We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”
Review of Carne on Keerom

Carne on Keerom
Ranked #44 of 1,146 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The food is AMAZING. Our waitress was very friendly, she showed us the various cuts of meat at the start, recommended how they should be cooked best and helped a great deal. This place is amazing value, and the wines superb!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    191
    78
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous. Must do.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Must start by saying that I went to their new outlet on kloof street and not this one on keerom street. That said, am told the kitchen is of the same standard. The florentina 1.2 kg steak must be shared by 2. But it must must must be had - had nothing as juicy and delicious as this one before. Baked bone marrow is also absolutely first rate. There is no way you can't try it. Ambience, the one I went to was more brick-walled, bistro-ish versus the original one at keerom street. I simply loved the relaxed feel. Would I go there again? Well do I really have to answer that?? If steaks is your deal, just go..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karan20576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed in the level of service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We dined at Carne over the w-end and were so disappointed, the barman had no idea what he was doing when it came to making cocktails. Our waiter also told us he had no knowledge when it came to recommending a wine either. So unfortunate that a restaurant like this one is let down by lack of training.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadeneeveritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
169 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome Steaks & Superb Service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wonderful atmosphere, warm welcome & awesome steaks. Great wine list makes this restaurant one of Cape Town's gems. Again with some international visitors who are accustomed to eating in the world's finest, were suitably impressed. Thanks to Robin, our waiter for being so accomodating and attentive. Well worth the visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food for steak lovers”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our family enjoyed a great meal at Carne -- lots of excellent choices of beef cuts brought to your table to choose. It has a cool "wine cavern"- like ambience, with a contemporary flair (not a waterfront venue, however). We would definitely recommend this steak house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carne on Keerom also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Carne on Keerom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing