We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Ranked #41 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My absolute favourite place to stay in Cape Town. From the moment you arrive you feel like family. The reception staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms are equipped with wifi. All amenities are top class.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ayoob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our studio room was a good size and very nicely presented. Lovely shower but no extractor which seemed odd. You need to leave the window open to air the bathroom - not very sensible. Kitchen area is fine for making hot drinks or a very light snack. The room has good air-conditioning. Lovely linen and really big comfortable bed. Balcony did not have a veiw of anything other than parking area and adjoining block but then we did not use it very much at all. Reception staff are very friendly and we were greeted with a most welcome cool drink on check-in. Secure parking and security guard on duty overnight. There are lovely sculptures on display in various parts of the property. Sea Point is well served by the local buses but you need to have a Citi swipe card to use them as they do not accept cash. Area does not have many top end restaurants and it is much nicer to go into the V&A Waterfront in the evening (10 mins on bus on in taxi 60 ZAR). There lido/swimming pool area is only 5 minutes stroll away and beach towels were provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is located towards the far end of Sea Point, just up the road from the Sea Point public swimming pool. There are plenty of nice coffee shops and general stores close-by for breakfast and provisions. It is within a 5 minute walk to a bus stop, where you can get the 104 to the V&A / Aquarium which run about every 20 minutes, and costs less than R7. NOTE. You will need to buy a MyCiti touch card to use the bus, which are quite widely available. If you prefer to use taxis, these cost about R50 from the V&A (R100 to Table Mountain cableway) and reception will recommend a reputable taxi firm who will use their meter.

The Luxury superior suite we had was large, stylish, and very clean. There is a living / kitchen area, a separate bedroom, and a bathroom with a very large walk-in shower. The kitchen is well equipped with a hob, fridge / minibar, microwave, toaster, and a coffee maker – along with all the necessary crockery and cutlery. Both the main rooms are air-conditioned, and even though one day reached 38 degrees, the rooms were always a comfortable temperature. The bed was very comfortable, and the area is quiet, so our sleep quality was good. One note though is that the en-suite bathroom has a frosted glass door. Some could find this a little less than private, and it lets the sunlight stream into the bedroom in the mornings.

Security at the hotel seemed good, with the small reception manned during working hours, and a security guard there at night. Access at night is gained via a keypad controlled gate. The hotel doesn’t have a pool area, so if you want to sunbathe or swim – then you would need to go to the public pool which is just 5 minutes away. Reception is small, but with a very stylish breakfast bar and outside seating where you can have a coffee or other drink from the honour bar they have there.

What sets this hotel apart is the customer service. Before arriving they were happy to correspond with me about an airport pickup, power adaptors (they will supply these), and tours. While there they happily discussed excursions and local amenities with us, and even booked some things for us. After checking out in the morning, they stored our cases till the evening and arranged facilities for us to freshen up before our flight home. In all, we felt very well looked after, and that we were valued guests.

I would certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanticaffair, General Manager at Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Wow!

Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Cape Town:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Atlantic Affair in February 2014 and we were very much impressed by all aspects of out stay. Before we even arrived, staff were amazingly helpful in providing advice and helping to make plans and reservations in Cape Town. The rooms are gorgeous, modern and stylish, while still feeling comfortable and homey. The kitchenette is a great feature. The area in which the hotel is situated is wonderful, with an incredible public pool just down the street, a great and scenic running route nearby and numerous delicious and cool restaurants in the near vicinity. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend Atlantic Affair!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanticaffair, General Manager at Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Sandy,

It was truly a pleasure to have you and your husband here and I am so pleased that we managed to do everything that you had hoped you would.

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our room was on the ground floor so the view is not something to write home about, however just about everything else about this hotel was perfect. A good sized room and good sized bathroom, with all conveniences (from AC to a microwave, to kettle). The receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is great too (less than 5 minutes to be on the promenade), plenty of nice places to eat/drink in the location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor probably have a great view (probably more expensive!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Erding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanticaffair, General Manager at Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Mr Erding,

Many thanks for the lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay:)

Regards
Atlantic Affair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the beach and is in the middle of a sea of all ranges of restaurants and grocery stores. The hotel itself has no kitchen so each room is equipped with a microwave, toaster, kettle, cutlery etc. Very nice. The beds are wonderful - huge and comfortable. Good blackout curtains. What spoiled the hotel for me, however, was the noise. The walls and windows are paper thin - conversations in the corridor, balconies and parking lot are very audible. And the room doors are idiotically designed - they must be pulled shut. This results in slamming doors all hours of the day and night. If you are a light sleeper, this is not the place for you. If the noise is not a concern, everything else is very nice.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible to lessen noise from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Januschka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanticaffair, General Manager at Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to place your comments on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not sleep well during your stay here.

We have made some slight adjustments to the arms of the doors and hopefully this will improve the situation regarding the noise that they make.

We thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Best Regards
Atlantic Affair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Atlantic Affair and it was perfect. It is a "Boutique" hotel, the rooms are very modern and en suites are excellent. it is located in a real living part of Sea Point and only 1 street away from the front. The owner, Natasha, is marvellous and looks after her guests as if they are family (even checking that you have used sunblock before going out in the sun!!). The rooms have tea making gear and a mini kitchen. It was all excellent and we could not have wished for better. (when did you last see an "Honesty Bar" ?

Edmond C

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanticaffair, General Manager at Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Edmund,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

I'm really just a minion here but our team does take customer service very seriously and I am very happy to hear that you think we're marvelous:)

Come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
314 reviews
The Villa Rosa
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
35 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
Craigrownie Guest House
#3 of 7 in Bantry Bay
67 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#42 of 156 in Cape Town Central
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 Clarens Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the needs of the discerning traveler and located within 1 minute walking distance to the seafront, the hotel offers luxury self-catering accommodation featuring all necessary amenities, minimalistic urban design, simplicity and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing