We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One&Only Cape Town
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mountain Marina(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The PortsWood(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
1,455
218
66
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,455
218
66
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubisland suitenobu restaurantreubentable mountainthe main hotelhigh teafour seasonsbeautiful hoteloystersnespresso machinebreakfast buffetsouth africaluxury hotelturn down servicemountain viewwaterfront area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,093 - 1,098 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our third trip to the One and Only in Cape Town but never reviewed before. In truth we have experienced a few administrative misunderstandings with them in the past, the latest being told the day before we arrived that construction work was due to commence on the day of our arrival....fortunately this was on the main block and not the island side where we were staying. We also requested late checkout as we had a late afternoon international flight. We were told we were not eligible for this ( we were ) and presumed this would be sorted out. Without any further communication we received a letter under the door the night before stating we had to vacate our room at 11 am as the hotel was fully booked. Simply not how to deal with guests. It was finally sorted out but left a sour taste.
The rooms, facilities and location are all still wonderful and the food at Nobu is absolutely world class- a true gastronomic delight. I would stay at the hotel just to eat there!
The breakfast buffet was also very impressive and the serving staff were wonderful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank scubanut62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We appreciate your honest review and you can rest assured that your comments have been reviewed in the most serious light. Management has addressed the issues regarding communication that you have raised and we are very pleased that we were able to accommodate your request for a late departure. Our teams of servers at Nobu and Reuben’s are delighted that they played a part in creating a memorable experience for you and we are delighted that. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in order to provide you with the ultimate One&Only experience as one of our loyal repeat customers.

Regards,
Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Wowee, this place is spectacular! The food, service, room, views...just everything about the one&only is fabulous! Makes me want to visit all the one&only's! I honestly cannot think of a single thing that wasn't up to par! Wish I was there now! :)

Room Tip: Stay higher up for the amazing views of Table Mountain!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpiofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived at the One&Only Cape Town as our first stop on our three-week African honeymoon in South Africa (Cape Town, Kruger, Sabi Sands, Johannesburg) and Tanzania (Zanzibar). Prior to our arrival at the hotel, I had communicated with Madnee Mayman at the Concierge Desk to book hard-to-get reservations, Mercedes Benz taxis/ transfers and sought-after tours. He was unbelievable to work with and nothing was impossible for him to do. When our Robben Island tour was cancelled due to Nelson Mandela’s funeral and the island being closed in remembrance of, Madnee was able to book us on the first ferry to the island on the following day and helped us to rearrange our itinerary. He also took care of our private bookings to Cape Point and an unforgettable shark diving trip at coveted times during the busy summer months prior to our arrival. He was an absolute gem to work with and even more charismatic and accommodating in person. The entire staff was extremely personable, friendly, and helpful all throughout our four night stay.

The property itself is amazing! Stunning views of Table Mountain, close to the waterfront and a great jumping off point for the many sights to see and things to do in Cape Town. We requested Room 505 before getting to the hotel since we heard it had one of the best views of Table Mountain and it did not disappoint! When we arrived after our 18 hour flight from New York, we were greeted with champagne and given a grand tour of the hotel. We then had another bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us in our room and a bubble bath with rose petals on another night during our stay. They pulled out all of the stops to ensure that our time at the hotel and in Cape Town was as memorable as ever and Cape Town was certainly one of the best cities we’ve visited (that’s coming from two New Yorkers who live in Soho).

The daily buffet breakfasts were incredible and both Reuben’s and Nobu are delicious. The spa was well appointed, meticulous and my husband and I both had wonderful massages. Hands down – the One&Only Cape Town is a wonderful hotel (modern, clean, luxurious, top notch) – THE hotel – to stay at while in Cape Town and we hope to be back in the very near future!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitkneejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for writing about your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor! Our team is thrilled that they were able to be part of this very special holiday and it is such a great reward to our team reading your comments. Your valued business is very much appreciated and we are looking forward to celebrate many more anniversaries with you!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for the second time and wow this is an impressive hotel. It is extremely well run, the staff is super attentive and hence the service is awesome.
The breakfast is fantastic and they do any special wish - just ask. The fitness is perfect, the spa is a dream and the pool is amazing.
The rooms are modern with Nespresso machines and great views on harbour and/or Table Mountain.
They are extremely kids friendly, something not always the case in South Africa.

Room Tip: 509 is a great suite (Table Mountain Suite) and 421 has a great sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and everlasting memories. Thank you for writing about your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor and we are very excited to welcome you and your family back again as our loyal repeat guests.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

In some ways this hotel is rather out of place - a big, brash, show off sort of place in a City which prides itself on more historic and conservative places. But it very quickly grows on you and is a really fun place to stay. The views of Table Mountain through the enormous windows of the lobby set the tone. The restaurants offer a great choice (including Nobu's Cape Town outpost) and the breakfast was especially good. The rooms in the pool area are extremely spacious and much more like staying in a 5* beach resort than a hotel in the middle of a City. The pool itself is is fabulous. The staff consistently delivered a very high standard of service. Highly recommended if on holiday in Cape Town; if in Cape Town for work you will find this hotel offers lots of distractions from the more serious sides of business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family, couples or business getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and
everlasting memories. Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews