We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing way to bring in New Years” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferrymans Tavern

Ferrymans Tavern
Ranked #102 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
642 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Disappointing way to bring in New Years”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

In Cape Town for two weeks over the Xmas/New Years period, had drinks at this place and seemed like a great spot so we made a booking 10 people for New Years Eve. We turned up at 8 that night and initially they couldn't find our booking but was quickly solved and we were seated upstairs for dinner. Upstairs area is very quiet and removed from the atmosphere downstairs so we were hoping we'd be able to get a few hours downstairs to see in the New Year. Despite it being a set menu and not many people there, the food took forever and the drinks services as terrible. You sobered up between drinks it took so long and the food was average at best when it came out. Very similar comments from hose seated around us. Dessert only came out at 1130, after being seated there since 8! We left the desserts and tried to sort out bill. We made our disappointment known and still they wanted a tip! Luckily we had a South African lad with us and he made it clear it wasn't going to happen! The downstairs bar area seems good, but our New Years dinner with a group that had travelled all the way from Aus was terrible. Luckily just made the fireworks with minutes to spare. Improvement needed at this place!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Granules2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    237
    112
    33
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good beer but below par food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were attracted to Fishermans by the menu, specifically the prospect of a curry. I do not think I have had a lamb curry like it, full of bones and fatty meat and padded out with potato. The chicken curry was not much better. Other diners seemed to be enjoying their steak/chips type fare so perhaps we chose badly, but they were poor offerings. The beer was good and the surroundings average for a pub. There are better restaurants close by in the V&A so perhaps this venue is the place for a good drink only.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucie243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good value and good selection of food served. Had a steak and a beer for a 100 rand. Service good. Very clean tidy and a safe place to eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, SA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice vibe and a value for money menu. Being a tavern some guests can get rowdy, but generally never had a bad experience. Their beer selection is extensive with something for everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have been there a few times this week and it has been just great. staff are freindly and the live music is great. it gets really busy now with the world cup and its just a great vibe. I saw a manager dealing with a difficult table in the week and this guy just calmy sorted the problem out very professional. steaks are really good and selection of beers will blow your mind. see you guys next time i am in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul2cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferrymans Tavern also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ferrymans Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing