We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel, the One8 Hotel in Cape Town”
Review of The One 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The One 8 Hotel
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Hotel is an excellent choice instead of staying at a big hotel, as it has all a large hotel has as well. We were very impressed by the rooms and the large showers. The amenities in the bath and the bedding was of very good quality. The location is good in a walking distance to the restaurants in Main Street, even to the Waterfront. Parking is for that area perfect, even on the road we felt the car was save. The only thing we didn't like and we think it should be mentioned was the coffee at breakfast. It just didn't taste good. But the service from Donald and his team was excellent. Many Thanks!

Room Tip: Top floor, sea facing!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we really do appreciate it , I will pass the comments on to our staff. Also thanks for mentioning the coffee, I will look into that immediately and change it.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards from everyone @ The One 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for The One 8 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We enjoyed a split stay of 4 nights, then 3 nights here during our 2 weeks in SA. The location, the rooms / hotel has been put together with thought and excellent attention to detail. It's funky, laid back but well organised and the breakfast is very good. Janet's poached eggs are the best we've ever had - no idea what she did, but no other hotel breakfast eggs came close!!!
All of the staff - Donald, Christian, Tendai and Janet (as well as some others who I can't remember the name off - sorry) are all well trained, efficient yet really warm personable. We'll be back when next in CT!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post this review. All the staff here try hard to make your, and every guest's, stay as nice as possible and we all really appreciate the lovely comments. We do hope to see you again.

Best regards
Everyone @ The One 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

For a small hotel it is first class.It is very modern and has a very clean, bright appearance. We did not book a room with a balcony but the one we had we could not fault. The bed was large and was so comfortable. It had the biggest shower we have ever had ! All the staff were so nice and helpful. The manager, Donald, and Tendai gave us a lot of tips and advice on restaurants, what to see etc and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were excellent and were freshly cooked for every guest. The location was ideal for my wife and I. It is in a quiet, mainly residential area a couple of streets back from the main road so you don't hear any noise in your room. It is about a 20/25 minute walk to the Victoria & Albert area on the front which we knew when we booked but we didn't mind at all because we like to walk. In the evenings we ate at restaurants Donald recommended down on the main road which were only about a 5/10 minute walk and the restaurants there are even less expensive than the V & A but still excellent quality. We walked back to the hotel each night with no problems at all. The restaurant prices everywhere we visited for food and wine are incredibly good value. They are so much cheaper than the U.K. and the quality is excellent. This was our first visit to Capetown and to South Africa and we had an absolutely wonderful holiday - an unforgettable experience ! Hopefully we will be back in Capetown sometime and if so we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CookGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Web page 100% correct..... excellent small hotel. A little difficult to find if driving a hire car..... note don't take a big car as the secure car park is small and houses 8 vehicles. tight turns to get into the car park..... however once your car is locked up lovely surroundings.... The moring staff are the best!!!! Especially respectful... Breakfasts freshly made. 5 min drive from V & A. 4 minute walk from Buzeby's Grill - the best steak in CT!!!!!

Room Tip: for seaviews - read the web page carefully
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A perfect small hotel .
The staff was very friendly and helpful.The room we stayed in was very nice with a lovely balcony looking over the city and with a small view of the sea.
We only stayed one night and it was all that we needed.Good value for money.
If you are looking for a small quiet hotel,this is the one.

Room Tip: Room number 2 has a good view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillemanEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Esme

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
The One 8 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The hotel is quite small, which makes it a quiet place in the busy city of Cape Town. The rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was very good (with a hot breakfast made especially for you), nice pool area (this is rather small, but as there are only 8 rooms, this does not bother at all!). What we especially liked was the staff: everyone was so friendly and helpful, which made our stay even more enjoyable! We would recommend this hotel to anyone! One small remark is that the Waterfront is about 25-30 minutes away by foot. But since taxis are cheap, this is not a real problem and shouldn't hold you back from staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarjoleinGent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were made to feel very welcome at this stylish and friendly hotel. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable with every required amenity. The hotel is in good location. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Cape town.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always thrilled to hear guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Kindest regards
The One 8 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.5 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#41 of 111 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#22 of 111 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#19 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#37 of 111 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Upperbloem
Upperbloem
#63 of 111 in Cape Town Central
295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One 8 Hotel

Address: 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £63 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The One 8 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the hospitality and atmosphere of this quality 4 star hotel. Located centrally in Cape Town, close to everywhere you will want to be. Great beaches, the famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, De Waterkant vibrant gay village, trendy Kloof Street, fine restaurants, the financial district and the new stadium are all within walking distance or a short drive away. Facilities include a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The One 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The One 8 Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing