We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude service - wont ever go back”
Review of Buzbey Grill

Buzbey Grill
Ranked #169 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude service - wont ever go back”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went with a bunch of friends to this grill and we were forced to sit at a table in the middle of the restaurant, when we asked to be moved we told by the waiter :"cant you see the reserved sign on the tables" unless someone has specially requested the corner table with the same amount of guests, there is not reason why they could not move us as the restaurant was empty. The menus were thrown on the table in front of us, and we felt in the way as the waiter asked someone at our table to move because he needed to pass. We were so shocked by this that we eventually upped and left without ordering anything.

Will not be going back there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    54
    11
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The best steak around”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful evening we had at the grill. No frills place with good service, nice wine list and amazing food. The meat is simply superb and that is the main reason why this restaurant is one of the oldest in Cape Town. Well worth the visit. But please make a reservation. They are constantly full of locals. Which is always a good sign.

Helpful?
1 Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best steaks in town”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Jimmy Kyritsis can be relied upon to cook you the best steak in town ! Ever consistant ,this unpretentious restaurant offers good value for money,efficient service,a good wine list and delicious food.We decided to try his sirloin which was flavoursome,tender and a more than substantial portion. The presentation is simple but honest and there is safe parking on the square opposite the restaurant.I would suggest booking as this little gem is popular with the locals and tourists alike - and we will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent steakhouse”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Jimmy has been running this establishment for an eternity ( about 40 years ) . It is an old fashioned steakhouse that is ultra consistent. Great food , 70s music , unfashionable , good prices and quiet and efficient service. What more can one ask for on a cold winter's night?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We found this place quite by accident as we wandered down the hill from our B&B on foot - and we are so happy we did. Our dinner there was wonderful and quite inexpensive for us Americans. We were told as we walked in that there would probably be a wait for our dinner as a large party had just arrived and would be ordering ahead of us - but we were invited to sit at our table and have wine and appetizers while we waited. And that's what we did. This is a fun place - ambiance is very nice - intimate - a relatively small place - and popular with the locals. A good sign for us tourists. It was completely jammed - but not overly noisy or unpleasant. The menu offers variety without being overly complex or fancy.

We started with a bottle of SA red wine and two bowls of mushroom soup which were excellent. Then onto the 'grill' portion of our meal with two wonderful filet mignons. Perfectly cooked, and served with baked potato, and stir fried veggies. Jimmy - the Greek owner - knows how to cook his meats - yummy. After our main course we enjoyed a couple of small after dinner dessert/milk shake with liqueur that was unusual and very good. We decided we wanted to try that at home.

If you are hankering for an excellent hunk of meat in a fun place - this is it! BTW - total cost in US$ for this was $61. This would have been at least $150 in most restaurants in the US.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buzbey Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Buzbey Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing