We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One 8 - Cape Town”
Review of The One 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The One 8 Hotel
Ranked #40 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Web page 100% correct..... excellent small hotel. A little difficult to find if driving a hire car..... note don't take a big car as the secure car park is small and houses 8 vehicles. tight turns to get into the car park..... however once your car is locked up lovely surroundings.... The moring staff are the best!!!! Especially respectful... Breakfasts freshly made. 5 min drive from V & A. 4 minute walk from Buzeby's Grill - the best steak in CT!!!!!

Room Tip: for seaviews - read the web page carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

A perfect small hotel .
The staff was very friendly and helpful.The room we stayed in was very nice with a lovely balcony looking over the city and with a small view of the sea.
We only stayed one night and it was all that we needed.Good value for money.
If you are looking for a small quiet hotel,this is the one.

Room Tip: Room number 2 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillemanEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Esme

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
The One 8 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The hotel is quite small, which makes it a quiet place in the busy city of Cape Town. The rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was very good (with a hot breakfast made especially for you), nice pool area (this is rather small, but as there are only 8 rooms, this does not bother at all!). What we especially liked was the staff: everyone was so friendly and helpful, which made our stay even more enjoyable! We would recommend this hotel to anyone! One small remark is that the Waterfront is about 25-30 minutes away by foot. But since taxis are cheap, this is not a real problem and shouldn't hold you back from staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarjoleinGent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were made to feel very welcome at this stylish and friendly hotel. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable with every required amenity. The hotel is in good location. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Cape town.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always thrilled to hear guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Kindest regards
The One 8 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was such a good find. It's really close to the Waterfront, has a lovely pool with sun loungers, huge spacious rooms and a good breakfast. Staff were incredibly helpful with everything and even sent a fax for us! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are pretty special - top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We spent four nights here on a short break to Cape Town. The hotel was very clean,good size comfortable beds and roomy shower. The outside area for breakfast was lovely and breakfast itself is freshly cooked to order. The staff are happy to serve snack food in the afternoon ,or drinks from the bar by the pool .We did not have a car but managed to walk to some nice restaurants about 10 minutes away. About a 20 minute walk to the V&A waterfront. Taxis are very reasonably priced if you dont want the walk.
The staff and service really make this hotel a little gem.

Room Tip: We booked the basic accommodation, a room at the side with no view, but it was quiet and had blackou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Great little hotel close to the waterfront (def a great base for everything in central CT). We stayed for 2 nights over the Christmas period after our wedding and received a welcome fruit basket and congrats card from all the staff (which was really nice of them). Staff were great and friendly esp Donald. The hotel has a pool area which is a little sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town (very quiet, no road noise). Wish we could have had longer here.

Room wise, we stayed in a classic double and overall happy with the décor and comfort of the room. The aircon was godsend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angieh574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.6 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Upperbloem
Upperbloem
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#1 of 1 in Green Point
501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One 8 Hotel

Address: 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £50 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The One 8 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the hospitality and atmosphere of this quality 4 star hotel. Located centrally in Cape Town, close to everywhere you will want to be. Great beaches, the famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, De Waterkant vibrant gay village, trendy Kloof Street, fine restaurants, the financial district and the new stadium are all within walking distance or a short drive away. Facilities include a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The One 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The One 8 Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing