We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I don't usually take the time to do reviews but I have to for this hotel. We stayed here for 3 days in May 2014. Had the marina & mountain view king room. You open the draperies and there is a beautiful view of Table Mountain in the background with the marina in the foreground. Rooms were large and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was really fresh and had a great variety. The staff was top notch, especially the concierges. Imagine chipping your front tooth on the flight to Capetown, telling the front desk about it at 9:00 p.m. upon check-in. Then, being advised the next morning at 8:30 that your appointment to get it fixed was at 9:30 with a taxi arranged to take you there at 9:15! That's what I call service.

Also, have to mention that Jarat Tours which runs out of this hotel was terrific. We did the Best of the Cape Tour with our extra-special guide Saleigh. If you have limited time and want to really see Cape Town, this is the ideal way to go. Reasonably priced, too. They also pick up and drop off at the airport. Jarat's service was a recommendation of the concierges. Not only was the concierge staff simply great but also very appreciative!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodstock645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
There are newer reviews for One&Only Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having just come back from Cape Town, I have the memories of a truly beautiful hotel, The One & Only.
It has one of the biggest swimming pools around, ut it's standard of rooms and location make it the perfect choice.
With the water front one side and table mountain to the rear, what more could you ask for !

Room Tip: Ask for a table mountain view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ok, this is a beautiful hotel with a perfect location in one of the most beautiful cities of the world but something was definitely broken when we arrived. First, the check-in process was a mess. The place was crowded, the reception desk person didn't have our info nor the fact we were celebrating our 10-year anniversary. When we got to our room, surprise surprise, our "marina view" was 1/5 of our view as all we could see was the street and a construction site right next to us. My husband called to ask for a change and they said the only other room available would cost us another $500/night. He wasted another hour on the phone until finally they found us a room without the extra charge with the table mountain view. The manager was lost and without any power to make a decision. The rest of our stay had a few incidents here and there which just proved to us this hotel has been poorly managed. At check-out they tried to compensate without charging us for some of our drinks but our experience had been ruined already... What a shame for such a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the full marina view, not just the corner side some of the rooms have.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here in may, 2014. This hotel is great. Staff are very attentive, and rooms are luxurious. 2 great restaurants, and a short walk to the V&A waterfront. Room sevice is excellent and well-priced. Great bar and excellent views of table mountain. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved the One & Only Cape Town, the view of Table Mountain from the room was awesome. My partner and I both made use of the spa and enjoyed the treatments very much.

We loved the shopping centre near by and did some damage in the shops there! There are some great restaurants there also, I enjoyed the most amazing plate of massive garlic prawns one particular lunch time.

We made use of the hotels chauffer service and had the good fortune of meeting a local driver who was lovely and took us to some really lovely places & local restaurants that were on the hip list in Cape Town at that moment, we had lunch out at the Graff Diamond Estate in Stellenbosch and La Petite Ferme in Franschhoek both in stunning locations and awesome dining experiences that are saved in the memory bank.

One word of warning is to make sure you use the correct sun protection, as I was quite badly burnt. We were sitting by the pool on one of the first days and it was cloudy and I have to be honest I didn't take the correct precautions and suffered the consequences as a result, if I were to go back to Cape Town (which we would love to do) I would factor 30 - 50 all day long.

The One & Only is home to the restaurant Nobu; we ate there one night but we found it a bit pretentious to be honest, but other than that we had no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went here on an incentive trip with a close friend. You are within walking distance to amazing art and craft booths, street music, top restaurants, boat and helicopter tours, and more. Afternoon tea is AMAZING. Breakfast as well. The service and staff were delightful. Our room had views of Table Top Mountain, the pool and Western Cape Town. Bed was super comfy and we fought over who got to enjoy the giant tub and shower first - I will definitely be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank JReyna09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with a fantastic view. The staff are friendly and eager, the rooms large and comes with everything you can expect from a classy hotel. Short distance walk to the waterfront mall. Definitely worth a stay in Cape Town.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nickong78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £411 - £1,309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing