We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOBU Restaurant at One&Only”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Since there"s no NOBU restaurant on TripAdvisor I am going to write a little review on NOBU restaurant. One word, It's OK. We order Edamame and the Spicy Seafood Soup. These ones were good. It's hard to go wrong with the boiled soy beans. Isn't it? My husband had Fish and Chips. This main did no good to my tummy. I order the Mozambican Prawn with Spicy Lemon Garlic. it was nice but the veggies were salty, extra salty.
The sushi was good.
It's over priced considering how simple the food was. But I guess with a bottle of wine and a bill running up to 700 Rands we can't complain.
The service was OK. Nevertheless the waitress really pushed for us to order the most expensive stuff. Not pleasant.
I don't think I will try it again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed at the One & Only for 3 nights at the end of a golf tour of the Western Cape and Winelands. Beautiful room with a fabulous view, large and well-appointed bathroom, super-comfy bed, tasteful furniture. Could not fault the room at all and the concierge, butler and bar staff were absolutely superb. Restaurant staff in Nobu and Reubens were sometimes a bit disorganised, especially at breakfast but they tried hard to put things right when mistakes were made. Beautiful Spa, average pool.

The hotel is well located for the V&A Waterfront which is a safe and pleasant area to browse shops, eat out or enjoy an outdoor drink while watching street entertainers. Very good early-season value on a 3-nights-for-2 deal.

I would go back but would also like to try other properties in the area first.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlLeGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The One & Only Cape Town is a gorgeous, modern resort hotel - period. The property itself and the common areas are beautifully done. We had a Marina King Room, which is honestly the best hotel room I've ever stayed in. The room was enormous with a huge, luxurious bathroom, had a balcony with a view of Table Mountain, and a living area with all the amenities and attention to detail you'd expect of any urban boutique hotel. Generally I have good things to say about the staff - the concierge desk was very helpful with dining and we never had to wait long to pickup and drop off our car. However, there were a few slip-ups, including highly inconsistent beverage service during breakfast all three days that indicate there's room for improvement on the service side of things. With respect to location, the hotel is located within easy walking distance from the V&A Waterfront, and other areas of the city are walkable from here as well. That being said, the beach and coastline views, as well as more of the nightlife, are in Camps Bay and areas on the other side of the mountain, so some travelers might consider Twelve Apostles as a beautiful alternative.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ny_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for four night in October. I am fortunate enough to have stayed in some of the best Hotels in the World and the One & Only Cape Town is right up there amongst the best. Great rooms, very spacious with great bathrooms and tremendous views, we were on the fourth floor. There was absolutely nothing I could criticise about the room or service.
My only concern was the Nobu restaurant which I thought was very average. I am afraid celebrity named restaurants just do not work remotely. You need the passion of the chef to make a great restaurant, not just a themed name. Gordon Ramsey's failed and is now the South African chef Reuben from Franschoek, so it is only time before Nobu suffers the same fate.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pplir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Amazing... Wonderful... Beautiful... You should live it, you should try it, you should experience it! Unforgettable stay where every detail is sharpened to perfection: spacious rooms, elegant decor, stunning view from large balconies. Real paradise in one of the best places in the world. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvitochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the One and Only for a three night trip to Cape Town. The hotel is very convenient to the V&A Waterfront and the the room was beautiful. The service was professional and friendly without being intrusive and Chris the concierge was very helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Only 6 star hotel in S/A and lives up to all its stars .
Had a few problems with Internet going down and various lights going off in room (twice)
Service in restaurant could have been better needed to ask for missing utensils and coffee to be topped up etc

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,394 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,823 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £439 - £917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing