We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Ferrymans Tavern

Ferrymans Tavern
Ranked #96 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good value and good selection of food served. Had a steak and a beer for a 100 rand. Service good. Very clean tidy and a safe place to eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    256
    119
    38
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, SA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice vibe”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice vibe and a value for money menu. Being a tavern some guests can get rowdy, but generally never had a bad experience. Their beer selection is extensive with something for everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome vibe”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have been there a few times this week and it has been just great. staff are freindly and the live music is great. it gets really busy now with the world cup and its just a great vibe. I saw a manager dealing with a difficult table in the week and this guy just calmy sorted the problem out very professional. steaks are really good and selection of beers will blow your mind. see you guys next time i am in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul2cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
210 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent combo of location, service, and vibe”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've been to Ferrymans in the V&A Waterfront several times, the most recent on 07 June 2014. A friend from Germany wanted to go to the Waterfront and then wanted a beer. I recommended Ferrymans, and they lived up to their fantastic reputation again!

The vibe is great. They play CD / MP3 and also have live music, so there's a great balance. And the selection is really very good.

We had only a couple of beers, no food this time, but from memory and from what I saw from other patrons, the food is great.

The service, as usual, is friendly and prompt, although the first beer took a while between ordering and arriving. I do recommend their in-house brew, Foresters.

And of course, at that location it's perfectly poised for people watching! And, you can take the children, too. They're child-friendly.

Just please arrive early for lunch, by 12h30 they're packed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianInAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Aweful”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As a Capetonian... My husband and I hadn't been to this establishment in years! Way back when, there used to be a separate menu for the bar (downstairs) and the restaurant (upstIairs)... It would seem this is no longer the case! We ordered a Spanakopita starter which was average.. A bit tough and oily, but we passed it off! When it came to the mains.... It was just horrible.... My husband and I love sharing food so we ordered a rump steak (rare) and a rack of pork ribs... The food arrived cold and the steak, medium... We sent the steak back and were approached by a Manager called Mike Forrester who insisted that a medium steak is a rare steak according to the chef! Eventually he agreed to change the steak for us. We asked that the ribs taken back so that we have a full meal of hot food. A new steak arrived which was to our satisfaction, however the ribs had been warmed up and had got tough in the process together with the vegetables! Mike Forrester was again called over and simply looked at us as if we were mad! All he could say was that he would remove the ribs from our bill? No sorry, can I sort this out, nothing! Came home and made a toasted sandwich for supper! Shocking service and shocking attitude!!! Never again!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nintjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferrymans Tavern also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Ferrymans Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing