We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Daddy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$871
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$619
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
174
144
41
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
144
41
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrailer parkrooftop barlong streetgold rushair streamcool hotelsuperior roomincluded breakfaststayed here for two nightsboutique hotelstayed longerhop on hopmother citycentral locationsouth africaairstreamcaravan
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was a nice stay. Rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly. We asked them about good restaurants and they adviced us about two really good ones. It was valentine's day but despite of this they got us a booking at one of them and even called my cell phone to inform us that they did and what time the reservation was for. We had a good time here. The roof with caravans is also very cool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioDreyer, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so glad to hear that our staff went that extra mile to ensure you enjoyed your Valentine's Day. We look forward to seeing you in Cape Town again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed a couple of nights both in the rooms and the trailer. The rooms are comfy and with all the amenities you'd require. The hotel nicely combines a funky feel for modern Cape Town with the charm of the city centre.

If you choose the trailers stay for one or at a push two nights. It is quite cramped and not ideal for longer stays. For one night though it is a great experience.

Breakfast is great and you can watch Cape Town wake up around you while enjoying a hot brew.

The area around the hotel is unfortunately no longer as safe as it used to be, especially after hours. If not for this, I would have given the hotel a notch higher on the ratings.

Room Tip: If travelling on business, do ask for one of the rooms at the back. You won't have any view but you'll be totally isolated from the bustling street noise at night.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in both our Airstream Trailers and regular rooms.
I do agree with you that 1 or 2 nights in a Trailer is perfect for the experience and then we also recommend moving to a normal room for that little extra space.

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel safe in the city center. We personally feel and have received very positive feedback from our guests that the CCID (Central City Improvement District) is doing a great job with making their presence felt in the Cape Town inner city and our immediate area and thus making it safer for locals and tourists alike.

Long Street, is a very popular street with many good restaurants, bars and pubs, so there is always life on the street, which is a vibrant part of Cape Town Urban culture. It would be a pity to miss out on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

From the lobby with the classic lift to the trailers on the roof, this is one unique experience. The location is great as a walk down the street gets you to the street market with lots of restaurants and cafes. The hotel itself has a restaurant that serves hot breakfast, lunch and dinner (closed on Sunday evening) and a bar on the roof top. The roof top has trailers which you can book and stay in! The roof also has a theatre that shows movies on Monday nights...with bean bags and popcorn! It is not to say that this is a hippy joint. I used the conference room for an official event my company hosted and the setting of the room with an attached balcony was very professional and comfortable. The room was comfortable and had good internet connectivity, good shower and storage space. Recommended whether you are on holiday or on business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raven2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great Hotel..I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, rooms are modern and nice, with room safes, the Flat screen Tv had lot of american shows and good british soccer live from the UK. and Top gear.
There was breakfast which is included, very nice its mixture of Cooked breakfast and contintail
breakast, tHe staf are very helful.. The hotel is Histroic hotel and has those old fashion elavators.
The room had was small to some pople for it was good. Can get noise at night if have room over the street as heart of Down town Cape town, lots shops, resturants,even Mc D and KFC if missing your usa food.
YOU MUST CHECK OUT THE ROOF TOP BAR its worth visit even if your not staying at the hotel....ITS PLASURE!, it has 2 bars in the hotel. AUSTIN POWERS WOULD LIKE IT HEAR!
THis Boutique Hotel, very trendey

Room Tip: If you dont like it to noise try inside rom away from the street..
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeToursFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in the Pleasentville Airstream for one night...extremely hipster. If I had an ironic T-Shirt and painted-on jeans, I would have been right at home (although we did not, and still had a great time). The rooftop trailer park was very unique. We hung out on our "patio" and had sundowners with our neighbors. The trailer itself was very thoughtfully outfitted with period decorations (the Pleasantville was a 1960 Americana theme). Linens were very clean and bathroom was smartly adapted for use as a hotel room (sink and toilet were retrofitted). The staff was very helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed a very good dinner on the ground level (great value and supprisingly good food). Breakfast was included when we stayed in the trailer; it was also very good. The hotel itself is right in the heart of downtown...excellent jumping off point.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews