We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trailer park was fun for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #57 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trailer park was fun for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I enjoyed the different experience in the trailer park on the rooftop. It was more noisy than being in the hotel and I was grateful that the air conditioner worked during the warm day and the heater worked when it was colder at night. The shower was tricky for me to use being a 6'4" tall person but the trailer was neat and nicely decorated. I was in the "Dorothy" (Polka dot) version.

I did find 2 roaches which I duly exterminated but I didn't find any others after that. They were adult size which leads me to believe they were just the regular city variety which managed to sneak into the trailer and not that the trailer was infested or anything.

For what it's worth it's a bit expensive and I wouldn't stay there for more than 2 nights but well worth considering if you want something different. Fair warning ... do not stay there if you want peace and quiet when they have their movie or music nights.

Room Tip: After reading reviews and looking inside the trailers the Dorothy is one of the more nicely decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoineFortuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    118
    40
    18
    14
See reviews for
23
169
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed a night, and wish we had stayed longer. An amazing and unique hotel experience. Highly recommended. Has the city bustle about it, you can feel the pulse of cape town running through this trendy and stylish gaunt.

Stayed in the Sugar Daddy Suity. Awesome!

Room Tip: Sugar Daddy, has doors that open over long street. Awesome views, feels like New York City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I simply love this spot in the Centre of town, close to all the good bars(thats if you're not having drinks on the roof already) with splendid restaurants to choose from and hospitality at its best!

Definately be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to have a drink in the bar, you wont regret it...Busy on Thursday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseComCarver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The biggest plus of this hotel is the location. The service is poor. We complained three times about there not being an internet connection and nothing happened. Construction outside our windows. The rooms are small but comfortable. Overall, did not live up to the hype. The bar upstairs is really small - only one table. Save yourself the hassle and stay elsewhere. You can always come up to check out the bar and the trailers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbycontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I loved it. As soon as I stepped into the hotel, I felt like at home :) believe me, it doesn't happen very often. Everybody was very, super, incredibly nice and all of them were trying their very best to make you feel comfortable. My room was clean, cozy, comfortable and for me "capetowny" indeed...(not that I know much of what Cape Town feels like since I was there for only 2 nights but hey, I am a very spoiled traveler, I feel entitled to say when something is "ny" and when it's not :) .....the only sad thing about it all was the hotel kitchen. Closed on Sunday AND Monday night!!! I was so so so so so disappointed (being a gourmet, I get really upset about food) when they told me I could not have my chicken wrap cause the kitchen was closed. If you cook so good, don't ever close the kitchen, especially if people stay there for only a few nights. I had to leave the hotel and look for a place to eat (I travel alone and I am a woman so it wasn't comfortable for me to do that)....but to make me feel better, one of the nice hotel staff people went to post my letters for me and that made me smile again. The trailer park on the roof???? YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS!!! Thanks again for making me feel comfortable and at home. Take care and hopefully I can come back one day, you owe me a chicken wrap :) with a big hug to all of you
Gabriella (Switzerland)

Room Tip: If I were you, I would sleep in the trailer park...who cares about quiet or sunny :) it's once i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabribella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessy, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Grand Daddy hotel is a very cool place with modern funky decor and friendly staff. It's location makes it ideal for soaking up the real Cape Town experience - not the waterfront tourist version. Highly recommended for couples.

Room Tip: The rooftop caravans are very funky BUT some are very small and won't even fit al your suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

A fun experience and a comfortable stay! Do not hesitate to try the, on the first glance small and damp, but on a second look very high class prepared caravans on the rooftop of the Grand Daddy Hotel. You will not regret it! Top AC and with a happy design (the goldilock and the three bears caravan has xxx rated bearnography) it feels lika a hotelroom in a friendly garden!

Don't miss the weekly film screening at the rooftop with oldstyle popcorns servings!

Room Tip: Ask to see the caravans unique design before chosing, if more than one are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Property: Grand Daddy Hotel
Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing