We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Trendy in Great Location!”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend here. We originally wanted to stay in a rooftop trailer but they were fully booked so we stayed in a superior room inside the hotel and I'm very glad we did. I think the trailers would be fun but the hotel definitely looked more comfortable and private as they had events on the roof both nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the whole hotel had a funky feel to it. The location is great especially if you don't have a car. It's right in the hub of town so you have easy access to restaurants, shops, bars & clubs. It's also very close to the tourist info centre where the hop-on hop-off sightseeing bus stops - it goes to all the main attractions, the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, etc and is definitely worth going on. It's also very easy to get a taxi in the area. The only downside is that being in the centre of town it can get noisy at night - the hotel does offer free earplugs from reception but I would advise bringing your own with. There isn't any parking at the hotel but we parked at the parkade which is only 1 block away at a charge of R30 per day and we really didn't need a car all weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capetownjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

My partner and I are both travel agents and spent two nights to get a good experience of the hotel. The staff and front desk are very professional and extremely helpful in making reservations etc. The hotel is funky and vibey and definitely more suited to a young and holiday crowd. The bar and rooftop area is very cool and prices reasonable. On the Saturday night we stayed in and wanted to have an early night after a long day of sight-seeing but the noise in the hotel was unbearable! The live music from the bar and the rowdy guests kept us up till way after 1am. Service during breakfast on our first morning was non-existent until I managed to get the attention of the manageress, on the second morning the service was excellent. The rooms are modern and spacious and all the necessary amenities such as international plugs, wi-fi, mini bar etc were present. Beds, pillows and linens are truly excellent! I found the notice about the low quality bathroom amenities to be cheap and cheeky (you will get charged if you take one of the mini bottles with you!) -surely the amenity costs get worked into the room charges?? The only other negative was that we accidentally left an envelope with over a $1000 on the bed on departure so phoned the hotel to enquire if anything had been handed in. We were promised a return call or email but sadly have still not heard from anyone. We didnt expect any miracles with regards to the money being returned but a response would have been courteous.
All in all a good hotel .. but make sure you are part of the party crowd on all the nights you stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My boyfriend and I (29 and 31 from London) stayed here for 1 night at the end of the garden route. We were originally given the trailer van called “Love of Lace”. This was the PINK trailer. My boyfriend HATED it and if I am honest it looked a little tacky. We then asked if they had any other free trailers so we checked out the DOROTHY and the PLEASENTVILLE. The latter was funky but had two single beds so instead we opted for the Dorothy. I LOVED it but my boyf was still not that impressed. It didn’t help that they were showing a film on the rooftop whilst we were trying to chill out in the trailer so that drove us slightly nuts. I would recommend as it is fun but only stay one night for the novelty value! The location is very central and Long Street is the “party” street from what I could see! The staff were really really helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A friend of mine each got an Airstream trailer on the top of the roof. The trailers are small - not the kind of place you want to stretch out in for several days. But for a night or two, it's definitely worth it, especially if you appreciate a rooftop bar steps away from your room and gorgeous locals everywhere. The hotel also has a movie theatre with plush seating right in the middle of the roof. The night we were there, they were showing Breakfast at Tiffany's, which attracted an almost indecent amount of gorgeous women. Definitely recommended for singles.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAS20016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed in the Afrofunk trailer on the roof... so much fun!! The menu was delicious, we ordered room service almost 3 times a day and when we got thirsty, we just had to step outside and visit the cosy roof top bar. Fabulous experience! Highly recommend it!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TanyaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We just returned (28 of us in our TBE group) from a nearly 3-week trip through South Africa, and our stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel in Cape Town was certainly memorable! We wanted to start the trip out with a bang - something fun and quirky. Overnighting in an American-designed and manufactured Airstream, shipped across the Atlantic ocean and parked on the rooftop of a hotel in down town Cape Town, certainly did not disappoint. What a hoot! The seven trailers, each differently themed and stylized by South African artists, were a great place for one night. But, don't try to extend your stay any longer unless you move yourself down to one of the regular hotel rooms -- the trailer bathrooms are very small (c'mon - it's a trailer) and there is really no room for luggage (but the staff was happy to store our belongings downstairs for us). The included breakfast was also delicious. Special kudos to Bryony, who in addition to being gracious and kind and funny and charming and delightfully effecient, heroically shuffled herself along with a surprize catered champagne picnic for 28 to the top of Table Mountain -- in the rain! We missed the view from atop because of the rain and cloud, but sipping champagne and nibbling on local cheeses, fruits and nuts with Bryony in the rain was a memory worth savoring.

Should you need any further clarification, please contact us at Teresa Beall Expeditions.

Room Tip: earthcoat moodtides is the largest.... john and yoko's trailer is the smallest (but it has a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaBeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

At the Grand Daddy they make you feel at home straight away. The staff is very friendly and helpful if you have any questions or desires and with Shane we met the daddy we never had!
We stayed in a nice and clean regular room but next time we would move up to a stream liner. We very much enjoyed the open air feeling at the sky bar for the night cap. And for cooler nights there is always the daddy cool bar.
The breakfast buffet is very good and so was the restaurant for dinner.
Over all the Grand Daddy experience was grate and we would always go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#52 of 110 in Cape Town Central
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 110 in Cape Town Central
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#67 of 110 in Cape Town Central
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £88 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing