We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very difficult to top Arnold's! ”

Arnold's Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 1,225 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open from 06:45 till late Mon to Fri and 08:00 till late Sat & Sun, open every day.
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here a few weeks ago. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. I had the Arnold's special prawn cocktail to start which is the best I've had anywhere and the fillet steak main was just perfect; all washed down with 2 bottles of Survignon Blanc! At about £5 a bottle who cares?! A lovely relaxed atmosphere, great food and very good value. Very hard to go wrong.

Thank Similians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Similians
thank you for visiting Arnolds recently.
The staff and I are very please that you rate our restaurant, food and service very highly.
that is fantastic and very rewarding to all of us.
We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in the not too distant future
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 389 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

We first came across this restaurant in 2005 and every time we come to Cape Town we make a beeline for Arnold's. For us this is the best restaurant in Cape Town. It serves great breakfasts, up until about 2 pm, and they are very popular. But we usually come here for lunch. We like to make the most of the game food whilst we are in South Africa (we cannot get it at home) and I think we have tried everything on the menu that involves game meat, from ostrich burgers to the game platter. The portion size has gotten a little smaller and the presentation a little more chefy but it is still fantastic. If you just want a snack the salads are great and for those more hungry the Game Platter fits the bill. The menu is not huge but you can always find something delicious, well cooked and good value for the money. The staff are delightful and provide a great service. Once you have your table you are never pushed to leave - take as long as you like. It will always be our favorite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidaymad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear holidaymad12
thank you for the elaborate review on Arnolds. It is great to have you coming back to us for 9 years now and that we have not disappointed. The staff and I try hard to keep up our standards and keep the menu in line with what customers want in cape Town.
We hope to see you many more times in the future and wish you safe holidays where-ever you go.
Kind regards
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Wonderful food, great atmosphere, good wines and very helpful staff.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this restuarant

Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Iain G
thank you for recommending Arnolds to other diners in Cape Town.
Our staff and I always appreciate it when customers such as you are happy and keep coming back for more.
Kind regards
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We ate at Arnold's quite a bit during our time in Cape Town. Every meal was delicious. Especially enjoyed the ostrich burger and taste of Africa. Great service from friends folks happy to see you and make your dining experience enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear David V
The staff and I are very glad that you enjoyed our service and food here at Arnolds.
It is always a pleasure to hear that folks keep coming back while they visit Cape Town.
We wish you safe travels in our country.
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Despite only being in Cape Town for a few days we ended up going here twice ... simply because it is very good.

I love fine dining .. and this isn't fine dining. But it is honest food at reasonable prices and the staff were very professional.

My only suggestion is not to sit near the back wall as it gets very warm.

Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear CustomerConsultant
Many thanks for visiting us more than once during your stay in Cape Town. We appreciate that we are not fine dining, we are not trying to be. Good hones food at affordable prices, just as you say.
We hope to see you soon again.
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arnold's Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Arnold's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing