We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food at affordable prices”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Hudson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine food at affordable prices”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have been to this restaurant on so many occasions and have never been disappointed. The format is simple - fish dishes and a meat dish make up the majority of the menu (and the only things I and most of my guests have tried so far) and can be ordered in different preparation styles (Cajun, for example is my fave). Jane will let you know all the different type of fish that are available, and the preparation methods available for that day in addition to those shown in the menu. All the fish is fresh, and the beef rump is tender and perfectly prepared.

There is a healthy, but not exhaustive selection of wines on the blackboard.

Desserts also vary - if they have the Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake, you cannot go wrong.

Laid back and easygoing atmosphere - does get noisy when it is full up, which is basically every night.

Reserve early.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudson_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    356
    91
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Funky and fresh”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stellar bistro-like dining where the creative team truly love to showcase fish. Make sure you have reservations, as this place is packed. Selections change daily, and be prepared for tight quarters. Worth every morsel, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDiva07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Possibly the best fish in the southern hemisphere”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Everything about Miller's is simply wonderful - the service is friendly , the food simply amazing (try the Malay Carpenter)

Just wish there was somewhere like it here in SE London

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank adamandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance and Great Food”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Since my first choice restaurant could not get us a seating, I deceided to go with the recommendations of Rosedene management. And I am glad I listened. Very fresh food, well presented and excellant. Superb recommendations by the owner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sellappa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Many people informed us that this was the place to be! It was a busy night and we arrived late. The menu was read out so fast that we had no idea if they were talking about dessert or starters. Staff were tooo efficient for our liking. Plates were removed while still eating your last mouthful. As foreigners I found it really disappointing and that the staff did not pick-up this and slow down! It was a continual fast track experience which is not my cuppa tea! Disappointing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing