We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an OK place to eat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hildebrand - CLOSED

Hildebrand
Cuisines: Seafood, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is an OK place to eat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

It was very quiet on the night we went in, not many customers. The selection of food was OK, and we found something we liked. The service was good and the food was well presented and tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    183
    124
    74
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I went for lunch at the Hildebrand yesterday with my husband & 2 friends, and it was absolutely awful. The restaurant wasn't even half full but the service was basically non-existant. Had to ask 4 times for bread for the table, eventually asked one of the managers, who brought it out about 15 minutes later, but with no butter?! Table for 4, but no cutlery or crockery on it. The food was disgusting. I ordered the peri-peri chicken livers, and had to send them back because they were raw! When my replacement portion arrived, those were raw too, and when I complained to the manager I was told it's because of the way they are cooked in the chilli sauce....The "garlic" bread that accompanied the meals was stale. We will most certainly not be returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A group of colleagues and I tried Hildrebrand on a weeknight in July 2014. It was a little difficult to locate after the hotel shuttle dropped us off in front of the V&A Waterfront Mall. But after asking a few different people, we managed to locate the restaurant. We sat by a window, which offered nice views of the harbor. We enjoyed the three-course fixed price menu accompanied by two adult beverages each. At the end of the evening, the bill came to about US$20 each. It was a great value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Think once then run away...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Food is a celebration. Well, it should be... Except at Hildebrand Restaurant. Two many styles in one place. From an apparently Italian to an apparently sea food restaurant, only the poor quality of the food wasn't apparent. An apparently grilled fish as per the menu was a pan fried one, drowning in burnt butter. Fried calamari resembled those one can get in an airport fast food in a country with no access to the sea. Mussel shells opened the way they should, but why would the mussel inside the shell also split into two as if committing suicide by throwing itself on a samurai sword? All this followed by a "Sir, you must leave a 10% gratuity"... Do I? I always do... Usually more... Unless I am asked to do so... Well, I should be happy... I did not get food poisoned. Then again, if food is a celebration, I would rather avoid eating there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maciekwyganowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
191 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A nice and good place to eat ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The pasta is good. The caprese is fair and salad dressing was so so. Service was excellent and friendly. Although the place was nearly empty due to it being off season.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hildebrand also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing