We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was superb at this hotel”
Review of New Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Kings Hotel
Ranked #72 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I recently strayed at this hotel for 7nights during my visit to Cape town on a management training with AHLE-X. My experience in Cape town was nice and unforgettable. The rooms in this hotel is very nice and clean. I really enjoyed the natural breeze into my room, as it was just by the sea point.

Breakfast was good, but it was the same everyday. I had to check-in myself as they didn't have any concierge to help me with my luggage. Check-out was also the same. The environment was lovely, with Spar and other shopping area. I will surely come back to this hotel with my family. Overall, this hotel is very nice and the location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicwan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were just wondering what a hotel would cost in Sea Point for an evening and we stumbled upon this little gem, within a 2 minute stroll of Cape Town's best restaurant La Mouette. The hotel has been wonderfully refurbished, the rooms are spacious clean well equipped with large comfortable beds. We paid 660Zar for the room inclusive of breakfast, doubt if they will have these prices for long but it was well worth the money. All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed there for our holidays for 1 week to celebrate our 5th Anniversary!
For the first 2 nights our AC (for hot air) was not working, and we were really cold! we ask them to come and check and after 2 days they decide to change our room cause it was going to take a long time to be able to fix it.
We were so glad to change rooms! Our first room was great, the only problem was the heater. But our second room was even greater than the first one!
Really comfortable bed, big room, wonderful bathtub and a great view from both ocean and mountain!
Breakfast was really good and the ladies serving the breakfast there were really nice!
We had free WIFI and it was working really good.
All the staff at the hotel were really nice and helpful when we need anything.
We had free parking.
The only thing that I would like to see is more options for room service.
We really want to come to Cape Town and stay at New Kings again!

Room Tip: We stayed at the 5th floor, choose a room further from the elevator for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaVaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed late August - 2 adults and a 1.5 year old. Rate paid was ~800ZAR per night including breakfast, WiFi and Parking. Excellent value.

When we arrived about 2130 the booking sent to New Kings from Hotels.com only had us down as 2 adults (even though the confirmation through that site showed 2 adults and a 1 year old...). This was our first introduction to how organised, efficient and interested the staff at this hotel are: within the time it took to check in, they'd rustled up a cot and took it up to the room, so as we arrived all was perfect.
Nice, new and quite spacious room on the 4th floor with plenty of floor space for the little tacker to toddle about when he wasn't sleeping. All mod cons including strong, consistent, free WiFi and windows that opened to let in the sea breeze.
Free undercover and manned parking area downstairs which was fine for us as we arrived late on the first night and then returned each day usually after 1900 when out sight-seeing. I mention this as a the car-park is used by shoppers during the day and there generally weren't free spaces between about 0830 and 1730 as the shoppers came and went.
In the 'Piazza' below the hotel are two supermarkets (Woolworths and Spar), coffee shop, sandwich shop, hairdressers, medical specialists, Thai/Asian restaurant, ATMs etc. Quite a nice little contained shopping area that is close at hand but doesn't create any noise or other downsides for the hotel.
Breakfast - Brilliant. Cereal, plenty of fruit, coffee, teas, cooked breakfast items (eggs, sausages, bacon, tomato, potato, mushrooms), pastries, toast, and all sorts of continental cold items and cheeses too. Breakfast was included in our rate.
The Sea Point area was nice whether walking about either down along the shore or along Regent Street to the various shops and restaurants. We had a car as we were heading out each day to see various sights around the Cape Town area and it was fine as a centrally located base. It's not in the 'city centre' but unless you need to be there for walking distance to business, why would you want to be?
All the staff at the hotel and in fact in the 'Piazza' were excellent.
Only reason this review isn't rated higher is becasue I can't award 4.5 out of 5 (which is what I would have done) and because the entry doors to the rooms do allow a little noise in from the corridor. The hotel could fix this by adding more soft furnishing to the hallways to absorb noise and potentially changing the room entry doors. It was only an issue when other guests infrequently let their doors slam or decided to have conversations in the hallway. It's a minor issue to an otherwise excellent acommodation choice.
If we're ever in Cape Town again I'd return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor faced toward the seafront so we had partial views of the ocean, but that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NTIcedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Excellent location in Sea Point in Cape Town. Close to the seafront, shops and short travelling time by car into the city centre. Recently renovated accommodation which is smart and attractive. The rooms are well equipped and spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

IT's odd that the hotel starts on the 2nd floor - but the convenient location and local amenities trumps.
Rooms are spacious - shower and toilet in great condition.
Breakfast - no hot eggs - so doesn't cater hot breakfast for those who do not eat pork - but at the value for money price per night - I was happy with the cereals, fruit and toast.
On the ground floor is Woolies, Spar , and restaurants. That's just int he same building!
Outside there are very nice resturants close by.
Will definitely be going back - convenient location and necessary amenities for a work trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeszn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice room, excellent service, central location. Buffet breakfast catered for all tastes. Walking distance of the beach front. Car parking in building. Taxi can be arranged by reception staff if required. Laundry and dry-cleaning service available or just around the corner if you prefer to diy!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flutesdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#112 of 203 in Cape Town
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#67 of 112 in Cape Town Central
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kings Hotel

Address: Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £59 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kings Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing