We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“favorite place to stay in cape town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Head South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Head South Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“favorite place to stay in cape town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have stayed here 3 times now and will certainly be back. The owners are very welcoming and knowledgeable, they have recommended some fantastic bars and restaurants that helped us make the most of our stay. The rooms are lovely and clean and the downstairs area with its unique style and bar make it feel like home from home. The breakfast offers a delicious selection. The location is also perfect in green point and makes a perfect base for exploring the city. [if using a sat nav Be sure to use the address from the hotel website rather than from Google search as for some reason it will take you to the other side of town! ] Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    55
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
94
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great base for exploring Cape Town. Conveniently situated in the green point area not far from one of the Hop on Hop off bus stops! Comfortable bed and pillows. Art Deco decor in public areas which gives it a unique feel. Rooms arranged around a central atrium taking advantage of the natural light. Honesty bar so refreshments available at all hours. Great breakfast with a wide menu. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses and hot bacon, eggs mushrooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Safe and secure. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justineLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

As ex Capetonians on holiday from Australia we stayed here for 10 days in March with my husband and adult daughter. My husband and I had the room in the front No 4. What we loved about this room was the size, although on a pleasure visit it would be great for a business trip too. The traffic which does pass by was a non event for us. My daughter had one of the rooms at the back and was very happy and comfy in hers. The standout reason why we loved this place had to be the owner Jeff and his wonderful staff especially Ramona. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were warm, helpful and only too happy to organise and suggest places of interest to us we might not know. They have a full time security person on the entrance which was great as they have a couple of spots out front for car parking and these are continually monitored. Coming home from a busy day relaxing having a drink, it felt as if you could have been lounging at home. They have an honour system which works really well and makes you feel for the time you are living there, this is your space too. A lovely breakfast everyday with enough choice to suit most people's taste. The lodge has been tastefully decorated in an Art Deco theme. It is very well situated near beach front, stadium, restaurants, transport and a short ride to the waterfront. Great accommodation at a very reasonable cost with excellent service.

Room Tip: We loved the room no 4 at the front very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Having stayed at Head South Lodge on quite a few occasions now for both
business and pleasure, I only have good things to say.
All of the staff are particularly friendly and helpful from Jeff the owner
through to Ramona, Teddy, Caley, Annie, Philip and Lena (all of the names I
have learned so far). Every member of the team takes a real pride and
interest in looking after all of your needs. Reception are very happy to
organise taxis for you and will also make reservations for you at one of the
many incredible restaurants Cape Town has to offer.
The rooms are scrupulously clean, the breakfasts are fabulous and the
honesty bar such a nice touch. Our team all stayed on the top floor in
beautiful contemporary rooms in cool gray with fabulous walk-in showers.
The location of Head South in Green Point I think is ideally situated for
exploring all of the popular surrounding areas, nothing ever seems to be
more than 30 minutes away.
Enjoy Cape Town, it's an amazing city!

Room Tip: All rooms great but we always choose top floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Good value for money. The owner and staff are GREAT! Ramona especially was so hopeful. Less than R50 taxi too waterfront and most tourist places. Right next to stadium and less than R100 taxis to table mountain. Rooms were great. Thank you for making life easier.:)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynChenDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights Mid Jan and would not hesitate in recommending this gem of a hotel to anybody looking for accommodation in Cape Town.

Upon arrival we were assisted in parking by a lovely security staff member, then looked after brilliantly when checking in and then shown to our gorg room, all in very quick time, yet we never felt rushed.

We asked for a dinner recommendation and the front desk lady not only recommended a fantastic steak restaurant, but had made us a booking in super quick time.

The breakfast was very simple, but delish. It had just the right amount of choice. The honesty bar is a great service, which is also very well priced. After a day of sightseeing in the heat, we were able to grab cold drinks en route back to our room at decent prices.

Location wise, it really worked for us. We had pre booked the sightseeing bus and could hop on at stop 18, which was only a 4min walk away, and then we hopped off at the same stop rather than trekking back from the V&A, which is about a 20/25 min walk.

Upon checking out we we're greeted by the owner who was very pleasant and allowed us to leave our car for the day even though we had checked out. He even offered to give us a lift to the waterfront so we could have plenty of time before doing the robben island tour. This was a very generous offer and one that was gratefully received by 2 hungover tourists!

Overall, this little hotel is the perfect base to enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Percy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

There are many things that are great about the Head South Lodge! The first that comes to mind is the staff. The girl at the reception (can't believe I lost your name - sorry!!) is amazing! So energetic and nice, she helped us plan our whole stay in Cape Town and gave us some really helpful pointers of what to do.

HSL has a good location, quite close to the waterfront. Breakfast perfect, rooms good - but not as luxurious as I might have expected from the pictures... We did get to take our pick from the rooms available though, so that was a nice surprise! I really enjoyed the honesty bar (ok, that might have come out wrong) - HSL actually has a fully equipped bar that is free to use, you just write down what you take. I got to be a bartender for a night!

The pool is the smallest I have ever seen.

All in all a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head South Lodge

Property: Head South Lodge
Address: 215 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Head South Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head South Lodge has become one of Cape Town's leading boutique hotels. The combination of its sophisticated style and funky atmosphere over 18 years, has proven to be an attractive mix for all guests. Position and service are the strong points of Head South. Guests are offered recommendations, and assisted with directions to sites within and outside of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Head South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head South Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing