel has been home to presidents and rock stars alike. Discreet and very comfortable, the staff understand the value of client service.
A highlight of the hotel is the quality of food which emerges from their kitchens - a creamed mushroom starter served with shallots, dressed in a wild garlic cream reduction was merely the entrance to culinary heaven! A polite-sized portion of Chalmar beef fillet, char-grilled to perfection, served with grilled vegetables & Cape Country Mustard sauce drew gasps of satisfaction from diners. Not to be outdone, the pastry chef presented a masterpiece of exquisite Tiramisu which taste easily matched it's presentation.
Not be missed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a true testament to an absolutely wonderful Hotel. Having spent the last five years at this hotel during the Festive Holidays. I can honestly say that December 2013 was the best year ever. All the staff were so attentive, the bedroom we usually occupy was again available to us and exceeded our expectations. The Housekeeping department helped us with extra hangers, an Iron and Ironing board as and when we requested it.... nothing was too much trouble.

We spent most of our time by the pool (well it was a holiday!). The pool staff were friendly and the little touches like cold towels,fruit skewers and Ice cold soft drinks were most welcome as it was hot,hot,hot.

The food in Nobu was the best I have eaten there, along with the fabulous selection of various breads and pastries served at Breakfast.

Rosy and her Team in the Spa are superb. All treatments are executed with care and precision and a smile.

The hotel shop Neo is expensive but has unusual Jewellery and lovely designer clothes

The only negative point I have to make is that 14 days went far too quickly. Will I return for another Christmas and New Year...... you bet!

Room Tip: The Corner rooms are very bright and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 833SueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for writing about your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor! Our team is thrilled that they were able to blow you away again and it is such a great reward to our team reading your comments. Your valued business is very much appreciated and we are looking forward to celebrate many more Festive Seasons with you!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

What an exceptional experience! The One&Only Cape Town is in a great, central location for explorations to all of the major sights. The food was terrific - especially their made-to-order breakfasts - and our room was excellent, but what really made the stay was the staff. Everyone we encountered was wonderful - friendly, gracious, knowledgeable and helpful - just exceptional in every way. The concierge was especially terrific Be sure to find Diane as soon as you arrive - she has wonderful tips and recommendations. She was even able to help us move our table as Test Kitchen to one of the tables right up at the bar! Everyone on their guest services staff is exceptional, though, and I would highly recommend a city tour with their guides. Satish is the best - ask for him!

This hotel understands the difference between providing great hospitality or just providing great service. We can't wait to return to Cape Town and would never think of staying anywhere but the One&Only.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing