We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff - friendly, knowledgeable and especially welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Ranked #41 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Everything has been said in other reviews about this hotel - and I can only confirm the positive remarks. It's nevertheless worth highlighting the great staff at reception, who were very warm, friendly and enthusiastic. They were like friends we enjoyed catching up with in the morning or after a busy day (which they usually helped organize). I'd go back just to see them. And finally, how many hotels have you been to where the owner invites you to dinner?

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB_in_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

Let me start out with, I am not a high maintenance guy, but I really do appreciate great service and I love boutique Hotels. My wife and I traveled to Cape Town,Kruger and J-Burg for our Honeymoon and Cape Town was our final stop. Natasha had a car waiting for us, she had helped me setup a romantic Valentines Dinner, arranged for an amazing bouqet of flowers to suprise my wife, and I hadnt even reached the hotel yet! To say that I was impressed is an understatement. The hotel was beautiful, our room had champagne waiting in it. Everything in the room was first class, heated towel racks,fully stocked bar and a cool kitchenette set. Comfy bathrobes,slippers, I mean did we really have to leave to go home. Thank you so much for everything Natasha, we had the time of our lives! If you are heading to Cape Town, stay in the cool neighborhood of Sea Point, and you have to stay at the Atlantic Affaic Boutique, you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclebrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Didn't expect it to be perfect, but this is what it was. Have stayed in numerous different small hotels/boutique hotels in South africa, but this stands out from the rest. Great service, great location, friendly environment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

You could have an affair with the 12 room Atlantic Affair. The sort of place you don't want to leave. Situated in Sea point close to Cape Town and only a few minutes to the beach and surrounded by plenty of shops and restaurants. From the moment you step into the modern reception area you are made to feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble for the great team of staff. Our room, suite 101 on the first floor was perfect, spotlessly clean, spacious and with the largest double bed you have ever seen. and flat screen tv. The furnishings and the fittings were only the best. Oliver the owner has really gone to town on this boutique hotel. They do not have breakfast facilities but there is a deli and other breakfast places just around the corner. If you want to stay in Sea Point don't even think of going anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharpey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

A welcoming hotel and staff....very knowledgeable and seemed to genuinely want our entire Cape experience to be amazing! From taking care of renting a car for us, making restaurant reservations to simple extra amenities, we felt very taken care of. We had a lot of interaction with Natasha who was just a beautiful person, inside and out....made for such a lovely experience. The hotel had a fabulous local. As first-timers from the States, we were so impressed! Thank you! Jennifer and Alex

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The hotel is very nice and the location good, not right on the front but up a side street. As long as you don't expect to be on the sea and do expect to be very close to Downtown then its fine.

The big advantage here for us was the staff as others have said. They are all welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. In a world of standard hotels and inpersonnel service this small hotel stands out.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxman266a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed with a friend at Atlantic Affair (AA) for 5 very enjoyable days in mid-January 2011 before moving to a hotel in another Cape Town suburb for a conference. AA surpassed our expectations! Wonderful welcome drinks, all-day capuccinos, honesty bar, and bright, spacious reception area. We can confirm what other reviewers have previously reported (on which basis we had chosen to stay at AA in the first place, plus the very reasonable price). The hotel common areas and rooms are squeaky clean, ultra modern, very well appointed; the rooms are bright, roomy, and everything seems very new and pristine; rooms offer every convenience (kitchenette, fridge, small dining table, utensils/dishes, microwave, mini-bar, and beautiful beddings, wonderful shower, AC, etc). The very friendly and helpful staff (Natasha, Cindy, Sandra, housekeepers and night watchman) and owner (Oliver) couldn't have been kinder, more thoughtful, or more accommodating (even indulgent)! Guests staying five nights or longer are in for extra treats and we thank Oliver and the reception staff for those wonderful provisions! But no matter the length of stay, this is a wonderful, safe place to spend time and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others. (I'd request an upper floor, if available, because it would be a bit brighter--more sky visible through the two bedside windows--than our main-floor room--but we had booked the least expensive category of room. The room itself was delightful though and very airy and comfortable with a lot of effective interior lighting). Having the use of a local cell phone while there, courtesy of the hotel, and also a laptop (because we could never get our wireless email/internet to work on our own two laptops unfortunately, though we could at two other hotels where we subsequently stayed in other suburbs) was also extremely helpful. We also really enjoyed being able to walk along the Sea Point beach promenade during the day and evening with lots of other area residents, feeling safe and invigorated! Evenings we could find interesting, reasonable places nearby to eat as well and felt quite safe. The promenade and Sea Point district reminded me of Santa Monica, California, with the added beauty of the Cape Town mountain backdrop. The red hop-on, hop-off bus stops very close to the hotel, which is another convenience and a great way to see the city/coast/leafy suburbs if you haven't rented a car or booked a tour. We didn't swim in the large heated salt-water pool at the beach (1 block away) but saw many others swimming there. We also met some other AA guests, thanks to Oliver's generous hospitality at a dinner one evening, and that made our stay even more memorable and fun! Some of the other guests were regular guests at AA (both current or ex-South African residents and from other parts of the world) and had wonderful stories to share. We didn't rent a car, as many other guests had, but Sea Point was not as far from downtown or other neighbourhoods as I'd expected. (About R 60 or less than $10 from the Waterfront by taxi one afternoon--after dark it's more expensive apparently.) Our big thanks to everyone at Atlantic Affair for their wonderful hospitality! We have very fond memories of Cape Town and AA was one of the reasons for that. It's an excellent boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian10142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
314 reviews
The Villa Rosa
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
34 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
Craigrownie Guest House
#3 of 7 in Bantry Bay
67 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#42 of 156 in Cape Town Central
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 Clarens Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the needs of the discerning traveler and located within 1 minute walking distance to the seafront, the hotel offers luxury self-catering accommodation featuring all necessary amenities, minimalistic urban design, simplicity and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing