We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local fare”
Review of Karibu

Karibu
Ranked #36 of 1,202 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: African, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a Truly South African Restaurant situated in the World Class V & A Waterfront. We serve traditional unpretentious good South African cuisine to international guests and locals alike.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I tried a sampler of "venison," which included three different South African antelope: kudu, springbok, and impala. I am not a big fan of venison back home, which is synonymous with deer meat. But these meats were exceptional and perfectly cooked. Kudu in particular is amazing, and springbok was a close second. Less impressed by impala, which hues closer to North American deer taste-wise. You cannot get this meat anywhere else really, so I highly recommend coming to Karibu, if for no other reason, for the chance to try it. Great wine list, and a helpful sommelier. Reasonable prices, particularly given the favorable exchange rate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dukelaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know you thoroughly enjoyed our Venison, we do take pride in out meat and only source the best there is to offer in South African, we hope to see you again if you ever return to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 965 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our tour guide. This restaurant advertises as South African food specialty. The menu is extensive. The food was average . I ordered ostrich filet, medium. It was over cooked . May be medium rare would be a better choice. The side of steamed vegetables was the worst I had in a any restaurant. Very dry , tasted like from a frozen package and over cooked. My daughter had a stuffed chicken breast. And it was cooked to perfection. We also had grilled calamari for an appetizer and at best it was fast food quality in US. The wine list is extensive. The views are gorgeous. Overlooking the harbor and table top mountain. And the total for 2 was $45.00. This is the reason I gave it 4 stars. There are so many other choices in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to point out to us that your Ostrich wasn't cooked to your order and the veg was also not up to scratch, I will most certainly look into this and if you ever do return to South Africa come give us another try, I guaranty it will be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Karibu means welcome in KiSwahili. The restaurant is situated on the Cape Town Waterfront and overlooks the area with Table Mountain in the distance. The menu offers African dishes and global kitchen as well. For a large restaurant in a tourist area the food was surprisingly good. The staff was very friendly and service was excellent. A restaurant I can certainly recommend and will visit again when in Cape Town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveler6419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed our good food and hospitality and thank you for re affirming what we strive to achieve on a daily basis and that is delivering 5 star service and cuisine even on our busiest nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great restaurant, fine dining at an affordable price. Excellent inside / outside location on the VA Waterfront, we chose to eat inside as it was very cold but the the ambience in the restaurant was still superb.
Excellent food, curried mussel soup and chicken salad to start, followed by a venison potjie ( a tiny witches cauldron of venison meat casserole cooked in red wine) served with herby mash. The meal was very tasty and the meat tender. My wife had a Malay lamb dish which again was excellent and great value.
The restaurant was crowded on a cold Wednesday night, which is the sign of a well run establishment.
Definately worth a visit as the choice of food was so excellent that it was difficult to choose what to eat. Will definately return when next in Cape Town.

Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate it when travelers give us such positive feed back and we really hope to see you again when you are next in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first visit to cape town and our first meal it was ok but the portions were very small and I don't eat a lot. It was ok but nothing special and the longer we stayed in Cape Town the more I realised this. But it did have a nice setting at the waterfront and the staff very very friendly, you even had rugs on the back of the chairs if you got a bit chilly but not really the African meal I was expecting

1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Manager at Karibu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are glad you enjoyed the setting and helpful and friendly staff. We are however disappointed that you did not enjoy our cuisine as we hoped you would. We try to keep our cuisine as simple and authentic South African as possible. Thank you for pointing it out to us. We appreciate every review - good or not so good..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karibu also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Karibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing