We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antrim Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antrim Villa
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coming home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Yes it's true, I've been to Antrim Villa again and I loved it. It's like coming home. The staff even remembered my name and little things like that makes a huge difference. Maureen even said she missed me and that made me realize I missed her, the rest of the staff and the tranquillity of this very beautiful and relaxed guest house in the middle of Green Point. Around the corner is everything I love about Cape Town and yet it feels like being away from the city once I'm inside the gate. It's close to the V&A Waterfront, the bustling Sea Point with the marvellous restaurant La Boheme, the promenade along the Atlantic, the Stadium, the gym etc etc. I've been to a lot of places in South Africa but when I travel I always look for new places to stay. Except for when I'm coming back to Cape Town, then I just have to go back to Antrim. That's how great it is :-) If you haven't been there, try it.

Room Tip: I love the ones by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the wonderful review. That is exactly the experience the owner wanted to create at Antrim Villa, that homely feeling. We are delighted that we could make you feel that way and looking forward to having you back again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    113
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
169
58
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Antrim Villa is a lovely base in Capetown. Beautifully decorated, warm and helpful staff, comfortable beds and a very relaxing little garden. I especially appriciated the closeness to the sea, taking morning walks before breakfast, what a treat! And then after, a coffee and a chat with locals at Giovanni´s...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We take pride in making sure that our guests are happy and well looked after. Looking forward to having you with us again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Antrim made an all round positive impression. The location (Green Point) is convenient, not in the bustling centre but not in the touristic ghetto either. It is within walking distance to the V&A waterfront and the centre (15 / 20min), but if you feel unsafe (e.g. at night) it's only a short taxi ride away (from the waterfront less than 20ZAR).
The rooms are spotless, well furbished and spacious. The same goes for the bathroom, which is furthermore good equipped.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and will answer your questions with a smile - from the manager to the cleaning lady and night guard.
The breakfast choices are good and wide, served in a pleasant common room. Beverages and food are also available for purchase 24/7 at a very reasonable price.
The room rates are a notch above average, but worth every cent of it.
This is definitely a good choice when staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaTareco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It makes us very happy to read such a wonderful review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much once again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the villa in January 2014 and were delighted by the atmosphere and location. Not too far from the Waterfront but in a very quiet and restful area. Our room was rather small but charming and very well planned. The staff at Antrim was extremely friendly and helpful and you really feel at home with them and the other guests. Like in some other guesthouses that we visited in the Cape province the pool area is a bit cramped but still very nice. Altogether a delightful place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. Hoping to welcome you back at Antrim Villa very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I decided to surprise my husband with a trip to Cape Town. We dicided to stay at Antrim as one of my friends had stayed there. We were more than pleased after the 5 nights at Antrim. It flet like a second home with the great team looking after us when needed.
An excellent service that we didint expect: When we hired a car, the company came to Antrim and delivered the car on the spot..That has never happened to me before, so convinient..
I will be back..

Room Tip: We had the oportunity to stay at the lower part of the Guesthouse facing the pool and the little gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad we could be part of that special trip for your husband and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time staying at Antrim Villa.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Idyllic guest house with a warm spirit. An atmosphere that gives you the feeling that you are at home, nothing less than high service. Some days I even wanted to stay ”at home” by the salt water pool all day although I was in amazing Cape Town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90Alice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the kind words. Glad that we could create that homely feeling for you.
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back at Antrim Villa again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Comfortable and homely B&B with a personal touch and handy location. Secure parking for our hire car behind electric gate. Honesty box arrangement for snacks and drinks which comes in handy if you fancy sharing a bottle of wine in the evening.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvester_n_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the kinds words. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.
Glad that we could make you feel at home. Hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The One 8 Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antrim Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim Villa

Property: Antrim Villa
Address: 12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Antrim Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antrim Villa is a wonderful old house built in the late 1800s. Its charm comes from the Victorian style with high ceilings, well kept stuccos, and the original pine flooring. The Villa’s style is Afro Scandinavian accentuated with materials like sisal, bamboo and linen. Therefore the interior has a neutral organic colour palette. The serene garden with sun beds, citrus trees holds a large blue saltwater pool.The house is located in Green Point, a 5 minute walk to the beach promenade and a 15 minute walk to the new stadium. The Villa has two types of rooms; standard rooms and luxury rooms. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, safes, fans and heaters. The luxury rooms have iPod docking stations and mini-fridges as well.Among the guesthouse amenities guests will find free Internet access at a working station with a laptop and printer and a honesty bar. Wireless internet is free. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh fruit are complimentary and can be enjoyed at all times. Antrim Villa is certified with Fairtrade in Tourism South Africa and a member of Cape Town Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Antrim Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing