We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool rooftop trailers, and bar”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Really enjoyed the rooftop trailer accommodations and the rooftop bar. Super cool place! I didn't partially like the location, as it seemed a bit seedy after hours - a la Long Street in general.

Also, it seemed overpriced for what it was, by about 25-50%.

If you are looking for a cool place to stay in Cape Town, and hang out with a group of friends inside the building for great times, this is the place.

Service was very good, as well.

Room Tip: Rooftop air streams are cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CV39560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel, we really appreciate all feedback. We are delighted you found the hotel a great place to hang out; this is what we ultimately want – our guests to have a great time without having to travel anywhere to do so!!
Long Street has undergone a lot of changes over the past few years and is fantastic to see the streets get cleaner and safer every day. We have a great relationship with the CCID who patrol the area and are very visual and always available to help. There is always work to be done but for a company who is based on Long Street we are delighted with the changes and I hope you will also notice them on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed three nights in a suite with our to kids. The suite was very nice nd well decorated. The hotel is well located and the staff is always smiling. The breakfast is very good. We had a very pleasan time at the Grand Daddy hotel.
Veronique & Geoffroy
France

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Geoffroy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Veronique & Geoffroy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel. We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and hope to see you again when you next visit Cape Town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Grand Daddy is definitely unique, located in the heart of Long Street, and a great place to stay if you are looking for something different. We stayed in one of the suites which was very comfy and well furnished. The restaurant was good with excellent service and I can't say enough about the outstanding concierge service. Ask for Taleeb to take you for a tour of the Cape - we had an incredible time. If you can afford to take just your party it gives you all sorts of flexibility and is well worth it.

The hotel is an easy walk to the V&A wharf area which is an absolute must-see. It is also just around the corner from the Greenmarket and very close to all sorts of wonderful restaurants. Given the location it was no surprise that it was a bit noisy at night but it was only a real issue on Friday night when the partying didn't stop until well after 3AM.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe stay away from the front although the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriaanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel. We were delighted to read that you found the service in L’Apero and from the concierge excellent and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was a nice stay. Rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly. We asked them about good restaurants and they adviced us about two really good ones. It was valentine's day but despite of this they got us a booking at one of them and even called my cell phone to inform us that they did and what time the reservation was for. We had a good time here. The roof with caravans is also very cool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioDreyer, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so glad to hear that our staff went that extra mile to ensure you enjoyed your Valentine's Day. We look forward to seeing you in Cape Town again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed a couple of nights both in the rooms and the trailer. The rooms are comfy and with all the amenities you'd require. The hotel nicely combines a funky feel for modern Cape Town with the charm of the city centre.

If you choose the trailers stay for one or at a push two nights. It is quite cramped and not ideal for longer stays. For one night though it is a great experience.

Breakfast is great and you can watch Cape Town wake up around you while enjoying a hot brew.

The area around the hotel is unfortunately no longer as safe as it used to be, especially after hours. If not for this, I would have given the hotel a notch higher on the ratings.

Room Tip: If travelling on business, do ask for one of the rooms at the back. You won't have any view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in both our Airstream Trailers and regular rooms.
I do agree with you that 1 or 2 nights in a Trailer is perfect for the experience and then we also recommend moving to a normal room for that little extra space.

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel safe in the city center. We personally feel and have received very positive feedback from our guests that the CCID (Central City Improvement District) is doing a great job with making their presence felt in the Cape Town inner city and our immediate area and thus making it safer for locals and tourists alike.

Long Street, is a very popular street with many good restaurants, bars and pubs, so there is always life on the street, which is a vibrant part of Cape Town Urban culture. It would be a pity to miss out on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

From the lobby with the classic lift to the trailers on the roof, this is one unique experience. The location is great as a walk down the street gets you to the street market with lots of restaurants and cafes. The hotel itself has a restaurant that serves hot breakfast, lunch and dinner (closed on Sunday evening) and a bar on the roof top. The roof top has trailers which you can book and stay in! The roof also has a theatre that shows movies on Monday nights...with bean bags and popcorn! It is not to say that this is a hippy joint. I used the conference room for an official event my company hosted and the setting of the room with an attached balcony was very professional and comfortable. The room was comfortable and had good internet connectivity, good shower and storage space. Recommended whether you are on holiday or on business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raven2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great Hotel..I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, rooms are modern and nice, with room safes, the Flat screen Tv had lot of american shows and good british soccer live from the UK. and Top gear.
There was breakfast which is included, very nice its mixture of Cooked breakfast and contintail
breakast, tHe staf are very helful.. The hotel is Histroic hotel and has those old fashion elavators.
The room had was small to some pople for it was good. Can get noise at night if have room over the street as heart of Down town Cape town, lots shops, resturants,even Mc D and KFC if missing your usa food.
YOU MUST CHECK OUT THE ROOF TOP BAR its worth visit even if your not staying at the hotel....ITS PLASURE!, it has 2 bars in the hotel. AUSTIN POWERS WOULD LIKE IT HEAR!
THis Boutique Hotel, very trendey

Room Tip: If you dont like it to noise try inside rom away from the street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeToursFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,085 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#56 of 112 in Cape Town Central
715 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#52 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £113 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing