We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky decor, great food and lovely staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #57 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Quirky decor, great food and lovely staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

We nearly didn't stay here because of reading a bad review, but our travel advisor reassured us and we were all so pleased that we did. We loved the hotel and it's quirky decor. We had comfortable, quiet rooms and we enjoyed the food in the restaurant, which was reasonably priced and very good. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

We didn't find one thing to complain about. When we arrived too early to check in, from an overnight flight, the staff took our lugguge and suggested we breakfasted while they finished servicing our rooms. We had a delicious breakfast and were in our rooms by about 11.00 - not bad going, we thought.

The restaurant and bar staff were all charming and very gracious. The reception staff were extremely helpful with any queries and one night when we asked them to order a taxi for us the man standing next to us said, "Don't worry about a taxi, I'll take you," and when I look at the receptionist, she replied, "It's alright - he's the manager."

We all enjoyed our stay; found the location very convenient and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Wood_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    118
    41
    18
    14
See reviews for
24
172
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Granted we were in Cape Town during the off season, but we walked in day of and were able to get a great deal on an Airstream trailer for one night and a room for another. We spent just a little over $100 which was cheaper than our friends had to pay elsewhere and so worth the deal. They gave us drink coupons for their amazing rooftop bar and the in house restaurant was great as well. Free internet with 3 state of the art Mac computers in their lobby and all of the staff was incredibly helpful in setting up taxis, giving us direction on where to go and what to see and even inviting us back for a musical performance at the Grand Daddy while we were later staying at their sister residence the Daddy Longlegs. I would hands down recommend this place (and the Daddy Longlegs) to anyone traveling to Cape Town!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theycallmered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Trendy, cool, fun place in the heart of Capetown. We stayed in a normal room, which was comfortable, modern and clean. But there are funky trailers on the roof, each decorated differently, which surely offer a unique experience. There is a bit of space to hang out on the roof top as well. Further a nice restaurant/bar on the ground floor. The staff was friendly and the location great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I stayed at Grand Daddy hotel for 3 nights from 16 - 19 June 2010 for work - we were a group of 23 who were watching the World Cup. Rooms were beautiful, large and clean - beds were extremely comfortable. Location was EXCELLENT - yes, it was a bit noisy as we were located on Long Street due to the World Cup buzz. We provided feedback to the management next morning and they kindly brought 2 sets of earplugs to every room. Free of charge.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted at reception. A group member accidentally knocked over a vase in the lobby - and the front staff were so nice about it. They were concerned if he was hurt, then got a cleaner straightaway and sorted it out without any fuss. Very well handled.

Restaurant service was slow at times (as one kitchen provided food to 3 venues) - and we were served dinner 1.5 hours late even though we pre-ordered meals. The hotel manager handled the situation very well. He apologised profusely, waived all dinner charges and had all meals sent up to our rooms, provided a complimentary lunch before we left. Service during the other meals were perfect. I loved the hot breakfast served up every morning!

I read a few other reviews and disagree that staff expected tips and were unappreciative -we experienced the opposite of that. Staff were extremely hospitable and looked after our group very well, even though we kept them busy! The front desk staff even gave us several complimentary internet vouchers upon arrival and throughout the trip (although it was one per guest), and itemised our bills upon request. Most importantly, they communicated requests to one another (as I was picking up tabs for certain incidentals charged to various rooms throughout the trip - and they organised it very well).

They also provided me with a full room list of my group members upon request, reserved tables at the restaurant for us without asking, porters helped with luggage very willingly. They were helpful and kind.

Overall, my group had a wonderful experience. I thank Grand Daddy Hotel for making the trip a memorable one for us! Location was safe and festive. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeznem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We loved Grand Daddy Hotel! We stayed in an airstream trailer on the roof. It was so different, and so much fun! There is a bar and a movie screen up there, and there was live music that night too. The staff was very helpful, and the restaurant attached at the bottom was lovely! Plus...the hotel is right on Long Street, which is a great place to eat and enjoy the nightlife of Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I would have liked to stay here. In fact I tried to book one of the trailers for a stay in August 2010. I sent 2 emails enquiring about availability and asking about facilities. Both emails were read but I received no reply. Because I had my heart set on staying here I also sent the contents of the email in a fax. No reply. I finally called last week - I was placed on hold and after about 4-5 minutes was disconnected. Perhaps it is for the best - the reviews have not been great and if this hotel is not interested in taking my reservation and my money - they will likely be less interested in providing good customer service after I have paid. Shame - the place looks like it has potential.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Grand Daddy clearly aims to be the hippest, trendiest four-star hotel on Long Street, and while on the surface it looks slick and like it might live up to its (own) billing, they just don't have their sh** together nearly as much as they think they do... or as much as they should.

I'm a reasonable person with reasonable expectations, but at $200+ a night we were hoping for more than sporadically reliable and occasionally friendly staff, a room really close to the elevator (with its creaky, squeeky sliding door) when the hotel was clearly at less than 50% occupancy, and a somewhat cramped, but clean, room.

A few notes:

- Considering valet is a ridiculous 56 Rand per night--most four-star hotels in and around Cape Town provide free parking for guests--it'd be great if there was some kind of organized system for dropping off the car. The basement parking lot the hotel uses is often full, so you're left illegally parking in front of the hotel whilst you run in and try to grab somebody so they can drive it over to some other lot nearby.

Again, as mentioned in the previous review, the guys basically stick out their hand out and wait for their tip. I tip, always, but it's annoying when it's absolutely expected and totally unappreciated.

- Upon check-in we were given two free drink coupons, which was great. Not so great and a little unscrupulous? At the shared computer in the lobby, there's a sign encouraging guests to write "an honest review" of the hotel on TripAdvisor during their stay to get another free drink coupon. TACKY, especially for a "four-star" hotel.

Speaking of drinks, the bartenders in the Daddy Cool bar are just jerks. Simple as that, and yes, they can't *wait* to see how much you tipped them; I was tipping 10 Rand per drink, or a little more than $1US, which is the standard tip in bars across New York City. Apparently the guys at Daddy Cool deserve more than bartenders get in NYC because they didn't seem to appreciate the tips. Unprofessional.

- Trailer park on the roof is a cool idea, but I'd think twice about shelling out even more money than you will just to stay in a standard double. Not much privacy, and some of the trailers looked rather cramped.

- There aren't really anyt bars/restaurants open within a few blocks in either direction at night, and since the rest of Long Street has so much security, it felt like the sketchballs drifted down towards the hotel. Not a huge huge deal, but I was mildly accosted once and didn't always feel totally comfortable walking back all the way down Long to the hotel.

- Like free parking, most if not all four-star hotels offer free wi-fi to guests, but Grand Daddy charges. Silly.

All in all, we wouldn't stay here again, and given the number of other nicer, and cheaper, options in this category, I simply can't recommend Grand Daddy. As you'll see with the below reviews, the Grand Daddy staff loves to respond to reviews and dispute grievances, so I wouldn't be shocked if they did the same thing here. Trust me, though, you can do better in Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDaddyHotel, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
We are very sorry about the service you received. We do value and care for each and every guest and we strive to make it special however it is evident that this was not the case in this instance. We do respond to all feedback and it very seriously as a means to improve.

We do believe that responding to our guests concerns is important so we can let you know how we can work with it. We try not to ‘dispute’ grievances but rather tackle them in the best interest of our guests. We would however like to apologise if we have offended you on this matter.
RE: valet – yes this is a problem considering being an inner city hotel. We try work with it as best we and have tried eagerly to make use of the yellow section in front of the hotel but with no luck. We are looking at other parking bays closer to the hotel.
RE: Trip advisor free drink offering –We were finding a way to incentivise people to write their ‘honest’ comments. We do understand that Guest Feedback is crucial for prospective guests – Good and bad. We have removed this with immediate effect as it is not our wish to offend our guests.
RE: tipping – this is shocking and certainly not something we are proud of. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it does need to be dealt with. This goes for bar and porters and all staff. A tip is certainly NOT expected. It is a gift!
RE: staying here again. – if you do ever consider to revisit, we will do our utmost to make it special for you.

Again, I would like to take this opportunity to really apologise for a stay that was certainly below expectations.

Kind Regards
Sergio Dreyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Property: Grand Daddy Hotel
Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing