We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Daddy Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strand Tower Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Penthouse Collection(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
174
144
41
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
144
41
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrailer parkrooftop barlong streetgold rushair streamcool hotelsuperior roomincluded breakfaststayed here for two nightsboutique hotelstayed longerhop on hopmother citycentral locationsouth africaairstreamcaravan
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Brilliant location and one of the coolest hotels in Cape Town. The roof top trailer park is one of a kind and rooms are also spacious and comfortable. Professional and friendly staff, especially the general manager Sergio Dreyer. Will definitely stay there next time I'm back in town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talula33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The Grand Daddy Hotel in Cape Town certainly look impressive on its website and I am pleased to say it didn't disappoint. Firstly its a great location - Long Street in Cape Town may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I loved the bars, restaurants, boutiques and its very urbane with a a slightly edgy atmosphere - think Darlinghurst in Sydney. The Grand Daddy really does feel like the Grand Dame of the street, its small enough to be boutique and the rooms are spacious and stylish. The bathroom is very good - great lightening, nice products and I slept well on the very comfortable bed. The only thing I could fault was the WIFI connection - you had to pay which is a pain and it was very slow. Oh and I forgot to mention the upstairs bar - postcard/twitter and FB worthy - it certainly highlighted the funky approach. I will certainly be back - one cool hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My second time in just over a year at the Grand Daddy. Once again, very cool place, lovely staff and such a great central location, short drive to V&A and right on top of all the action of Long Street. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We went to Cape Town for a little weekend get-a-way so the rooftop trailers were perfect (wouldn't want to stay for more than a couple days as they are small). We knew going in that they were vintage trailers and were kitchy. So it was a fun experience. The rooftop bar was great to have a drink before going out to dinner, and they closed at 9pm so didn't keep us up. The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast and thought it was tastey. All service was great. The only bad thing was that the bathroom door was broken and wouldn't stay closed, neither of the ceiling vents/fans worked (not a big deal as there was air-con), but like any hotel you expect things to be in perfect working order.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We spent the last night of a two week trip in the Afro Funk trailer, one of a number of trailers on the top floor of the Grand Daddy hotel having read about it in a travel magazine and city guide.

The trailer we stayed in was nicely decorated and as would be expected, small. The bed, shower, bathroom, TV and fridge are all on the small side to fit in, but we knew what we were getting and really enjoyed our night being 'trailer park trash'! We managed to get all our luggage in, but of course would have had a lot more space if we just had weekend bags!

The hotel is located in Long Street in the City Bowel and has a great selection of restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel itself has a number of bars and a restaurant to chose from. We enjoyed our complimentary drink on the roof top bar which was rather surreal amongst the trailers. You can see Table Mountain from the roof too (was so nice to wake up with a bit of a view) and can look down on the action of Long Street.

Staff are friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the area. I'd recommend the trailers for a night or two as something different and fun. A great thing to tell your friends about too!

Stayed: January 2010
Thank Hannah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews