We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - Fabulous Rooms”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
westchester county, ny
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfect location - Fabulous Rooms”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you only have a short amount of time in Cape Town, stay here... Beautiful rooms with every amenity, large funky bathrooms, excellent buffet breakfast, and all the rooms have amazing views of Table Mountain. Walk to the waterfront, close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    201
    61
    27
    29
See reviews for
405
746
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My Wife And I recently had the privilege of spending our 27th anniversary at the One & Only Hotel in Cape Town. From the time that we stopped at the doors of the Hotel until we left the hotel we were treated like royalty. My wife loved the spa. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. We will be going there for all our wedding anniversary from now on.

Room Tip: The Hotel has Island rooms what are private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had my wedding here, and also spent two nights at the hotel. I have never experienced such great service.

In the night of the wedding I could not have been any happier. The staff were all very attentive, particularly the head waitress.

The suite was also absolutely amazing, with his and hers bathrooms.

In terms of the wedding we did have a bit of a hiccup with the food tasting, as the chef forgot about it the first time, but the food and beverages manager was very apologetic.

Overall gret experience, would highly recommend staying here and having your wedding here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I don't usually take the time to do reviews but I have to for this hotel. We stayed here for 3 days in May 2014. Had the marina & mountain view king room. You open the draperies and there is a beautiful view of Table Mountain in the background with the marina in the foreground. Rooms were large and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was really fresh and had a great variety. The staff was top notch, especially the concierges. Imagine chipping your front tooth on the flight to Capetown, telling the front desk about it at 9:00 p.m. upon check-in. Then, being advised the next morning at 8:30 that your appointment to get it fixed was at 9:30 with a taxi arranged to take you there at 9:15! That's what I call service.

Also, have to mention that Jarat Tours which runs out of this hotel was terrific. We did the Best of the Cape Tour with our extra-special guide Saleigh. If you have limited time and want to really see Cape Town, this is the ideal way to go. Reasonably priced, too. They also pick up and drop off at the airport. Jarat's service was a recommendation of the concierges. Not only was the concierge staff simply great but also very appreciative!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodstock645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having just come back from Cape Town, I have the memories of a truly beautiful hotel, The One & Only.
It has one of the biggest swimming pools around, ut it's standard of rooms and location make it the perfect choice.
With the water front one side and table mountain to the rear, what more could you ask for !

Room Tip: Ask for a table mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ok, this is a beautiful hotel with a perfect location in one of the most beautiful cities of the world but something was definitely broken when we arrived. First, the check-in process was a mess. The place was crowded, the reception desk person didn't have our info nor the fact we were celebrating our 10-year anniversary. When we got to our room, surprise surprise, our "marina view" was 1/5 of our view as all we could see was the street and a construction site right next to us. My husband called to ask for a change and they said the only other room available would cost us another $500/night. He wasted another hour on the phone until finally they found us a room without the extra charge with the table mountain view. The manager was lost and without any power to make a decision. The rest of our stay had a few incidents here and there which just proved to us this hotel has been poorly managed. At check-out they tried to compensate without charging us for some of our drinks but our experience had been ruined already... What a shame for such a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the full marina view, not just the corner side some of the rooms have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in may, 2014. This hotel is great. Staff are very attentive, and rooms are luxurious. 2 great restaurants, and a short walk to the V&A waterfront. Room sevice is excellent and well-priced. Great bar and excellent views of table mountain. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,027 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,211 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing