We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgrace.”
Review of Antrim Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antrim Villa
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I booked the Antrim Villa for the last two nights of a two-week holiday in February 2014. Despite making the booking in December, we were contacted four days prior to our stay was due to start saying that the hotel could no longer service our reservation as they had "overbooked". The time of our holiday was at one of the busiest times of the year and it was very difficult to find somewhere else to stay. I had to spend considerable time on the telephone (on my UK phone whilst in South Africa, costing a fortune) and internet trying to find an alternative so we were not stranded!

No apology, no compensation offered and no reasonable alternative suggested (the closest was 25 miles away as there was no availability).

It is a real shame as the reviews on tripadvisor are exceptional and I am sure we would have enjoyed our stay at Antrim but the fact this can happen and they treat potential customers in such a way is, quite frankly, a disgrace.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear about your situation. We are not sure which website you have booked through; the booking did not appear to have been made via the Antrim Villa website. Normally the understanding we have with third party websites is that if in case we are overbooked, we always make provision for an alternative place to stay, which we inform the website about well in advance of the guest’s arrival day. Unfortunately we have no control of when the websites in turn contact the guest.

We always treat all our guests fairly and this kind of behaviour definitely does not reflect the service policy we have at Antrim Villa. As compensation, although we do not know that we were guilty of this situation, would be to grant you a complimentary night’s at Antrim Villa for your next visit in Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Joy Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Antrim Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Antrim Villa! Antrim villa really is a hidden oasis in the vibrant city of Cape town. It's a relaxing place where you can enjoy yourself either by the beautiful poolside, in the well decorated rooms or in the common dining room. The breakfast is great and the staff is friendly. Antrim villa felt like a home because of the intimicy of only a few rooms and that it was centered among the dining room, not a reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the beautiful review. We really do our best to keep our guests happy and satisfied. Hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Antrim Villa is a calm and safe place to stay at. There are only eight separate rooms and one room for breakfast or evening tea. It is a familiar place where you get a very fresh breakfast. You can have a relaxing time in front of the swimming pool .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rutan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the kind words. Short and sweet :-) Hope to have you back at Antrim Villa in the near future.

Best Regards
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

So glad we found Antrim Villa. Met such fascinating people in the common room--we learned about life on offshore oil rigs and the state of psychiatric health care in Germany. Everyone was so friendly, both guests and hotel workers. The staff made every effort to help us enjoy our time in Capetown. Antrim Villa is well situated We walked to and from the waterfront. Wonderful, filling breakfast cooked to order. The hotel's Scandinavian decor was elegant and the entire place was spotless. And it cost so much less than the big box, cookie-cutter hotels nearby! Capetown is a long ways away from the US, but we will definitely stay there again if we return.

Room Tip: Every room seemed well situated
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here with us at Antrim Villa. Our aim was to create the feeling of a home away from home and reading all the reviews confirms that we have managed just that. Thanks very much for the positive review. Hope to have you back at Antrim Villa very soon.

Best Regards
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Calm and cosy place with a beautiful atmosphere! The Staff is so nice, and the breakfast is very good. Big pluss for the Trust Bar where you can get something to drink and just leave some money. Perfect base to go everywere.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms by the pool
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tone s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the kind words. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Antrim Villa is an old house, lovingly renovated back to its former glory, and with modern touches such as the crystal blue pool. The inside is a dream of Afro-Scandinavian design; minimalistic with whitewashed walls and muted earth colours, intercepted by African artifacts and modern glass tiles. The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet fresh and healthy, and the honesty bar well-stocked. The location is perfect, both for morning walks along the Atlantic seabord, shopping-sprees at the V&A Waterfront and dinners in town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_Mancama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Kat,

Thanks very much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you have once again enjoyed your stay at Antrim Villa. We as the staff take pride in ensuring our guests are comfortable and well looked after. Hope to welcome you back to Antrim Villa very soon.

Best Regards
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Villa Antrim is in the middle of a nice and relaxed neighborhood on the Seapoint/ Greenpoint side of Cape Town, though only a short taxi ride to CBD (e.g. Kloofstreet) and also easy connections to Camps Bay. Waterkant would be a 15 min walk and the seafront only a 5-10 min walk. The house is beautifully decorated in Swedish style (white) and I have seen a few rooms, of which 4 was my absolute favorite. The rooms closest to the kitchen get some noise in the morning. Breakfast is served in the kitchen where you can choose from fresh products (think homemade bread and muffins). Tea, coffee and fruits you can get all day and there is a fridge with other drinks that you tick on a paper to pay for it when you leave. Villa Antrim has very friendly staff that is always willing to help. The whole atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed. When you're traveling alone it is very easy to meet other people at breakfast. The garden has a nice pool and chairs surrounded by leafy trees so that you can relax in the sun or shade. Everything has been taken care of with great detail. Antrim Villa has their own driver that can pick you up from the airport or take you to any restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 4 or the rooms downstairs are best (facing the garden and pool thus more quiet)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holandesa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. A very big Thank you from all the staff at Antrim Villa for your positive review. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The One 8 Hotel
#51 of 111 in Cape Town Central
267 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 111 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#19 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,848 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antrim Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim Villa

Address: 12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £66 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antrim Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antrim Villa is a wonderful old house built in the late 1800s. Its charm comes from the Victorian style with high ceilings, well kept stuccos, and the original pine flooring. The Villa’s style is Afro Scandinavian accentuated with materials like sisal, bamboo and linen. Therefore the interior has a neutral organic colour palette. The serene garden with sun beds, citrus trees holds a large blue saltwater pool.The house is located in Green Point, a 5 minute walk to the beach promenade and a 15 minute walk to the new stadium. The Villa has two types of rooms; standard rooms and luxury rooms. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, safes, fans and heaters. The luxury rooms have iPod docking stations and mini-fridges as well.Among the guesthouse amenities guests will find free Internet access at a working station with a laptop and printer and a honesty bar. Wireless internet is free. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh fruit are complimentary and can be enjoyed at all times. Antrim Villa is certified with Fairtrade in Tourism South Africa and a member of Cape Town Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antrim Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing