We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, spotless, value for money, great location. All round perfect base.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The One 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The One 8 Hotel
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern, spotless, value for money, great location. All round perfect base.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My partner and I was extremly impressed with this little hotel. The rooms were spotless and large, the bed were very comfy meaning we didn't want to get out of bed early for breakfast, which was fine as breakfast was served till late. The staff were very helpful and it was a pleasure to stay here. The area was safe in and around the hotel which put my mind at ease straight away. We will be staying here again next time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear AJ,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we are happy to have helped in being part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    68
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
158
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

A very comfortable place to have as your base to explore Cape Town. Very helpful staff who can advise on the best way for you to enjoy your stay regardless of your needs!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Anamini,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we hope your stay with us helped smoothed your tricky experience during your visit to Cape Town.
We also hope we helped in part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One 8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We found the One 8 after fleeing a terrible, dark, noisy guest house on a sketchy street just off downtown. This place was just the relief we needed. It's an airy and modern, small boutique hotel in the cute and safe residential neighborhood of Green Point. Everything about the design, layout, and location felt very safe and soothing. It was just the hotel we needed--a pleasant place to come back to after each long, hot, exhausting and wonderful day of exploring the cape region, to have a dip in the pool and lounge around and check emails before dinner. We slept like babies (it was so quiet) and woke up happy each day.

I really think this has to be one of the best deals in Cape Town. It was only US $20 more per night than the "budget" guest house we first booked, and has modern, clean, spacious, comfortable rooms with high ceilings and modern high-end bath fixtures in the huge bathroom; and big glass sliding doors open to outside in every room and let in tons of light and sea air.

The look is tastefully modern and simple. It's not big, so it feels more like an "express" hotel than a big hub of activity, but it has more amenities and privacy than a B&B. It has secured private parking (a huge plus), a serene lobby with a bar, a decent little free breakfast, and the very peaceful, leafy pool and deck area. It was just the right vibe for us.

Green Point is a great area to stay in--on such hot days, the sea breezes really were nice compared to the city bowl. You're right off the road to the beaches and it's easy to get to the motorway to wine country, or a super-quick drive (or longer, but doable once or twice, walk) to the city center. However, it still offers some things to do on foot, and at night we felt very safe walking around the area. The hotel is 3 blocks on foot from a drugstore and 7-Eleven at the beginning of the Main Road Sea Point strip, where there are loads of places to eat or grab a coffee and plenty of people walking around after dark.

The staff were all really helpful too, and the ladies serving breakfast, Verona and Janet, really made us smile.

Maybe it's not the kind of hotel that is trying to blow your mind with its luxury and amenities, but it was a super-pleasant, relaxing neighborhood spot, and for the price it can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Anamini,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we hope your stay with us helped smoothed your tricky experience during your visit to Cape Town.
We also hope we helped in part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One 8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were quite surprised at how good this place was as it was so reasonably priced. The staff were all extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable and every day we came back to chocolates on our pillows. The location was perfect for visiting the area, mid way between the Waterfront and Camps Bay. If we come back to Cape Town, which I have no doubt we will, we will return to the One 8. Excellent.

Room Tip: We had the standard room and it was more than adequate. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fournilier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Fournilier,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we are happy to have helped in being part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One 8 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great location.
Got upgraded on arrival - thanks for that!
Beautiful and cosy rooms.

Absolutely the best service I´ve ever experienced at a hotel. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff that made us feel like home.

I will definately return!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papalovesraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Papalovesraki,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we are happy to have helped in being part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards from the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the staff are fantastic, the service was exceptional. The food was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaSaundersGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Linda,

Thank you for you for your kind review, it was our pleasure taking care of you and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards from all of us at The One 8 Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

I was quite disapointed in this hotel. For example it says it has a fitness centre but it only has a rowing machine, that does not qaulify as a fitness centre. it looks like luxury on the website but it has the cheapest & smallest towels I have seen. the pool was out of order the jacuzzi was closed. It advertisers satelite TV. I would hardly call 5 channels of TV satelite TV. It calls itself a boutique hotel but it obviously does not really understand the real definition of Boutique hotel. On the upsdie it was very clean. staff were fine but very new at the job. Was quite disapointed becuase the website made it look great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Mr Krug

We are sorry to read your stay at the hotel fell short of your expectations and assure you we take your comments very seriously. We are surprised that your complaints were not brought to our attention while you were at the hotel as they would have been more easily addressed so we would like to reply to your comments about your stay with us.

The swimming pool - The hotel is in use twenty-four hours a day, 7 days a week and occasionally things inevitably go wrong and have to be repaired. The swimming pool developed a leak so we arranged for an immediate repair. When you arrived, we informed you and apologised. Our duty manager explained we were doing our very best to get it fixed as quickly as possible. At the time the weather was not good so we hoped our guests would not be inconvenienced.

Our Jacuzzi is available throughout the year. As a green company we do our best to reduce energy wastage so we cover it during poor weather to prevent dirt and leaves from getting into the filters thus reducing possible breakdowns. At check-in guests are always informed that should they wish to use the Jacuzzi they should give us notice so we can heat the water and get it ready for them. We have never had a complaint about the way we operate the Jacuzzi and in fact many guests have been pleased to be part of our energy saving policy.

Our website does not claim to have a fitness centre, it does mention a ‘small fitness room’ is opening soon, which it is. We highlight that a fully equipped Virgin Active Gym is only 5 minutes away. The website also describes the hotel as ‘modern’ not boutique and we have been officially graded in accordance with strict criteria.

Satellite TV – We provide 11 channels in total 5 of which are terrestrial. The Satellite magazine supplied by our provider does cover many more channels but this is the only magazine available to us.

Regarding the towels, all our staff has been questioned about this and our room check lists showed 4 were in your room, 2 hand and 2 bath. More towels are available on request and we apologise if this was not made clear on check-in. All towels were purchased from a recognised quality hospitality supplier in Cape Town.

Finally as a small hotel, we take pride in ensuring we do all we can to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay.

We are happy we also have been given the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Antrim Villa
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#13 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One 8 Hotel

Property: The One 8 Hotel
Address: 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The One 8 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the hospitality and atmosphere of this quality 4 star hotel. Located centrally in Cape Town, close to everywhere you will want to be. Great beaches, the famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, De Waterkant vibrant gay village, trendy Kloof Street, fine restaurants, the financial district and the new stadium are all within walking distance or a short drive away. Facilities include a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The One 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The One 8 Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing