We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The One 8 Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Antrim Villa(Green Point)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dysart Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centurion All Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Splendida(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Winchester Mansions(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
192
84
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
84
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen pointsmall hotelsecure parkinglovely little hotelwithin walking distancerooms are spacious and cleanminute walka quiet residential areafriendly hotelpool areawalk in showerhot breakfastsmall balconyrecommend this hotelsuperior roomstay there againthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great location.
Got upgraded on arrival - thanks for that!
Beautiful and cosy rooms.

Absolutely the best service I´ve ever experienced at a hotel. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff that made us feel like home.

I will definately return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papalovesraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear Papalovesraki,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we are happy to have helped in being part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the staff are fantastic, the service was exceptional. The food was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaSaundersGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Linda,

Thank you for you for your kind review, it was our pleasure taking care of you and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards from all of us at The One 8 Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I was quite disapointed in this hotel. For example it says it has a fitness centre but it only has a rowing machine, that does not qaulify as a fitness centre. it looks like luxury on the website but it has the cheapest & smallest towels I have seen. the pool was out of order the jacuzzi was closed. It advertisers satelite TV. I would hardly call 5 channels of TV satelite TV. It calls itself a boutique hotel but it obviously does not really understand the real definition of Boutique hotel. On the upsdie it was very clean. staff were fine but very new at the job. Was quite disapointed becuase the website made it look great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear Mr Krug

We are sorry to read your stay at the hotel fell short of your expectations and assure you we take your comments very seriously. We are surprised that your complaints were not brought to our attention while you were at the hotel as they would have been more easily addressed so we would like to reply to your comments about your stay with us.

The swimming pool - The hotel is in use twenty-four hours a day, 7 days a week and occasionally things inevitably go wrong and have to be repaired. The swimming pool developed a leak so we arranged for an immediate repair. When you arrived, we informed you and apologised. Our duty manager explained we were doing our very best to get it fixed as quickly as possible. At the time the weather was not good so we hoped our guests would not be inconvenienced.

Our Jacuzzi is available throughout the year. As a green company we do our best to reduce energy wastage so we cover it during poor weather to prevent dirt and leaves from getting into the filters thus reducing possible breakdowns. At check-in guests are always informed that should they wish to use the Jacuzzi they should give us notice so we can heat the water and get it ready for them. We have never had a complaint about the way we operate the Jacuzzi and in fact many guests have been pleased to be part of our energy saving policy.

Our website does not claim to have a fitness centre, it does mention a ‘small fitness room’ is opening soon, which it is. We highlight that a fully equipped Virgin Active Gym is only 5 minutes away. The website also describes the hotel as ‘modern’ not boutique and we have been officially graded in accordance with strict criteria.

Satellite TV – We provide 11 channels in total 5 of which are terrestrial. The Satellite magazine supplied by our provider does cover many more channels but this is the only magazine available to us.

Regarding the towels, all our staff has been questioned about this and our room check lists showed 4 were in your room, 2 hand and 2 bath. More towels are available on request and we apologise if this was not made clear on check-in. All towels were purchased from a recognised quality hospitality supplier in Cape Town.

Finally as a small hotel, we take pride in ensuring we do all we can to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay.

We are happy we also have been given the opportunity to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This review is a bit old since we stayed last August with 4 friends. The One 8 was a beautiful hotel with immaculately clean, spacious and modern rooms. We had three rooms, one single, one twin room for the boys and one double for the girls with a balcony. We added the single room at the last minute for a fourth friend and had one friend stay longer, they were very accomodating and made sure we had the better rooms and that we were housed next to each other. I think the boys had to move up one floor after the first night, which wasn't a problem. They were wonderful about helping us organize tours, call taxis and make dinner reservations; even making suggestions of better tour operators. We had a rental car and really appreciated the free gated parking. We loved having a balcony and could see the sea from it. It allowed us to stay in the hotel and drink the wine we'd bought as opposed to going out. And, as I recall, the breakfast was great. Made to order I believe. The location of the hotel suited our groups needs well as we drove in the day and took taxis to dinner and the bars at night.

On the downside, I do not think the location would be well suited for a single traveler or anyone with an aversion to taking cabs. Additionally, there is no elevator and we had a lot of luggage, but the staff helped us carry it upstairs. The floors are also marble, so the hallways can be pretty loud. That was probably a bigger concerns for the other guests occupying the hotel than for us. Also, as I've seen in some of the other reviews, the staff were very chatty. Personally, I like having staff that socialize with you and share information about their city, but I do recall a one in our group getting annoyed that we couldn't get straight to the business. To each their own, but if you're the type of traveler who doesn't like to socialize, something to remember.

Overall, the One 8 was a great hotel. A wonderful transition from our 6 nights on safari in Limpopo.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kballtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This might sound like some of the other reviews but as they say 'memories are better than dreams'. and we have some great ones. We have just returned from Capetown having spent 10 nights at the One 8 hotel. From the moment we met all of the staff we were addressed by our first names and felt part of the family. Like all travellers we asked the same questions about places to eat, transport, and sightseeing. Cameron, Don, Christian, Janet, Verona and Lucille were extremely helpful in listening to our requests and always greeted us with a genuine smile. The friendly 'banter' we had everday with them all made our holiday and we hope to return there soon. Moses I hope you pick this up and once again pass on all our thanks to your team.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your kind review and it certainly was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you sometime soon.

Kind regards from all of us at The One 8 Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews