We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Your home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

QUICK REVIEW: (more detailed version just below)
The Atlantic Affair Boutique Lodge is a small, new and stylish Boutique "Hotel". It's located in a central but quiet sea Point side street.
The Lodge offers a daytime 8 to 8 reception with very nice and helpful staff and private secured onsite parking. all the rooms are stylish and nicely furnished and offer a balcony or terrace. The best you will find of course on the top floor with the Penthouse #301 or room #302 with a private terrace.

DETAILED VERSION:

Hotel:
The Atlantic Affair Boutique Lodge is a nice and small boutique Hotel with a lot of charm and very nice and friendly staff. Everyone is taking very good care of their guests for a great stay.

Location:
The Lodge is located in a central but surprisingly quiet one way side street, just off the busy Regent St. in central Sea Point. It's just a block (1min.) from Cafe Shops, Restaurants and just 2 blocks (2 min.) from Shops and the Sea Point public pool and the Promenade.

Parking:
The Lodge offers limited secured parking within the gated property (7 spots for 12 units), rather narrow but for the usual small rental cars and some parking skills you should be ok. Also free street parking is available.

Rooms:
I got to know the 2 top floor units, room #302 and the Penthouse #301. Both of them have a separate bedroom with a extra large Kingsize bed and a fully equipped kitchen / living room with table chairs and a seating lounge but only a small 22" flat screen TV on the wall ( to small, and there is no TV in the bedroom) and direct access from both rooms to the large private terrace. In the bedroom there is a wardrobe, but inside there is only a rail with 10 hangers, with no shelves or drawers for clothing. You have to empty the nightstand drawers if you want to unpack your suitcase during your holidays, more or better stowage space would be desirable. The Penthouse bathroom has beside the very large all glass shower cabin with a powerful rain shower system also a big bathtub, but also a very stylish looking showroom sink, which is not practical at all to use. ( works as a bird bath)

Views:
Even though all the units have a seaside balcony, only the 2 top floor units with the terrace offer a limited sea view. Penthouse 301 and unit 302.

This and that:
Free wifi; but you have to sign in again, every time you return to the Lodge if you took the phone / tablet or laptop with you.
Daily room service, night guard, separate AC units in living- and bedroom.
Rooms on GF: #1 & 2 / 1F: #101, 102, 103, 104 / 2F: #201, 202, 203, 204 /
3F: #302 & Penthouse 301

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse #301 or slightly smaller unit #302, both on the 3rd floor (top floor) with priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    59
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
172
25
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Just came back and we ran to write this review to give our utmost recommendation !
Had a great time at the Cape and a lot
Of thanks to everyone At Atlantic Boutique!!
Great staff and very clean!
Also great location

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motizemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Located in the bustling area of Sea Point, there is plenty to do and see here, and walkable to the V&A and plenty else, so it's well located.

The rooms where lovely, the showers awesome and we had a fantastic stay.

However the real call out is the staff. Charming, friendly, pleasant and helpful. There was nothing they couldn't do, offer to do, or helpful. Continually went above and beyond my expectations. We were admonished (jovially) early on for not saying it was the first day of our Honeymoon and a box of lovely chocolates and bottle of wine appeared to help us celebrate.

We stayed here on both the first and last night of our honeymoon (travelling down the coast in between) and it was the perfect play to bookend our holiday. They also looked after some luggage for us in between which made a huge difference to making our lives easier.

We both loved the rooms, the huge beds, and the flexibility of having a kitchen. The balcony on the penthouse was wonderful, and the showers really, really nice.

Simply a top stop. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevitzdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Location
------------
The location of the hotel is very good:
- close to handful of good restaurants
- only a 7 minute drive away from the Table Mountain
- 4 minute drive away from Clifton beach
- 5 minute walk away from the Sea

There are many supermarkets, shops, etc available on the main road in easy walking distance

Rooms
----------
The rooms are large and spacious and have everything you'll find in a decent Boutique hotel.
- large and comfortable beds
- nice small kitchenette
- good air conditioning
Everything in the room was very clean and tidy.

Service
------------
the service war exceptionally well:
- friendly and helpful reception and check-in
- good insight and advice into where to go what to see
- happy to help/support during your stay with anything you need

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaverdyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

It's hard to believe anyone can rack up as many five star reviews on TripAdvisor as the Atlantic Affair but in my experience, the reviews are spot on. The staff is exceptionally accommodating. My stay in Cape Town was extended a day at the last minute and when I e-mailed the staff to ask about extending my time at the hotel, I got a response in less than an hour. Initially they apologized and said the room I had for the first night wasn't available the second night so I'd need to move, but by the time I arrived, they'd worked out something so I had one room for both nights, much appreciated. I arrived very late, but the night porter didn't bat an eye, just got us into our room with no fuss. The next day,the concierge was extremely helpful with recommendations for sightseeing, making reservations for dinner and a dozen little tips to make things go smoothly. They are masters of detail at Atlantic Affair - the hotel alone is reason enough to return to Cape Town (not that this beautiful city can lure visitors back on its own). Charming, comfortable and reasonably priced - what more can one ask?

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the ground floor for ease of access and convenience with a lot of baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

This small hotel is well situated in Sea Point only a few hundred meters from the the sea and close to a number of restaurants. The room is spacious and modern with sufficient in-room catering facilities to have most warm-up meals. The staff is friendly and parking is safe. Smoking is allowed on the veranda.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lodged here for two nights during my Capetown excursion. Very nice hotel, not far from local attractions ie Clifton Beach/ Table Mountain. Plenty of restaurants are located nearby as well. Would stay again. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynastamiralmahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Villa Rosa
The Villa Rosa
#21 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#59 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#36 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille ...
#53 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel

Property: Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 Clarens Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the needs of the discerning traveler and located within 1 minute walking distance to the seafront, the hotel offers luxury self-catering accommodation featuring all necessary amenities, minimalistic urban design, simplicity and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing