We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of The One 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The One 8 Hotel
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and spacious rooms, good breakfast, the staff was friendly and helpful, location in nice and quiet neighborhood, close to Green Point and V&A Waterfront. We enyoied our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was disappointed by its location, it is not within walking distance of anything. You have to drive at least 10 minutes to either the water or to the city centre. Also, the free wifi is TERRIBLE! By far the worst wifi we've had in all of our hotels in south Africa. It is incredibly slow and spotty so it's really like you don't even have it at all. Also, the front desk is not available 24 hours, as he goes to sleep in a room or something at some point. This upset us because in the middle of the night we woke up sweating because our room was so hot and the AC was only blowing HEAT!!! Finally we woke him up and he told us that to have AC he needs to switch it, we can't, and then we can only have AC, no heat. Then the next guy told us we could control them both on our own. It was weird.
Otherwise, it wasn't bad. It was safe, with a locked gate out front; the balcony was nice (although it had only a tiny little view of the water); the front desk was friendly; the breakfast was free and pretty good; the front desk was also a bar; and it was more of an apartment than a hotel, which was different and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCapeRoyale, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a your review, we always appreciate the feedback. Regarding the internet connection we can only apologise for the poor internet reception during your stay with us, this was reported to our provider numerous times and was dealt with as quickly as possible. We were informed all properties in the area were temporarily affected, very frustrating indeed. But you are correct our reception is not open 24 hours, but from 08h00 to 00h00, although staff are on site 24/7 ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Strongly recommended for anyone looking for a budget hotel that will blow your expectations. Super clean, nice, cozy, safe, and amazing staff.
The breakfast is a huge plus and really good, eggs as you want them, juice, homemade cupcakes, cheese, fruits and the legendary SA Rooibos tea.
In summary….I LOVED THIS PLACE !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Wow! what can we say but thank you so much for writing such a great review. It was our pleasure to look after you and your review means so much to all of us.
From everyone at The One 8 we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A great little hotel. Courtyard around the pool, with a lovely little lounge area and breakfast area around that. Quiet and close to the Stadium and handy to the Green Point Parkrun. Rooms are a reasonable size, great shower pressure and well appointed in a modern style. And WiFi included!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank resortphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, it means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay. If you return to Cape Town we do hope to see you again.
Warm Regards
Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A few points:
1. Don't be fooled by the name of the place, it is not a hotel but a quest house.
2. The entrance gates are tiny, if you are driving a big car...... Good luck
3. The deluxe rooms were nice and comfortable.
4. It's one block back from the main road running through Green Point. I was pleasantly surprised that it was quiet at night, even with the bathroom window open for some fresh air.
5. Reasonable breakfast included in the room rate

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed there in april for a few days on our 3rd time in Cape Town. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Our room (Deluxe with partial seaview) was large, always tidy and the bathroom was modern and well taken care of. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markus252_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The One 8 hotel is a lovely boutique hotel which gives personal service with friendly and helpful staff. The beds are huge and comfy and so are the rooms. It was truly a pleasure to stay there and will definitely do it again as I visit Cape Town often.



  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
Antrim Villa
#1 of 1 in Green Point
471 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
534 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One 8 Hotel

Address: 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £67 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The One 8 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the hospitality and atmosphere of this quality 4 star hotel. Located centrally in Cape Town, close to everywhere you will want to be. Great beaches, the famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, De Waterkant vibrant gay village, trendy Kloof Street, fine restaurants, the financial district and the new stadium are all within walking distance or a short drive away. Facilities include a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The One 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The One 8 Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing