We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of The One 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The One 8 Hotel
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Preston UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lovely modern and clean guest house in a residential area with secure parking. A little way out of town but not a problem as taxis are very cheap and the friendly, helpful staff are happy to book taxis for guests.

Would happily stay there again.

Only slight problem was there wasn't a plug socket near to the kettle or near to a mirror (or we least we couldn't find one). I remembered a comment on trip advisor re this so I took a small extension lead, but I should not have needed to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    70
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
164
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dickens Heath, england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

As first time visitors to Cape Town we were a little concerned about the Google Street View image of the outside of Fort Knox -ie is security really that bad? When we arrived we felt completely differently the area felt both relaxed and safe and the secure parking was a bonus. The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the V&A but there are plenty of good restaurants much closer. The rooms are clean and comfortable with good wifi and tea./ coffee making facilities. The small , deep pool was warm and a nice addition as were the complimentary towels and sun beds. Breakfast choice was superb and plentiful and all the nicer for eating outside. Staff were helpful and friendly - in short an excellent choice which I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank salcrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review. It means a lot to all of us that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully come back.

Kindest regards
The One 8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I liked the hotel very much and the room was perfect for me. However, the quality of food could be a bit better. The service was very good and although the location was a bit far from the center of town but I like the quietness of the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mahin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We really appreciate your lovely review and feedback, this is vital for us so we can continue to exceed guests expectations or improve where necessary.

Many thanks from everyone at The One 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nice small hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. One slight downside is that there is no lift and it is not quite as close to V &A Docks as I thought, but would still use it again very happily.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Excellent and friendly service. Heated pool and jacuzzi superb.Room fininshings nice with great air con. Late check-out time made arrangements easier. Walk-in shower amazing. Parking a bit tight. Mini-bar overpriced.Building noise near the hotel iritable during the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 531Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel had everything going for it---Clean, nice bed and shower, good furnishings and a wonderful staff. I won't hesitate to book this place again in the future. Special thanks to the staff who were so warm and welcoming---the hospitality is top-notch. Have a great 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I knew this would be a good place when I checked in and Donald gave me a detailed rundown of the different neighborhoods of Cape Town and when it would be a good time to visit Table Mountain (and when it would likely be too cloudy). I had a bunch of activities planned, so I didn't explore the area too extensively, but it seemed like a very nice part of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review, we really do appreciate it. Donald says it was his pleasure and we're all thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Antrim Villa
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#12 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Cascades on the Promenade
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One 8 Hotel

Property: The One 8 Hotel
Address: 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The One 8 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the hospitality and atmosphere of this quality 4 star hotel. Located centrally in Cape Town, close to everywhere you will want to be. Great beaches, the famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, De Waterkant vibrant gay village, trendy Kloof Street, fine restaurants, the financial district and the new stadium are all within walking distance or a short drive away. Facilities include a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The One 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The One 8 Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing