We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cool hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is a great, fun hotel. You can't go wrong here if you want to hang out and party in Cape Town. The hotel is on Long Street, so the action is at your doorstep. The hotel also has a great party atmosphere, with a cool bar and a trailer park on the roof. When we stayed here, there was a band on the roof and tons of people having fun.

Room Tip: Sugar Daddy Suite. Great room and well-priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    121
    41
    18
    14
See reviews for
24
175
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in the Grand Daddy Suite (Room 205) and loved it! The hotel was beautiful--very hip vibe with local designers--in a central location.

Pros: Clean, spacious rooms, fridge in the room, a/c, lovely free breakfasts with hot options like eggs, sausage, and mushrooms, great rooftop bar, helpful friendly staff who recommended a great wine tour and made all our dinner reservations, easy to catch a cab outside, wi-fi and free access to Mac in the lobby, garage parking (crowded but free), easy access to Table Mountain, walking distance to tons of restaurants and shops...the list goes on and on. I wanted to hug the staff when we left.

I hesitate to call these cons because we loved the hotel and our room, but for some people you may want to book a different room away from Long Street: occasional noise from nearby bars, especially in our room which was on the street with balconies, but we are used to city noise and slept like babies each night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank September R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights during our visit to Cape Town. The staff were so awesome and helpful with everything. No complaints about anything whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnkadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend here. We originally wanted to stay in a rooftop trailer but they were fully booked so we stayed in a superior room inside the hotel and I'm very glad we did. I think the trailers would be fun but the hotel definitely looked more comfortable and private as they had events on the roof both nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the whole hotel had a funky feel to it. The location is great especially if you don't have a car. It's right in the hub of town so you have easy access to restaurants, shops, bars & clubs. It's also very close to the tourist info centre where the hop-on hop-off sightseeing bus stops - it goes to all the main attractions, the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, etc and is definitely worth going on. It's also very easy to get a taxi in the area. The only downside is that being in the centre of town it can get noisy at night - the hotel does offer free earplugs from reception but I would advise bringing your own with. There isn't any parking at the hotel but we parked at the parkade which is only 1 block away at a charge of R30 per day and we really didn't need a car all weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capetownjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My partner and I are both travel agents and spent two nights to get a good experience of the hotel. The staff and front desk are very professional and extremely helpful in making reservations etc. The hotel is funky and vibey and definitely more suited to a young and holiday crowd. The bar and rooftop area is very cool and prices reasonable. On the Saturday night we stayed in and wanted to have an early night after a long day of sight-seeing but the noise in the hotel was unbearable! The live music from the bar and the rowdy guests kept us up till way after 1am. Service during breakfast on our first morning was non-existent until I managed to get the attention of the manageress, on the second morning the service was excellent. The rooms are modern and spacious and all the necessary amenities such as international plugs, wi-fi, mini bar etc were present. Beds, pillows and linens are truly excellent! I found the notice about the low quality bathroom amenities to be cheap and cheeky (you will get charged if you take one of the mini bottles with you!) -surely the amenity costs get worked into the room charges?? The only other negative was that we accidentally left an envelope with over a $1000 on the bed on departure so phoned the hotel to enquire if anything had been handed in. We were promised a return call or email but sadly have still not heard from anyone. We didnt expect any miracles with regards to the money being returned but a response would have been courteous.
All in all a good hotel .. but make sure you are part of the party crowd on all the nights you stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My boyfriend and I (29 and 31 from London) stayed here for 1 night at the end of the garden route. We were originally given the trailer van called “Love of Lace”. This was the PINK trailer. My boyfriend HATED it and if I am honest it looked a little tacky. We then asked if they had any other free trailers so we checked out the DOROTHY and the PLEASENTVILLE. The latter was funky but had two single beds so instead we opted for the Dorothy. I LOVED it but my boyf was still not that impressed. It didn’t help that they were showing a film on the rooftop whilst we were trying to chill out in the trailer so that drove us slightly nuts. I would recommend as it is fun but only stay one night for the novelty value! The location is very central and Long Street is the “party” street from what I could see! The staff were really really helpful!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A friend of mine each got an Airstream trailer on the top of the roof. The trailers are small - not the kind of place you want to stretch out in for several days. But for a night or two, it's definitely worth it, especially if you appreciate a rooftop bar steps away from your room and gorgeous locals everywhere. The hotel also has a movie theatre with plush seating right in the middle of the roof. The night we were there, they were showing Breakfast at Tiffany's, which attracted an almost indecent amount of gorgeous women. Definitely recommended for singles.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAS20016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,250 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
205 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
880 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Property: Grand Daddy Hotel
Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing