We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave the Waterfront Craft shops and Galleries and come here instead”
Review of MonteBello

MonteBello
Ranked #432 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Chailey, Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Leave the Waterfront Craft shops and Galleries and come here instead”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a lovely lovely place. There's a great bead jewellery shop, an art gallery where two artists and on site sometimes. There work is well worth going to see. One artist has some of her work printed on to canvas, the colour match to the original is very very close. I bought one as it was a very affordable way of buying a picture and I could roll up into a tube to bring back to the UK.
There's also a great craft shop with some unusual homewares stuff for sale. Wish I could have found a way of buying the antelopes head made out of tiny pieces of tin cans woven together, but couldn't get it home.
Beyond the artists studio is an outdoor area where people are making all sorts of sculptures out of wood.
Whilst visiting here you can eat or just have coffee at the Gardeners Restaurant. Plenty of tree cover to park under and sit under if its a hot day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joannahands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great local crafts”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is the place to find unique local pieces at good prices. Set aside some time to look at everything. I often find my christmas presents here, and its generally not crowded.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere and delicious food!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I visited Montebello in winter season. Even though it was chilly the African themed restaurant was warm and had blankets and heaters. They also provided a little free taster of soup! I had a vegetarian wrap which was so delicious. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful, there are little craft and gift shops around with lovely items. A lovely experience, I will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh. Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crafts, gardens, great food, good prices”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

A family brunch with a couple of small kids - we loved this friendly restaurant. The setting is lovely, amongst tress and gardens, great for kids to run about. It would have been great to sit at one of the tables outside but as May is the beginning of winter in Cape Town and mornings can be chilly, we elected to move inside instead. We had our own little room in the Gardeners Cottage, perfect for keeping the littlest one in one place!
Lovely egg and bacon, eggs benedict, omelettes, great coffee and juices, we really enjoyed it.
After our meal we went to the craft centre where we all bought lots of souvenirs and were very impressed by the extraordinary creativity! Great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Musicaltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breakfast to break all fasts”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We've been firm believers in starting the day with a good breakfast and there is nothing like Montebello. Simple but sumptuous. Marvellous omelettes, traditional bacon and eggs (with real toast!) and marmalade or something more sedate if you wish. Sit outside under the tree and the morning will start well! But book early to avoid disappointment. Lunch is also very good if you have the time to linger. Crafts shop on site to boot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TakenForARide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MonteBello also viewed

 
Claremont, Cape Town
 

Been to MonteBello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing