We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security Problems at Hotel - Theft from Room”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Security Problems at Hotel - Theft from Room”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Spent 4 nights at hotel, and on the first day my electric razor was stolen from the room. I reported the theft to the reception desk immeadiately, and was told "when this happens we always follow up with a note left in your room later in the day". That was not too reassuring, and made me think this is a common event. But sure enough I got a note in my room that evening saying that they would investigate and get back in due course. But I never heard back, and the same staff serviced my room. I felt compelled to lock up my belongings in my suitcase since, unfortunately, the room safe was not big enought for my valuables and my toiletries. On the last evening I went back to the desk and complained to the manager. He was unaware of the theft, and put me on the phone with the security director who told me he was told I had checked out several days earlier. They were both blaming other people, and were not on top of the situation. The manager also would not reimbure me for the electric razor, which amazed me given that I was paying over $1500 a night for our suite. The hotel was beautiful, and the room just fantastic. Service and food was okay, but not great. I did not feel safe and secure in the hotel, and the management seemed little concerned.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUSC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the One&Only Cape Town. Further our telephonic conversation, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies in this format.
We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Kind regards,
Gerhard Erasmus
EAM - Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    199
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
395
738
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We decided to celebrate an anniversary at the One and Only hotel Cape Town. The reception upon arrival was efficient, unobtrusive and extremely professional. The Island room we stayed in comes highly recommended- the 75 sq metre room is idyllic with a little patio overlooking the waterway. the manager had arranged a tray of treat to welcome us and celebrate our special occasion. the iced beverage was non alcoholic- truly impressive as we don't drink alcohol but did not disclose this and are often presented with sparkling wine/champagne. the butler service and turndown amenities were brilliant. we had the pleasure of booking a spa treatment the next day. the service from marlise was amazing and the couple treatment room a must do.

unfortunately, for breakfast, we had an awful experience which left me with little appetite and tainted what was a perfect weekend. we requested a table on the veranda. the hostess assured us this could be arranged and advised us to select some items from the buffet area while they set the table. about 10 min later we made our way outside only to be told very curtly " you took too long. we gave the table to somebody else." no apology and no alternative was offered. instead we were seated at an unset table and then moved once i complained. the newly 'set' table was also devoid of key items of cutlery and waitrons were virtually non existent.

having stayed at several hotels worldwide and being on the receiving end of sometimes average service- this was appalling for a hotel which claims to have "6 star" calibre. the rooms and the rest of the hotel's service definitely lived up and exceeded expectations. however, the trick lies in a comprehensively superior experience. one which the one and only failed to deliver.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
We would like to extend our sincerest thanks for your recent stay and sharing your anniversary with us.

Thank you for your kind words regarding to our appointment of our rooms and am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectation in the welcoming received. I will share your positive feedback with the team, especially Marilise who you have spoken so highly of.

With regards to your comments about the poor service you received at breakfast, I assure you that your comments have been taken in the most serious light. Having reviewed your comments in detail, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the service shortfall that you experienced, as it is most definitely not the standard of service we strive to achieve. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it is through such feedback that we are able to rectify and improve our standards of service. I have also passed on your feedback to relevant Head of department in order for us to prevent a similar incident from occurring in future.

I sincere hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stayed at the this hotel in October and I can Honnestly say this hotel is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! The rooms were huge and the View of table moutain was excellent. The staff were very poliite more than happy to help and the business facilites were excellent also.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at The One&Only Cape Town and for the incredibly kind words with regards to our service and appointment of our rooms. On behalf of the team, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your positive feedback with the team.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We started our South Africa trip in Cape Town and spent the first three nights at the One&Only. Overall, I absolutely loved this hotel and easily ranks as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. When we arrived, our reservation was not correct (they had us arriving the next day), but the hostess made several calls and within 15 minutes had our room set up and ready. After a long journey, this attention to service was much appreciated.

The rooms are large, well designed and modern. I had no trouble sleeping in the extremely comfortable bed and appreciated the large amount of drawer space. The bathroom was also amazing and had an incredible rain shower.

The location was right on the V&A waterfront which made it easy to walk to many restaurants and the Robben Island ferry.

I was fortunate enough to have a few hours for a massage one day and the spa was quite amazing. The therapist sat with me ahead of time to understand what I was looking for and the massage was wonderful.

Breakfast was included and there was quite a bit to choose from. Our server, Jeffert, did a nice job each morning. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. The only issue we had was lunch on the day of our check out. The service at Reuben's was extremely slow and the food was just ok.

I hope to be back to Cape Town some day and would certainly stay at the One&Only again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
We would like to extend our sincerest thanks for your recent stay and sharing your experiences with us. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience upon check-in but am delighted to hear that it was resolved in no time and that you indeed had a lovely stay with us.
Thank you for your kind words regarding to our appointment of our rooms and the amazing spa service received. I am thrilled that you had fantastic breakfast experience at the Reuben’s Restaurant and will forward your compliments to the team members. It is a pity that you were disappointed with your lunch at Reuben’s but hope that we will be able to redeem ourselves during your next visit.
I will share your positive feedback with the team, especially Jeffert who you have spoken so highly of, and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

A luxurious, but down to earth and friendly hotel. It could not be in a better location, next to the V&A Waterfront. The rooms are luxurious, the pool area is fantastic and the staff are all so professional and friendly. If you want a luxurious, welcoming, friendly, well located stay in Cape Town then look no further. This is my 7th stay in Cape Town, all in different hotels and this is the one from now! Just brilliant!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at The One&Only Cape Town. On behalf of the team, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and equally as thrilled you have enjoyed our genuine passion for service. I will share your positive feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

One & Only Cape Town certainly lives up to its name. We were there for one week, which included a function at the hotel and some entertaining and it did not fail to impress at any time. The hotel is just sumptious and beautiful, as are the rooms, but what I remember most is the service. Whether it was the people in F&B who were just SO helpful, or at Reception, or on the door, or in the restaurants, it was just impeccable. Attentive but understated. I must also make mention of the Charlotte Rhys amenities in the bathroom - I admit I took as many things with me as I could as they smell just beautiful! (I have tried to buy them online since but have had no luck). I intend returning to Cape Town some day with my husband and we will stay here ... once we save for it!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at The One&Only Cape Town and for the incredibly kind words with specific reference to our service, appointment of our rooms and the Charlotte Rhys bathroom amenities. On behalf of the team, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your positive feedback with the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I went to the Cape Town One & Only Hotel with my mother and we were impressed with the superb service; they truly make you feel like royalty. Also, the hotel lobby and the rooms are beautiful, confortable, and clean. We also ate in both restaurants and the food was exquisite. Thank you One & Only. We would definitely go back and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiaferrer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at The One&Only Cape Town and for the incredibly kind words with regards to our service, appointment of our rooms and our food and beverage offerings. On behalf of the team, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your positive feedback with the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing