We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit of old Cape Town charm”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a bit of old Cape Town charm”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed a couple of nights both in the rooms and the trailer. The rooms are comfy and with all the amenities you'd require. The hotel nicely combines a funky feel for modern Cape Town with the charm of the city centre.

If you choose the trailers stay for one or at a push two nights. It is quite cramped and not ideal for longer stays. For one night though it is a great experience.

Breakfast is great and you can watch Cape Town wake up around you while enjoying a hot brew.

The area around the hotel is unfortunately no longer as safe as it used to be, especially after hours. If not for this, I would have given the hotel a notch higher on the ratings.

Room Tip: If travelling on business, do ask for one of the rooms at the back. You won't have any view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in both our Airstream Trailers and regular rooms.
I do agree with you that 1 or 2 nights in a Trailer is perfect for the experience and then we also recommend moving to a normal room for that little extra space.

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel safe in the city center. We personally feel and have received very positive feedback from our guests that the CCID (Central City Improvement District) is doing a great job with making their presence felt in the Cape Town inner city and our immediate area and thus making it safer for locals and tourists alike.

Long Street, is a very popular street with many good restaurants, bars and pubs, so there is always life on the street, which is a vibrant part of Cape Town Urban culture. It would be a pity to miss out on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    119
    41
    18
    14
See reviews for
24
173
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

From the lobby with the classic lift to the trailers on the roof, this is one unique experience. The location is great as a walk down the street gets you to the street market with lots of restaurants and cafes. The hotel itself has a restaurant that serves hot breakfast, lunch and dinner (closed on Sunday evening) and a bar on the roof top. The roof top has trailers which you can book and stay in! The roof also has a theatre that shows movies on Monday nights...with bean bags and popcorn! It is not to say that this is a hippy joint. I used the conference room for an official event my company hosted and the setting of the room with an attached balcony was very professional and comfortable. The room was comfortable and had good internet connectivity, good shower and storage space. Recommended whether you are on holiday or on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great Hotel..I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, rooms are modern and nice, with room safes, the Flat screen Tv had lot of american shows and good british soccer live from the UK. and Top gear.
There was breakfast which is included, very nice its mixture of Cooked breakfast and contintail
breakast, tHe staf are very helful.. The hotel is Histroic hotel and has those old fashion elavators.
The room had was small to some pople for it was good. Can get noise at night if have room over the street as heart of Down town Cape town, lots shops, resturants,even Mc D and KFC if missing your usa food.
YOU MUST CHECK OUT THE ROOF TOP BAR its worth visit even if your not staying at the hotel....ITS PLASURE!, it has 2 bars in the hotel. AUSTIN POWERS WOULD LIKE IT HEAR!
THis Boutique Hotel, very trendey

Room Tip: If you dont like it to noise try inside rom away from the street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeToursFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in the Pleasentville Airstream for one night...extremely hipster. If I had an ironic T-Shirt and painted-on jeans, I would have been right at home (although we did not, and still had a great time). The rooftop trailer park was very unique. We hung out on our "patio" and had sundowners with our neighbors. The trailer itself was very thoughtfully outfitted with period decorations (the Pleasantville was a 1960 Americana theme). Linens were very clean and bathroom was smartly adapted for use as a hotel room (sink and toilet were retrofitted). The staff was very helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed a very good dinner on the ground level (great value and supprisingly good food). Breakfast was included when we stayed in the trailer; it was also very good. The hotel itself is right in the heart of downtown...excellent jumping off point.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I enjoyed the different experience in the trailer park on the rooftop. It was more noisy than being in the hotel and I was grateful that the air conditioner worked during the warm day and the heater worked when it was colder at night. The shower was tricky for me to use being a 6'4" tall person but the trailer was neat and nicely decorated. I was in the "Dorothy" (Polka dot) version.

I did find 2 roaches which I duly exterminated but I didn't find any others after that. They were adult size which leads me to believe they were just the regular city variety which managed to sneak into the trailer and not that the trailer was infested or anything.

For what it's worth it's a bit expensive and I wouldn't stay there for more than 2 nights but well worth considering if you want something different. Fair warning ... do not stay there if you want peace and quiet when they have their movie or music nights.

Room Tip: After reading reviews and looking inside the trailers the Dorothy is one of the more nicely decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoineFortuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed a night, and wish we had stayed longer. An amazing and unique hotel experience. Highly recommended. Has the city bustle about it, you can feel the pulse of cape town running through this trendy and stylish gaunt.

Stayed in the Sugar Daddy Suity. Awesome!

Room Tip: Sugar Daddy, has doors that open over long street. Awesome views, feels like New York City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I simply love this spot in the Centre of town, close to all the good bars(thats if you're not having drinks on the roof already) with splendid restaurants to choose from and hospitality at its best!

Definately be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to have a drink in the bar, you wont regret it...Busy on Thursday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseComCarver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Property: Grand Daddy Hotel
Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing