We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place for a business stay”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #63 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Grand Daddy looks very sleek and cool, but at least the room I had was just average. Not bad (apart from the window view, which is depressing), but absolutely nothing out of the ordinary. Paired with the really quite high price and the everything but lavish breakfast where the request for Earl Grey tea was met with a "yes, that's available at an extra charge", I don't think I'd go back if there were other options available.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adfresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review you posted on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate that value for money is very important. Our rates are very much in line with what other hotels are charging in the area and we have included a lot of little extras in our rate for example complimentary unlimited wireless Internet and bottled water. Due to your feedback we also reviewed our breakfast offerings last month and have added some items onto the breakfast menu that were previously not included like a larger range of teas.
Unfortunately as we are a city centre hotel with only 3 floors we do not have much in the way of view to offer from the rooms however we have a very unique rooftop where you can go to enjoy a drink and look out over the city.
We hope you will reconsider and visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
Bryony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Grand Daddy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Decent 3 star property. We just slept here, didn't get to spend more then 5 hours. The rooms were decent, small in size though. Staff was friendly. The lift cannot carry more then 4 persons, so half our group walked through stairs. They had packed us breakfast as we were leaving early for the airport, and it was nice.

Room Tip: Get a lower floor room!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your brief time with us but next time you must be sure to spend longer than a few hours!

Kind Regards
Bryony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Fantastic place to start a trio in Cape Town, stayed in the Afro funk trailer for 3 nights, the main room and bed was very comfortable. Bathroom small and tired but the view of table mountain from the bed made up for that.
The restaurant is excellent especially the mussels in cream and garlic. The restaurant manager is great fun and does her job well with a good team.
We would go back there but would stay in a room as they looked very nice.
The only downside is the lack of pool but don't let that out you off.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bliss0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in our Airstream Trailer Park and your meal in L'Apero Restaurant! We are constantly trying to think of a way of including a pool in the limited space we have on the rooftop but in the meantime a swim in the sea at one of Cape Town stunning beaches will have to suffice!

Kind regards
Bryony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I went to Cape Town for a business trip to stay for 2 days, and Grand Daddy made my trip very pleasant! With a great location and nice ambiance, I felt very welcome to the city. And the breakfast was delicious to!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno0283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate the feedback and are delighted you were made to feel so welcome in our beautiful city!
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Bryony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I had wanted to stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel for years because judging from their website, the rooftop trailer park looked so good and I loved the idea of the different themes. My dear husband surprised me on Valentine's Day with a night at the hotel. I was so excited and surprised when we arrived, as this isn't not a cheap place to stay! Sadly our excitement quickly turned to disappointment when we reached the rooftop trailer. We were given the John and Yoko airstream trailer. Now this trailer is barely half the size of all the other trailers (we referred to it as "the capsule") and on top of that, there is no decoration inside to speak of. Just plain white walls and plain white bedding. The room basically consists of just a bed, which my husband called the "taco bed" because the mattress was so poor that we literally rolled together into the middle of it. The bathroom is outside the capsule, right next to the bar area. The drains in the bathroom were so blocked that when we showered the entire floor was flooded.
To be charged full price for this sorry excuse for a 'high end' room is absolutely appalling and i'd advise anyone to rather book a room inside the hotel if this is the only airstream available. (Which was the case when my husband booked). They do not give any indication that this trailer is of lesser standard than the others, so basically I feel they are stealing people's money.

Other than the disappointment with our room, the rest of the hotel is quite quirky and the staff seemed friendly enough. The hotel only has four parking bays (which are mainly allocated to people staying in the suites), so be prepared to park your car a few streets down at the public multi-level car park. Breakfast included in your stay is not too bad. The buffet wasn't great, but the plated meal was good and tasty.

All in all - would I stay there again? - Probably not.

Room Tip: NEVER book the John and Yoko trailer.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your stay in one of our Airstream Trailers. I am very glad we were able to communicate via email and rectify the situation to your satisfaction.
I do also want to thank you again for your positive comments about the staff and also the cooked breakfast. That feedback in light of the issues you experienced is appreciated, you could have just focussed on the negative but you still gave credit where due.
Kind regards
Bryony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at the Grand Daddy over the weekend of the 1st Feb. It was an awesome weekend spent and definitely a good spoil for my Mom, who had just celebrated her 49th Birthday. The staff was friendly and the check-in process was speedy. We enjoyed the central location, as everywhere we wanted to go was within walking distance. Rooms are comfortable and beautiful decorated. The bed! Perfect! Very pleasant experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nika_Gomez1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay and the recommendation. We are delighted you and your mom had such a great stay especially on such a special occasion!
We hope to see you both again in the near future.
Kind regards
Bryony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Grand daddy is an institution in Cape Town. The rooms are fine nad the service is good. The best kept secret of this establishment is the trailer park. This is a cool and fun place to stay in. It gives you a totally different view of the city. The hotel is right in the middle of long street making it ideal to access what the city has to offer. The lift can do with some TLC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear SwaziQueen

I have taken over the running of the hotel and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have refurbished the airstreams on the rooftop at the end of last year and even updated their themes. You will be glad to hear that we have just refurbished out lift so it is looking all new and spanky!

We look forward to welcome you back to the Grand Daddy Hotel

Warm Regards
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 111 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 111 in Cape Town Central
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 111 in Cape Town Central
234 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#57 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £77 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing