We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This hotel was AWESOME. After a LONG flight we were welcomed by Sandra (manager) & Oliver (owner) who offered us a glass of wine and a few minutes to relax before showing us to our room. The room was spacious, modern, and most important of all comfortable! Next time we go back to Capetown we will definitely be staying at Atlantic Affairs!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

A friend and I stayed here for four nights and we could not be happier with the service, quality, friendly smiles, and value. Our first night, we arrived around 1am and they had someone waiting for us with our room key in hand, no papers to sign, with the TV on the World Cup. Conveniently located just meters from the beach and around the corner, an amazing coffee shop, a great breakfast place inside of an old fishing barge, and a sushi place open late.

The room is complete with everything you need to prepare a small meal and the 'honesty' bar in the lobby is always a good decision. We had a late flight out on our last day and the staff let us check out but keep the room to relax until it was time to depart. Other hotels would have put us on the street at 11am but we kicked it until 9pm without any extra charge.

The location is a bit of a distance from downtown Cape Town but a quick ride on the mini bus for just R5 from Reagent Street will easily solve that problem. No need for expensive taxis if you don't mind sharing your space with a few locals on the mini buses here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blazinred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I stayed here with a friend for two nights after reading the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. We travel together frequently all over the world and stay exclusively at high end hotels, and Atlantic Affair is definitely among the best quality and value for our money we've ever stayed at. We wanted to stay close to a friend who lived in Sea Point, and were deciding between Atlantic Affair and Protea Hotel President; this was a perfect solution. We arrived and upon our request, the manager upgraded us free of charge from a standard room to a junior suite, and took the time to walk us through the two junior suites available so we could decide for ourselves which one we liked better. We were overwhelmed with how great the suite was; we had a huge terrace with an ocean view and comfy lounge chairs. The suite was spotless and in brand new condition, with great design and a very comfortable bed. Our every need was personally cared for by the manager, who was always helpful and with a smile on her face. This is the kind of service that can only be expected at a smaller, quality establishment. We really enjoyed the open drink bar downstairs, which offered unlimited beverages free of charge. When we returned from a day of touring, we were pleasantly surprised to see that housekeeping went way beyond what housekeeping would do at a standard chain; our clothes were folded, suitcases were stowed, and our toiletries were neatened up. What a treat. While there is no in-house restaurant /room service, there are tea/coffee facilities in the room (as well as a full kitchen in the junior suite), and there is a great little shop called NY Bagels around the corner, which is a quality deli that offers take out and sit down breakfast food. The only thing to note is that reception closes at 8pm, so if you return after 8pm, you are given a clicker for an electronic gate to let yourself back in and there is a security guard posted outside. A little unorthodox for a hotel, but this is more of a high end guest house. Sea Point can be a little touch-and-go at night so this gave us pause as two women, but we were fine.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
Thank GoingtoIceland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of April. Excellent Room, secure parking and so easy to get to Cape Town's many attractions. Staff very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbpop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Hotel & Staff were awsome! Great location, great room. Will definatley be top of the list next time I return to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonchatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We stayed at the Atlantic Affair for 6 nights for a holiday in the Western Cape. Our over-all experience was very positive, except for the fact that there was not enough hot water for the shower to last two people. I brought this to reception’s attention and was promised an upgrade; however we went out for the day and have not heard anything since. This however seems to be an isolated problem and the rest of the hotel experience dwarfs this minor inconvenience. Excellent room facilities include a kitchenette with microwave, mini-bar, digital safe and excellent cleaning service. Wireless internet worked well on one Laptop (Acer with Windows 7) but intermittently on the other (Dell Studio with Vista). 15 minutes away from V&A Waterfront (by car).

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fexteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanticaffair, The Hotel Director at Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2010

Dear Mr Eksteen,

We have read your comments on Trip Advisor for which we thank you. There is one disturbing feature in respect of which an employee was reprimanded. This relates to the PROMISE made by the employee to upgrade you which it appears was not done. We consider this in a most serious light and the necessary steps to deal with the matter were taken against the employee involved. Our motto is that we are not doing our guests a favour by serving them but instead our guests are doing us a favour by giving us the opportunity to do so.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We sincerely hope that should you again visit Cape Town you will stay at Atlantic Affair again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Powell
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

My husband and I spent a week at the Atlantic Affair while visiting Cape Town. It is a beautiful boutique hotel. We stayed in a suite (a small price upgrade from a regular room). It was HUGE! Everything was wonderful - comfortable beds, very very clean, stocked with everything you need, fabulous staff, great location. It is in a bit of a quieter area of town but it is also central between the busier downtown and the beaches. It was perfect for us as we wanted to explore everything Cape Town and the surrounding areas had. Housekeeping was the best I have ever experienced. We loved everything about this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveIt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.4 mi away
The Verge Aparthotel
The Verge Aparthotel
#135 of 203 in Cape Town
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#116 of 203 in Cape Town
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
571 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 Clarens Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £67 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the needs of the discerning traveler and located within 1 minute walking distance to the seafront, the hotel offers luxury self-catering accommodation featuring all necessary amenities, minimalistic urban design, simplicity and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing