We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the middle of town”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Convenient Location .......Nice rooms, but do not expect nice view.....people are warm and helpful, which is most important thing about this hotel...Food was ok, especially when you are vegetarian ....but lots of options available close to hotel ......

Room Tip: Select road facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear AJay S

I have taken over the running of the hotel and am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to report that we have invested a refurbishment of the rooftop. The entire rooftop was closed for 3 months and we redid all the airstreams with new themes. We are even planning a refurbishment of the restaurant in the coming weeks.

I do hope you are able to come a visit us and see the changes we have done

Warm Regards
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed two nights in Dorothy, and whilst I love Airstreams and have no bother staying in a caravan, this one is in need of a bit of love.

The bath has a major crack so you can only use for showering, which isn't that easy when you are 5'9" and the shower head won't stay put. The decor is fun, but the overall feel is shabby, and in need of a lick of paint. Most of the windows are broken, and so was the bug screen. And on the final day the water ran out so we had to use the toilets for the bar.

Also the is no elevator to the top floor, so be prepared to walk a couple of flights. It was no bother for us but it wasn't mentioned and might be an issue for some.

Breakfast was good, and service was good. Room service was quite slow, but fine.

Finally if you are going on a night when the bar is open, don't expect to sleep. It will be very very loud, and we only experienced this one night for a couple of hours. Our Cape Town friend says it is quite a hot spot, so be prepared for that to be longer in the summer months.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear RachelSchnel

I have taken over the running of the hotel and am glad to report that we have invested a refurbishment of the airstreams. The entire rooftop was closed for 3 months and we redid all the airstreams with new themes. We have also placed double glazing on all the second floor rooms and the third floor rooms that look onto Long Street. We are looking at completing the remaining third floor rooms in the next few months. We are even planning a refurbishment of the restaurant in the coming weeks.

I do hope you are able to come a visit us and see the changes we have done

Warm Regards
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Really good stay at the Grand Daddy! Ended up staying in a room as well as a couple of different caravans. Really you HAVE to stay in one of the vans though......such good fun with the bar right there and events on all the time. Needless to say you don't go for a bit of peace and quiet, but something so different. Wish England had a place like this, but requires a climate like SA!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Thank madagnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
African Secrets M, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll retun to us when back in SA again!

Best Wishes
Team GD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A friend and I booked Dorothy the American caravan on the roof for one night and loved it. A pity about the weather which resulted in us not having a chance to experience the rooftop bar but who needs that when you are in a cool caravan on a roof top in Cape Town!!
The Dorothy the caravan was clean, interesting and cosy. The bathroom is tiny in the caravan- I am 5"1 and could barely move around in the bathroom but I still enjoyed the experience of being inside the super cool Dorothy. There was no full length mirror or a good mirror to do make up in which is the only problem I have with the caravan.

We enjoyed our stay so much at the Grand Daddy that we decided to book ourselves into the hotel for a 2nd night due the service,breakfast and location being so perfect (Even though I could stay with my parents who live in Cape Town).
This time we stayed in one of the rooms. The room was clean and spacious and even had its own patio!! It was a skip away from all the cool Long Street hot spots.

Parking in the parkade was safe and close- handy and only R40.

I would stay again... I cant wait to stay again.

Room Tip: For the experience stay in a caravan for a night then go over to a bedroom. I am not sure I could do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We can't wait for you to come stay again Michelle! Bring your parents along next time! :)

Warm regards
Team GD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Me and my wife stay for four nights, the first one on the 203 room - JUST PERFECT and the other 3 in the rooftop Moontides Airstream caravan it was cool but not for more than 2 nights (just for the experience). All the staff was great and was then that advice us not too stay a long period of days in the caravans.
All services works perfectly and the breakfast are just A W E S O M E.

Room Tip: The rooftop caravans are an unique experience. But the room 203 for a romantic vibe is just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfasts with us Luis! Visit again soon!

Warm Regards
Team GD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We had a good stay in Dorothy the American Caravan on roof. The bath had a crack in and some of decor a big old and dusty.

Breakfast was nice with sincere and friendly staff.

Located on Long Street close to most city attraction.

Overall a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-force-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear G-Force-G

Thank you so much for your review and hope you'll return so we can make your next stay more memorable!

Warm Wishes
Team GD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Grand daddy is an awesome place for those that want to experience something different. The Grand Daddy offers 4-star rooms, suites and luxury, roof-top caravans in Cape Town city centre. It is located on the popular Long Street, a 15-minute walk from the V&A Waterfront. Each Caravan has a theme. There is also a bar on the roof top. We stayed in teh Love caravan that was absolutely amazing :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJakes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We are so glad that you had a great time with us. See you again soon!

Warm Wishes
Team GD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
125 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#55 of 112 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
425 reviews
De Waterkant Village
#103 of 112 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £113 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing