We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and AWESOME!”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed a night, and wish we had stayed longer. An amazing and unique hotel experience. Highly recommended. Has the city bustle about it, you can feel the pulse of cape town running through this trendy and stylish gaunt.

Stayed in the Sugar Daddy Suity. Awesome!

Room Tip: Sugar Daddy, has doors that open over long street. Awesome views, feels like New York City!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Grand Daddy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

I simply love this spot in the Centre of town, close to all the good bars(thats if you're not having drinks on the roof already) with splendid restaurants to choose from and hospitality at its best!

Definately be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to have a drink in the bar, you wont regret it...Busy on Thursday!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseComCarver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The biggest plus of this hotel is the location. The service is poor. We complained three times about there not being an internet connection and nothing happened. Construction outside our windows. The rooms are small but comfortable. Overall, did not live up to the hype. The bar upstairs is really small - only one table. Save yourself the hassle and stay elsewhere. You can always come up to check out the bar and the trailers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbycontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I loved it. As soon as I stepped into the hotel, I felt like at home :) believe me, it doesn't happen very often. Everybody was very, super, incredibly nice and all of them were trying their very best to make you feel comfortable. My room was clean, cozy, comfortable and for me "capetowny" indeed...(not that I know much of what Cape Town feels like since I was there for only 2 nights but hey, I am a very spoiled traveler, I feel entitled to say when something is "ny" and when it's not :) .....the only sad thing about it all was the hotel kitchen. Closed on Sunday AND Monday night!!! I was so so so so so disappointed (being a gourmet, I get really upset about food) when they told me I could not have my chicken wrap cause the kitchen was closed. If you cook so good, don't ever close the kitchen, especially if people stay there for only a few nights. I had to leave the hotel and look for a place to eat (I travel alone and I am a woman so it wasn't comfortable for me to do that)....but to make me feel better, one of the nice hotel staff people went to post my letters for me and that made me smile again. The trailer park on the roof???? YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS!!! Thanks again for making me feel comfortable and at home. Take care and hopefully I can come back one day, you owe me a chicken wrap :) with a big hug to all of you
Gabriella (Switzerland)

Room Tip: If I were you, I would sleep in the trailer park...who cares about quiet or sunny :) it's once i...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabribella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Grand Daddy hotel is a very cool place with modern funky decor and friendly staff. It's location makes it ideal for soaking up the real Cape Town experience - not the waterfront tourist version. Highly recommended for couples.

Room Tip: The rooftop caravans are very funky BUT some are very small and won't even fit al your suitcases...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A fun experience and a comfortable stay! Do not hesitate to try the, on the first glance small and damp, but on a second look very high class prepared caravans on the rooftop of the Grand Daddy Hotel. You will not regret it! Top AC and with a happy design (the goldilock and the three bears caravan has xxx rated bearnography) it feels lika a hotelroom in a friendly garden!

Don't miss the weekly film screening at the rooftop with oldstyle popcorns servings!

Room Tip: Ask to see the caravans unique design before chosing, if more than one are available.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I love this hotel. The space is impeccable and the bar stocked some impressive bourbon. Our suite was amazing and the trailer on the roof was even better. Very well designed and nicely appointed. The only disappointment was the front desk staff and the hotel's tour operator (non-staff, contractor). The front desk staff could not make even basic recommendations for a gym or even a local place to grab a pizza! They botched our airport transfer on the trip home as well. The tour operator lectured us when we made an enquiry and then strung us along on a car rental. After being told that there were no cars available in town, we did a google search and did our own booking quite easily. Bottom line...incredible hotel, amazing location, very disappointing staff.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank kaulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

We sincerely regret that this was the guest’s experience at the Grand Daddy Hotel, as it is certainly not a reflection of our normal staff standard.

Our management has thoroughly investigated the incident and the necessary action has since been taken with the staff in question to ensure that this does not happen again.

Our General Manager has engaged with the guest directly to address and resolve the situation in a personal manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#41 of 111 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 111 in Cape Town Central
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 111 in Cape Town Central
234 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#57 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £78 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing